We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location 134 Rue Saint Charles, Paris- heavenly pastries!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grenier a Pain

Le Grenier a Pain
Ranked #22 of 289 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Bercy / Nation
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location 134 Rue Saint Charles, Paris- heavenly pastries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The best pastries I tried during my trip to Paris were at Le Grenier à Pain - 134, rue Saint Charles! I only found this gem during the last two days in Paris, and ate it three times during that time span! The shop is always busy, and the breads and pastries are always fresh! The croissants are light and not greasy, incredibly tasty and for 0.8 euro cents, are a real bargain! My favourite desert was the tarte au citron with a light crust and a creamy lemon filling for 3.5 euro- it was worth every delicious morsel! Another amazing desert are the pistachio pastries!
I would definitely recommend this bakery to everyone going to Paris- this is, in my opinion, the best bakery you will find in Paris! Will continue eating their delicious deserts when I return to Paris!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tneshia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    30
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Baked Goods and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This bakery was right around the corner from our hostel and we went twice. Once for lunch, I had a piece of the pizza (yum!) and my boyfriend had a sandwich. The second time was for dessert, which was fabulous. I had a hard time picking they all looked so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jam991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just realised when looking for this place on tripadvisor that this is a chain. Went to the outlet on Rue des Abesses. Was fantastic the first time. Had some really nice treats. The staff was friendly and helpful even though we were struggling to communicate.
The second time we went was not as nice though. This was in the evening and the the shelves were almost empty.
Bottom line, go early in the day and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waypoint-zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“best bakery ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I visited Montmartre and went this bakery.
It was one of the best croissant and baguette I have ever eaten..
You can smell the croissant from out side when you are walking the street...you can not resist this..
I would recommend to go visit this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DerekK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best baguette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The way we plan a day is to combine best of haunts with neighborhood walks. We combined a visit to this amazing shop with a walk through Montmartre. The baguette with Brie and roasted tomato was out of this world good. We got it to go then hung out on a nearby bench and nommed our way through the sandwich. The bread was perfect amounts crusty and soft with a wonderful flavor and it was just set off by the Brie and tomato. Unbelievably good. I will try (and fail) to recreate this one back home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grenier a Pain also viewed

 

Been to Le Grenier a Pain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing