We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for what you get!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Ranked #57 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what you get!?”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rooms and bathrooms are nice and very clean. Good, hot shower. Rooms not overly large mind you, but par for the course central Paris I guess..
Eu 51 taxi ride from CDG airport.
Staff are polite, helpful and friendly.
However, there is no bar and if you're on the 6th floor, you can only go to the 5th and then struggle up narrow and steep stairs to your room.
Breakfast simple but nice and they do make provision for "Les Angles" with scrambled egg and bacon. Coffee superb.
All in all a nice little hotel but worth Eu 175/night, don't think so!!

Room Tip: Not on 6th floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GMYM295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    267
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
196
484
67
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel D'Orsay is part of the Esprit de France group. We have stayed at other Hotels in this group which don't quite meet the mark. The rooms are large and spacious, how unusual in Paris...The breakfasts were delicious. The Staff at D'Orsay were friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble.
The Hotel is located at the rear of the Musee D'Orsay in Rue de Lille. This provides easy access to the 1st Arrondissement across the bridge to the Tuileries and Place Vendome, or the Louvre. Alternatively a short walk down to Rue Bonaparte and right to the cafes restaurants and shops of St Germain des Pres.
The metro is close and convenient. We have experimented with other Hotels, but for our next trip later this year we are back at the D'Orsay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are larger and more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbo667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is superb. Paris is a great city for walking and there's so much within walking distance of this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. Bathrooms are small but no complaints. Breakfast was really very good and service throughout was excellent. A wonderful base from which to explore a wonderful city!

Room Tip: I'd recommend getting a taxi from the airport. It is possible to go my metro but there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location a very short distance to two metro stations, walking distance of many major sights. Staff is very friendly and helpful, room (superior) was plenty spacious and excellent, breakfast spread is excellent. We were very glad we stayed here and I hope we can come back again.

Room Tip: We reserved a standard room and left open the option to upgrade to superior on arrival. When we che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfwindsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel itself is very well located, the area is safe and it's walking distance to many touristic places; in addition the staff is incredibly friendly for a city like Paris where people are usually rude, and that's a big Plus! The only thing is that I wouldn't rate that hotel as a 4*, given the tiny, veeery tiny size of the room, the rest was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluemarley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world and have extremely high expectation. This hotel is one of the only hotels I have ever stayed where I could not fault a single aspect.
The location is incredible, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was perfect and clean and the facilities were brilliant. It was a peaceful stay. I will certainly be returning to this hotel and feel very lucky to have stayed here. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 25Nick25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just one minute away from the d'orsay museum and the Seine river!
The district is not a touristic place which is good because you can find cozy places to eat around and spot some real "parisians" living in the stunning old and elegant buildings of the area.
In a few minutes walk, after having crossed one of the bridges over the river you are at tuileries gardens and in front of the Louvre museum!
The hotel is nice and cosy, not a 4 stars though! Rooms are clean and nice and you can enjoy the stay especially due to the location, for real 4 stars though be ready to spend more money!

Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleG833
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#174 of 1,801 in Paris
766 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#8 of 1,801 in Paris
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#79 of 1,801 in Paris
755 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#75 of 1,801 in Paris
691 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#52 of 1,801 in Paris
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Address: 93 rue de Lille, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#73 Family Hotel in Paris
#110 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#139 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel d'Orsay, housed in two beautiful XVIIIth century buildings, is close to the Orsay museum. A delightful patio, pleasant to the eyes, a large and smartly furnished lobby, warmly decorated rooms, classical or modern works of art provide a setting of refinement, comfort and serenity. In the heart of Paris and set in a quiet area, a stone's throw from the river Seine, the magnificent garden of the Tuileries (Louvre Garden), the Louvre Museum and Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter, the Hotel d'Orsay opens its doors to Art, gardens and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Orsay Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing