We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Ranked #337 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Crayon was great in every way. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, fun art and decor, and a comfy bed. I certainly appreciated the water and cookies in my room each day after miles of walking and a few drinks. Great location with lots close by. Would recommend to all and would certainly stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Jennyleigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 586 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here two nights in late August 2013. The location is great - very short walk to the Louvre. The staff was so welcoming, friendly and helpful in every way. The hotel itself is colorful, artsy and charming. The bathroom off the lobby is painted with chalkboard paint so you can write a message or leave a sketch. The rooms are very small - we did not plan on spending much time in the room, so it was okay, but I did get a terrible bruise on my leg by bumping into things in the tight space. The staff was wonderful, gave us help with walking directions, taxis, dinner suggestions, anything we asked. Ask for their recommendation for a patisserie close by and take your croissants and beignets and coffee over to a bench by the Louvre one morning -- doing that is one of my favorite memories of our trip!

Room Tip: The elevator is very tiny, and if you are on the top floor, you still have a flight of steps to take...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KnittyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights, and it was really comfortable and really clean. Friendly staff, arrange anything you need. The street is noisy in the early morning midweek, quiet at weekends. The rooms are bright, bathrooms and showers are great - however they are very small. The area with bars and restaurants all around is friendly and safe. Loved it !!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Petrolhead0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel Crayon - it's a great hotel for certain types of travelers. My wife and I spent 5 days in this hotel. As soon as you enter the lobby you will notice the place is rather quirky. Lots of art work all over the place. The front desk staff were super friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is 12 Euros and served in a basement eating area. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. You can easily buy breakfast or any other meal from surrounding shops and restaurants. Besides the lobby, everything in this hotel is super tiny. The elevator can only hold two people maximum and is literally a coffin. PLEASE NOTE: we stayed in room 601 on the top floor. The elevator only goes to the 5th floor, so you have to exit and take the stairs up. The staircase in this place can only be described as TREACHEROUS. Very narrow hallway with a steep incline of stairs. If you have knee problems/back problems - make sure to stay in a room below the 6th floor.
I would stay here again because the staff were friendly, the location was perfect and the price cannot be beat. However, I would only stay here if I had a room on the 5th floor or below. There is no way I would want to deal with that narrow staircase again.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the top floor (6th). You don't want to haul your luggage up their staircase. It...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked Hotel Crayon for a short vacation stay at the end of a business trip based on the reviews on TripAdvisor.
When I arrived the taxi driver commented: "I have never seen such a strange hotel"
And he was right, it is not your typical hotel!
When I got in, the staff was friendly and welcoming and got me setup with my room in no time.
The elevator is small, enough room for me and my bags, but better than the small spiral staircase!
When I got to the fifth floor, i was surprised at the tininess of the hallway. Little more than 6 doors (4 rooms, elevator, stairway) But when I get into my room, I was amazed! It was perfect. I was traveling alone, and this was the best room I could have asked for!
The room is small. Maybe 100 sq ft, but maybe a bit smaller. But it was clean, had everything I needed to unwind from a long trip.
The window looked out onto other buildings and a little alleyway, but even that view was quaint.
The bathroom was clean and had nice water pressure.
The bed was most comfortable and the air conditioning was great when coming back from long walks thru the city.
The decor was what sealed the deal for me. Artsy, odds and ends, older books, etc gave the room a warm, lived in feel.
Melodie was most helpful with eating recommendations and any other questions that I had.
The free wifi was great because it was my link back to the states.
I am already planning another trip to Paris next year and I will be staying at the Hotel Crayon again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This typically European hotel is located on a narrow side street, and is ideally located for a first-time trip to Paris. It is tiny by North American standards: the elevator barely holds one person with suitcases; there are three or so rooms per floor, on a total of five floors; the rooms are tiny, clean and well-appointed (there is free bottled water, and you will find a tiny box of 'sablés' on your pillow); the service staff is always available and friendly. It is stone's throw to Rue du Louvre, and along the latter, about four traffic lights down to Rue de Rivoli and the Seine. Cross Rue du Louvre on Coquillère Street, follow the line of restaurants for 100M or so, and and you will see a staircase-and-escalator entrance to the Forum des Halles (an underground shopping center) that itself leads to the Chatelêt/Les Halles metro station. ( Be warned: this is a *big* metro station.) I was looking for a café after I arrived at the hotel, and the staff recommended 'L'Imprimerie' located just two doors down -- a fantastic place (see my review). I found the place ideally suited, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for three nights on the beginning of our 2 week trip to Europe and we absolutely loved it here. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. Although breakfast isn't included in the room rate, there is a wonderful café right around the corner to the left that was recommended by the hotel staff. The Louvre metro station was less than a 10 minute walk away and we always felt safe walking back to the hotel late at night. There are also restaurants nearby but we were usually out sightseeing at meal times and only tried out the breakfast café.

The rooms were small but as expected when staying so close to the city center in Paris. We had room for all of our bags (and then some). The beds were really comfortable and our tiny bathroom had what it needed. Everything was clean which was very important to us. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. It was very nice to have an elevator to move around floors - not a common luxury in Europe as we found out later - and I can't give the staff a better review. They were down to earth and spoke wonderful English. I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melslo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon Rouge by Elegancia
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
#192 of 1,804 in Paris
647 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#161 of 1,804 in Paris
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#293 of 1,804 in Paris
183 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#848 of 1,804 in Paris
638 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Best Western Premier Louvre Saint Honore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Business Hotel in Paris
#335 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $155 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing