We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
Ranked #986 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After coming from a fabulous, friendly hotel in Gent, this was a disappointment. We had a 4th floor room which had a great view of the Eiffel Tower but the decor was a bit drab. The bed was ok but the bathroom needed some work. Water sprayed everywhere from the shower head, the toilet roll was broken, the sink didn't drain properly, not really big deals but still added up to my disappointment. As is typical in Europe, the elevator was the size of a very small closet so not enough for two people and luggage. The staff were not very friendly or helpful. One night we arrived back after the door had locked (we didn't know about this and it was not obvious) about and needed to ring the doorbell. After five minutes of ringing we were concerned that we were not getting in until finally someone finally came to the door. Instead of being courteous, he was angry that we had been ringing the bell. Gee, just wanted to get into our room...Other times staff were clearly on their cell phone at the desk which just seemed rude to me. This hotel is ok but we know for sure there are others for the same cost out there with more atmosphere and friendliness. The area was ok for breakfasts, best thing to do for dinners is go to tripadvisor and find the top restaurants in the area. We scored well doing that.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to get a nice view of the city and Eiffel Tower.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studhot, Propriétaire at Hotel Regyn's Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Clients,
I thank for your review, specialy concerning the behavior of the reception team. I'll do what it must done.
Concernnig the bathroom, as I've already answered to others reviews, they will be all renovated. The work will start in November.
The rooms have been redecorated recently when we had to do all new fire security obligations in 2011-2012.
I am sorry that you do not like it. The materiel on the wall is Toile de Jouy for a part. It is indies 18th century copy. It is my choice and of course subjective.
However, I hope you've enjoyed the view over Paris from your room.
Thanks again for your review
Cheers
Michel CADIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 334 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Regyn's for 15 nights in August 2013. We stayed on the top floor and our room had the most amazing view of the Eiffel Tower. We were absolutely happy with the value for money and would recommend this hotel.

Pros:

Great location
Metro just on the door step
Cheap taxi ride from city centre if you tire of public transport (approximately 10€)
Lots of cafes and restaurants close by
Free wifi
Reasonable sized room
Clean room with fresh linen and towels each day
Friendly and helpful staff (all English speaking)

Cons:
No a/c or fans in the room
Bathrooms were a bit unclean i.e dirty shower curtain and tile grout
Street noise from the square below can be heard at night sometimes

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fifth floor so you have the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studhot, Propriétaire at Hotel Regyn's Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Client,
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on Hotel Regyn's Montmartre.
I am glad that you've stay 15 days in Paris in the hotel.
About the things to do for the hotel you've mentionned. Some of them can be done others no.
A/C : I've asked to an architecte if we could make it, but it was really technically too complicate and out of my financial possibilty. And at least, the owner of the building did not want at all to give the authorization to do it.
Bathroom : This will be done soon. Renovation will start in November 2013.
Best regards
Michel CADIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon for 4 days. We booked a room on the top floor with a spectacular view of the eiffel Tower. There's the place de abesses just outside the hotel with a small daily market and also the metro stop. Very convenient and easy to access hotel with comfy rooms and spectacular views. Good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashymano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I ended up stumbling upon this hotel as I did not like the location of the one I had booked at. The friendly and accommodating service offered by Amir at the front desk and the amazing location right in the heart of Monmartre were the first selling points, so I booked it! I was glad I did as the rooms were very quaint and clean and everything was just nice and the price is certainly good by Paris standards. Amir even threw in a complementary breakfast for us the first day! The only downside would be that there is no air conditioning or fans in the rooms so you have to open the windows, but it was a cool couple of nights so we were fine. A wonderful experience. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget looking for a hotel in a perfect location to experience paris with all its hustle and bustle and arts and culture. Thank you Hotel Regyns!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yami p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Whilst apprechiating that this is not by any means expensive by Paris standards.

A manky shower curtain is not something you should have to experience anywhere. The room was jaded but I could accept that if the shower was okay. Ended up Feeling more dirty after the shower than before. The hairdryer in the room was faulty also, not great.

Location on the square is noisy, but certainly bearable. Part of the Charm is the hustle and bustle.

So many positives

Location: perfect
Staff: friendly/helpful

If they renovated bathroom - this would be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a privilege room. decor was lovely and we had the most fantastic view of the Eiffel Tower. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was very clean and well presented. The soundproofing from the street noise is great the windows are fantastic at blocking out the noise from the busy street below. However as many other reviewers have noted, the soundproofing between rooms is really pretty bad, we had prepared for this by taking ear plugs which we were very glad of! The shower was powerful and very hot which was great, but the cubicle really does need replaced. The room is a very good size for Paris and the location is fantastic, right next to the metro so easy to go anywhere & being in the heart of Montmartre there are so many choices of bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. Oh and yes the lift is small, but my husband and I & our hand luggage bags fitted in together fine! If they could sort out the soundproofing & the shower cubicle then it would be 5 star reviews all the way!

Room Tip: Room no.44 has wonderful views of the Eiffel tower
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The advantages of this hotel: very nice location, Montmartre, place des Abbesses, 10 metres from the metro station "Abbesses", we had a room in the third floor from where we had a nice view to the church Saint-Jean de Montmartre and the top of the Eiffel Tower. Nearby are a lot of cafés and at least two very good bread shops (one of them in the Rue des Abbesses) - we bought our breakfast there and enjoyed it every morning in the Square Jehan Rictus, a small park where you can watch other tourists taking pictures in front of the Mur des je t'aimes, a wall with the written words "I love you" in over 300 languages. Nearby in the street "Rue des trois freres" you will find a lot of restaurants, our favourite: Jardin d'en Face, read the tripadvisor ratings for this restaurant!
Back to the hotel: If you have a room with the windows to the Square, the noise from the street is bearable because of the good windows. When you open them, you hear a lot of voices, including noise from the bottle bank at the Place des Abbesses - but if you are a "noise-neurotic" you definitely won't enjoy Paris :-) What is really annoying is the noise that comes from the other rooms of this hotel... You can hear your neighbors snoring, talking on the telephone, and their "sounds" from the bathroom... the bed and mattress are really good and the chamber maids come every day to make your bed and give you new towels, but altogether the room that we had looked a little bit "worn out", for example: the desk was shaky and had a lot of chips, there was bathroom mold and the shower was very small with a shower curtain that wasn't in a good state..
There is no real "lobby" in this hotel, just a small desk with the concierge sitting behind it and close by is a small room where you could have breakfast - but it doesn't look very inviting... that's why we preferred eating outside the hotel. The staff there presented themselves in different appearances: from very friendly, helpful and funny to arrogant and tight-lipped. People with claustrophobia shouldn't use the elevator, there is just enough room for one person and her/his suitcase or two people if you really like each other :-)
Good: wlan/wifi for free inside the hotel. So, to conclude: for a short stay this two-stars-hotel is okay, it costs round about 130 Euro per Night which seems to be a good price for this really nice location in Paris, and if you don't compare it to standards you might know from other regions or get in other countries for this price. For a longer stay in Paris or for a season with a lot of rainy days I would not recommend it when you want to stay there as a couple... you will soon get on your loved ones nerves in this small hotel room :-)
Travelling to and from the hotel:
A little hint on the journey from the hotel back to the airport: at the hotel, they help you to book a door-to-door shuttle service from the hotel to the airport, it costs 18-20 Euro per person and is an easy, cheap and a very fast version to catch your flight. There are at least three such shuttle service -companies and you should book it 24 hours before departure. I think it might be also possible to book it via Internet. From the airport (CDG) to the hotel we first took the Air France shuttle bus (everybody can use this shuttle service), which cost 17 Euros but took us much more time because the bus circles for half an hour inside the compound of the Airport and therefore it takes you about one hour to get to the first Stations at the City Center. From there, e.g. Metro-Station "Charles de Gaulle – Étoile" you can take the metro to hotel Regyn's (change trains at the station "Pigalle") or take a taxi from there which will cost you again round about 18 Euros.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2013_Paris_in_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#510 of 1,804 in Paris
1,050 reviews
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#863 of 1,804 in Paris
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#442 of 1,804 in Paris
526 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
#1,247 of 1,804 in Paris
258 reviews
Montmartre
Residence Hotel Villa Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regyn's Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regyn's Montmartre

Address: 18 Place des Abbesses | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#107 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regyn's Montmartre 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regyn's Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regyns Montmartre Hotel
Regyns Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing