We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #1,151 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“very noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

we found the hotel very noisy and after requesting a quiet room in our booking e mail found that we had probably the noisiest room (ground floor,next to the slamming door) we immediatey changed rooms to the 3rd floor but it still very noisy as it still over looked the courtyard restaurant which stayed open till after midnight.
the rooms were very dilapidated but clean but the bed was very hard and small.
the price was 70 euros a night very cheap for paris so i suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    45
    27
    19
See reviews for
25
107
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed here before a few years ago but the rooms are a lot more basic than I remembered. Definitely not for people with luxurious tastes but if you are looking for an affordable option in a convenient location this is a good place to day. Clean and simply furnished rooms that can be noisy at night if the bar below is open late. However be prepared to be woken up early by the cleaners or late at night if people coming back late as can hear everything from the corridor. Relaxed and upcoming neighborhood 2 minutes walk to metro with good links to center. Free wifi is a good bonus as is the bistro next door. Good value but not for light or fussy sleepers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gambarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

The rooms are horrible. Nothing compared to the rooms as shown on their website. Small, unclean, dingy with small bed. Gave us a room on the ground floor where the windows opened in the pub outside where people will keep drinking and talking till late night. No privacy. We had booked for three nights but moved out after one night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karismatic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Eldorado in early June for 4 nights. I think I expected a lot from it (from the reviews) and found that it did not completely meet those expectations. I would give 3 1/2 star but that isn't an option, so 3 it is.

To start with, the location is not perfect, but is good enough. It is not in the 5th or 6th, but in the 17th. The neighbourhood is interesting, a different side of Paris. It is very close to Montmarte, we thought we had to take the metro, but ended up walking and took around 25 mins to reach Sacre Coeur. I thought Montmarte was lovely though. For most of tourist sites, you can walk from the hotel - we walked all the way to Place de la Concorde one morning and only took 40 mins or so with some wandering around Rue Royal and in the Laudree store. hotel is pretty easy to find, get off at the Place de Clincy metro stop, find rue de Clincy and a 3 min walk will take you to Rue des Dames (spelling?) take a left there, and the hotel is on your right hand side within a 2 min walk. There are restaurants around and a very good bakery just up the street as well.

Cleanliness: that's where my issue comes in. The room we stayed in (No. 24) was decent, the hotel building seems quite old so we weren't expecting brand new things. The room we had have an ensuite bathroom with a shower, but honestly I would rather have taken a room w/o one for less and use the shower down the hall. Why? The shower ceiling was quite horrifying. It was all mouldy and the top layer of paint or dry wall was starting to have a "bubbling" look. That really bothered me. Otherwise the washroom was fairly clean. After our first shower though, we realized why the ceiling was like that - the room has very poor circulation, every glass/mirror surface steamed up after a shower. We had to open the windows afterwards. The room was small by north american standards, but that's totally fine with us.

We did not eat at the restaurant, but it seemed to have a lively atmosphere. We booked for a room that faces the courtyard, upon arrival however, we realized the room was facing the street. We then went downstairs and talked to the receptionist, who mentioned that the room we reserved was under rennovation (No. 11) and No. 24 was the only other available room at 75 euros per night but they were going to charge us 70 instead b/c that was what we reserved for. So that was good.

The people at the hotel are very nice so that's definitely a plus.

We got glimpses of other rooms in the building and have decided that the only way to do is to stay in a room facing the courtyard :) as the other rooms facing the street can get noisy at night with the windows open. And windows open might be your only option in the summer b/c there is no air conditioning. We like the decorations and thought it was charming.

The services or amenities are bare minimum, no phone, tv, air conditioning or elevator. But that wasn't a problem for us. But! it has wi-fi! you just need to ask the receptionist for the password.

So in the end, I would recommend Hotel Eldorado, but try to reserve a courtyard facing room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColourOfAbsence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

Unfortunately (for travellers) the El Dorado is a victim of their own success. I have stayed a few times at El Dorado on trips to Paris, but many more times I have been turned away as it is full. Admittedly I often leave my booking to the last minute so this probably has something to do with it! I have always enjoyed my stays at El Dorado - I love the courtyard and the little bistrot. The neighbourhood isn't the best but nice enough. What I have found though is that the rooms are a bit variable. Some are really nice and quiet (facing the courtyard) and others are much worse with a lot of street noise. I guess it's luck of the draw really. I'm sure the description "shabby chic" has been used many times for El Dorado and it basically sums it up. Don't stay here if you are picky about ironed white sheets and fluffy towels. But if you like a place with some character and charm this is for you!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I stayed at Eldorado for two nights and enjoyed the value for money. My bed was comfy and the service was friendly. However my room was very noisy and smokey. It seems like people smoke all over the hotel. Next time I would definately get a courtyard facing room. Their courtyard restaurant is lovely. For breakfast I would go elsewhere. You can get better croissants and service in any bakery nearby (It took half an hour to get a coffee and a croissant in a half empty restaurant!).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

I enjoyed Hotel Eldorado, I liked its authentic nature, its earthiness. The rooms are fine, service is good, but the attraction is defintiely a feeling of the cool Paris, the off-beat Paris, perhaps even the real Paris.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdakers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel des Batignolles
Hotel des Batignolles
#737 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel du Mont Dore
Hotel du Mont Dore
#1,274 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#553 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel le Mireille
Hotel le Mireille
#461 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Montmartre
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#1,230 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,381 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 18 rue des Dames, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familial hotel with charm, located a few meters from Place de Clichy metro station and 600 meters from Moulin Rouge and Montmartre. Only 4 metro stops to go to Champs-Elysees. With a well known restaurant, the Bistrot des Dames. Includes a recently renovated garden pavilion dated 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Paris
Hotel Eldorado Paris
Eldorado Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing