We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and clean hostel in the heart of the Bastille area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Ranked #112 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Montreal
Level Contributor
331 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Affordable and clean hostel in the heart of the Bastille area”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

L'Auberge internationale des jeunes is not the best hostel in town. It's not the most fun, or a party place. But it is a good, clean (rooms are cleaned EVERY day), and very affordable hostel right in the heart of the Bastille neighborhood, with all of its cool bars, boutiques, and restaurants.

The location is great; 2 minutes away from a métro station. It's within walking distance to the Gare de Lyon, Île de la Cité, Île St-Louis, Place de la Bastille, Place des Vosges, etc. All the fun bars from around the rue Oberkampf area are only a few minutes away by subway. Every tourist attraction you want to visit is only a few minutes away via public transportation.

It's a bit difficult to meet people at this hostel, for the common room is fairly small and can only accommodate a small number of guests. Also, with the wifi only working between during the afternoon and the evening, that means that you cannot use the internet to plan your day in the morning. There is a lock-out between 11:00am and 3:00pm, which can be a drag if it's raining outside.

But overall, this hostel offers very good value. And the money you save here, you can spend elsewhere, on better things! =)

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    119
    150
    80
    119
See reviews for
19
78
119
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is one of my favourite hostels. Cheap + breakfast included (breakfast poor but still nice, baguette with jam and coffee). We stayed with friends for 3 nights and been pleased, good location (not so far from subway), beautiful view from the window. Also we had a private shower, it is rare in hostels. Staff helpful and English speaking, what is also rare. Definitely will stay there again if will visit Paris with friends. Linen is also included to the price! However, the hostel web site does not inspire confidence, I would advise to update it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBaskevits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I normally don't write reviews but thought I should because the previous reviews seem quite inaccurate. This hostel is NOT "terrible".

Yes, it is quite annoying and not the best thing ever. You aren't allowed to enter your rooms between 11-3. There is only one key per room. The communal area is just a bunch of pele quietly sitting on their laptops. Internet is only available from 12:30PM to 11:30PM. There is no elevator.. Try carrying 20kg up four flights of stairs. Only one charger per room. Some rooms had no powerpoints.That is the worst thing.

BUT, the staff are quite good. They all speak English. I arrived at 5AM in the morning and had my first night booked for that coming evening. But the man working was so lovely he sought out an empty room, gave me the key and said I could have it if I wanted to rest. He had given me a room of someone who had checked out just minutes before, and I had until 11 to rest. That was the nicest thing someone could have done for me in my tired, worn state.

The rooms are cleaned every day and the overall place is really clean. That's why you get locked out from 11-3. Anyone saying this place isn't clean is really full of crap.

The showers are incredible. Good pressure. Warm water. Easy to control temperatures. Nice benches to shove your towel and clothes so it doesn't get wet during the shower. Sturdy doors. Really, the showers were the best.

The location is pretty great. It's right next to bars, supermarkets, metro... Really, it's wonderful.

So no, while not perfect, this hostel is actually quite good for a stay of less than a week.

Room Tip: I think the rooms of just two beds have no Powerpoint. If you go in a bunk of 4+ then you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good:
-location (great bars in the area and close to the Metro + hop-on,hop-off bus stops)
-rooms are fairly clean
-price

Bad:
-common area is just people sitting silently on their lap tops
-we were 2 girls in a 4-bed room, felt awkward when we came back late at night and we had to wake the other 2 to let us in (1 room key)
-1 outlet in the room
-breakfast was stale bread and coffee

Just not a typical hostel feeling, they could do a lot more with the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Where do I start with this place.. My 3 friends and I stayed here for 3 nights.. we stayed in a 4 bed room so we had the entire room to ourselves.

Reception:
I did not find any of the staff particularly helpful. When we arrived at the hostel is took us about 30minutes at least to check in, and the lady at the desk barely spoke english so as our first impression we were very frustrated after our travels. To top it off, she did not do our receipts correctly (which you need to keep with you to get back in the hostel by the way). There is one key per room that is left at reception when the room is empty.

Rooms:
Ive stayed in much cleaner hostels. This one was very basic. I did not like that there was only one sheet on the bed that was already there when we entered.. made me feel like it was not very clean; and only one 'duvet' to cover with. Felt like i was going to get bed bugs or something.. but i didnt, so its good and the bed was comfortable enough.

Some rooms only had ONE plug.. so charging 4 phones was very trying.. and most of the plugs in the lobby were also taken up by others with the same problem. Look out for an additional plug on the light fixture. We found one there half way through our stay.

You had to exit your room during the day.. between 11-4 or something like that, which i was fine with since we were out for most of the day anyway
Towels are available for hire at 1euro each. What was very frustrating was that for the first two days we stayed there were NO towels available.. ummm??? we managed to get one towel that we had to share -_-
The ONE good thing here for me was the shower. it was actually hot and the pressure was good.

WIFI:
I got really frustrated the first two days because the wifi hours are from around 12noon-11:30pm. This was really annoying because most days i left before it started and came back after it ended. Furthermore, the wifi did not even reach my room so it was only available in the lobby.
There are two 'computers' in the lobby- do not use them. it was a wasteee of time and money When i tried to use it. the pages would not even open and when i told the man at reception he refused to give me my money back.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was a small baguette. literally. thats it. and jam and butter.. and a warm drink. It did the job but you're better off going across the street for a croissant.. what paris was made for.

Location:
The one good thing this place has going for it is its location. It was in a really nice area, we felt fairly safe coming back at night and there are lots of bars and cafes/restaurants located nearby.. pretty lively area.
2 minute walk to the metro so that is a definite plus.

My biggest problems here was the lack of wifi, one plug, and the staff was not very friendly. But not bad for the price i guess

Room Tip: bring a blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piazzola sul Brenta, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room was very small but it's ok for an hostel, all very clean and the breakfast (included) was good.
Most of the people there were erasmus students and they were very quiet. The People at the reception were very gentle, kind and helpfull and there was 1 24/24.
The only problem was that we haven't any power socket in the room to rechange the phone for example, for the rest was ok, good for the price considerating you're in paris.
only some room had bathroom inside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniAgoSpago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche du Perigord
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I found staff friendly and professional. It can get a little noisy at night, but what do you expect ? .... its a youth hostel ! If you need some privacy, take a twin room. Even if you're by yourself, its still an absolute bargain. Free wifi is available, and the secure left-luggage facility is really useful. If you want a fancy breakfast, walk 50 metres to the boulangerie just around the corner. There are some great bars and restaurants within 100 metres. What's not to like ?

Room Tip: There are no lifts. If you've got a problem with stairs, ask for a room on one of the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Bastille Hostel
Bastille Hostel
#115 of 166 in Paris
214 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#34 of 166 in Paris
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arty Paris
#7 of 166 in Paris
602 reviews
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#19 of 166 in Paris
432 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#8 of 166 in Paris
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Internationale des Jeunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Internationale des Jeunes

Property: Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Address: 10 rue Trousseau | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A youth hostel in the center of Paris. During your visit in Paris, you will certainly be looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay. Our hostel represents the best alternative for young travellers, as it combines an excellent location, a good quality lodging (clean, safe and nice) and the most competitive prices in the City of Lights (recommended by Lonely Planet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Internationale des Jeunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Internationale Des Jeunes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing