We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hostel in a very reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Ranked #121 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this hostel in September 2013. The location is very good, around 5 min. to Bastille and 2 min. to Ledru Rollin metro station. 2 supermarkets, McDonald's, many shops, a few bakeries around. The staff was English-speaking and very friendly & helpful. Shared toilets and showers were very clean, as was the room. The breakfast is not a lot but coffee/tea/cocoa is free and guests are allowed to eat things bought somewhere else.

Disadvantages:
- although the booking confirmation says otherwise, we had to pay extra for the towels and bed sheets. Only a few euros, and part of it was deposit, but still, it's not fair.
- the wifi is free but works only from noon to 1AM, only in the common room on the ground floor
- the walls are very thin and people don't care about being silent at night and not using the showers after 11PM so DO bring earplugs with you
- the rule about accepting only people younger than 30 is only on paper - in fact, there were a lot of people in their 50s or 60s; I have nothing against elderly people but hey, it's a YOUTH hostel with bundle beds you have to climb on

Room Tip: Bring your own towels & earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgacecylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 529 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very basic hostel. It is clean, It is well located, near the bastille, next to the Ledru-Rollin metro station. Breakfast is OK but if you want to improve it you have a Monoprix supermarket, McDonalds, shops, everything in walking distance. We share a room with 2 more girls and it went quite well. The beds are confortable. The Canal Saint-Martin is 500 metres away, it is beautiful and in this area you have bars, restaurants and some night clubs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meefpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a strange little establishment, ill start with breakfast:
We lined up with a tray to receive a plain bread roll (no plate) and a cup, the cup got filled up at the coffee machine and then you had
To look for a seat, but that's the problem with a set time breakfast if you don't have enough space to accommodate that amount of people, so naturally I had to jam up my roll and eat it in my room as there were no seats.

The room itself was also strange, it was like mini two floor apartments, the bunk beds upstairs were awful but the bunks downstairs were Fine. I was also irritated on one occasion after leaving my stuff on and
Around my bed so no one would nick it, I came back late to find a bloke sleeping in my bed which really dampened the day, because the maids had moved all my stuff and put it away. So why the maids cleared my bed completely and not everyone else's in the room is beyond me!

There was only two plug sockets in the room, both downstairs so when sharing with 4 people who all have phones and cameras to charge it's difficult, and also I did not feel comfortable leaving my iPhone downstairs to charge with strangers who could steal it if they wanted!

Other guests are pretty loud and hang outside of the rooms. With the thin walls you can hear everything.

The en suite was so small you had to sit sideways on the toilet.

The wifi only worked in the reception area but with restricted hours, so once again there was over crowding, no where to sit etc in the same area used for breakfast.

Each room had one key so if you were the last to leave you'd hand it in, but when the first to come back in the evening it means whoever is later than you has to wake you up in order to get in, this key system just doesn't work.

Generally this hostel wasn't great but for the price and in Paris it could be much worse, the staff were friendly and did all they could to accommodate you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I have spent 4 nights in this youth hostel.

Beds (your own sleeping is for someone more comfortable), showers (bring your own throngs), and breakfast (a spermarket is not far away) are ok for the price and for a city like paris.
Metro, and lyon train station and austerlitz train station are not far away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best thing about Auberge was that it was walking distance from the metro station! and right next to it is the great hangout place of cafes in Bastille! You can also do your daily itinery planing in the small park right nxt to it. The hostel is a great place to make friends, is clean and offers free wifi as well. The only thing that I personally thing could have been better was the morning breakfast - which is too less I think. otherwise overall a very good place to stay in Paris!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicashrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms overall need some renewal, a part from that sheets and blankets are wore out, breakfast is poor (which I accept for that price), the reception is quite slow and they make you change your room during the stay, but the really annoying thing is that many rooms are not reached by the wi-fi and they stop internet at 23:30 and switch it on again after noon with the non sense reason that they "need to clean".
Would say looking for alternatives is not a bad idea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was the worst hostel I've ever stayed. Staff unfriendly and unprepared; internet available only between 12:30 and 23:30; only ONE key per room! I was sleeping and had to stand up and open the door twice because the key was inside already. One more thing: the rooms are closed between 11am and 3pm, so we can't stay in our bedroom even sleeping, we are all invited to leave. So if you want to sleep till 11:30, just forget it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaioCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#34 of 190 in Paris
239 reviews
Arty Paris
#12 of 190 in Paris
639 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Smart Place Paris
Smart Place Paris
#17 of 190 in Paris
409 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#11 of 190 in Paris
679 reviews
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#40 of 190 in Paris
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Internationale des Jeunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Internationale des Jeunes

Address: 10 rue Trousseau | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $27 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A youth hostel in the center of Paris. During your visit in Paris, you will certainly be looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay. Our hostel represents the best alternative for young travellers, as it combines an excellent location, a good quality lodging (clean, safe and nice) and the most competitive prices in the City of Lights (recommended by Lonely Planet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge Internationale des Jeunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Internationale Des Jeunes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing