We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super staff, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Ranked #259 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super staff, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel early as we had an overnight flight. We explained this to the Crayon staff and our room was ready and waiting at our check in. All the staff we encountered we're cheerful and helpful and available 24/7. The location is a short walk from the Louvre and the Jardin de Tuilleries as well as a major Metro stop (Chatalet les Halles) which makes getting around convenient. There are also several restaurants close by, I highly recommend Num for food and cocktails (particularly the lychee mojitos), including one which is open 24/7 for the night owls (which saved us 1 night).

The hotel has a funky, unique style, an honour bar in the lobby and is immaculately maintained. The rooms, as are common in Europe, are much smaller than in the U.S. but are well appointed and the bed was very comfortable! I had trouble finding our room at first because I didn't realize that the numbers were written in glowing crayon on the carpet.

All in all a great find that we will return to if ever we are in Paris again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    177
    36
    13
    2
See reviews for
57
206
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I strongly recommend this lovely little hotel to any couples looking to explore this beautiful city.

The staff here are extremely helpful and very friendly. They speak near perfect English for those who can't speak French like me. The cleaning staff were also great, they even folded our clothes in the luggage (which I found a little sketchy at first but after I found out nothing was missing, it was a nice little touch). And - Free Wifi! It may not sound that impressive but my experience tells me that free wifi in Europe is not as common as one might think.

The location is as good as it get for the price you pay. It's 5 minutes walk from the Louvre and another 2 minutes to the river. If you like to explore by Metro, which I think is the best way to travel in Paris, the hotel is in the middle of two Metro stations, both within 5-10 minutes walk. The best part about that is they are on different lines which means it could save you from having to switch stations. There are also several great restaurants within walking distances (Ex: Chez Georges, Higuma). There is also a little supermarket also within a 5 minute walk (Franprix).

The only downfall is that everything in this hotel seems to come in size XS. From the lobby to the elevators to the rooms. My wife and I had to take two separate trips in the elevator to our room with our luggages because the elevators could not fit anymore than the two of us without our luggages. You might be thinking that we're obese but we're both average size Asians.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends travelling as couples or singles. However, if you're with kids then I'd warn against it as they are simply just too small to fit more than two to a room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihlai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your compliments! The hotel has existed since 1800, and is historically protected, that is why we weren’t able to renovate the size of the rooms and didn’t have much room to install the elevator. We strive to make up for it with our funky pepsy style, irreproachable and HUMAN service, and lots of perks such as the aromatherapy in the rooms and welcome refreshments. There is our fantastic junior suite exquise esquisse for those that love big & open spaces with a nice bubbly bath. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights with a toddler. For Paris, it's the expected small size of the room so it was a bit tight for the 3 of us, but we were out most of the time anyways. The room itself was clean and there was ample space in the bathroom. The cleaning staff did a great job everyday of maintaining the room. There is air conditioning in the room, unfortunately it was fairly cool in Paris, so we didn't end up using it. Great location as everything was in walking distance (about 5 min to metro). The staff was English speaking and available 24 hours. They were very helpful as they would draw maps and were accommodating for the toddler (when we arrived they gave her some books to look through while we were waiting for the room). I did not try the breakfast (they have two options (7 euro for light breakfast and 13 euro for the full breakfast) as there was bakery nearby which they suggested and was much cheaper. They also have a honesty bar (you are expected to pay for drinks) and free fruit on the main level. My only improvement would be that for the price you are paying, I would expect that you would at least be able to get one free drink/night (ie. coffee, although they did have bottled water in the room) and a croissant in the morning. Price wise for the quality it is good value compared to other hotels in the same location. Would definitely recommend this hotel for future travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments and suggestions! In the room there are free evian bottles, and during the summer there is fresh ice tea available for guests in the lobby. The express breakfast for 7€ includes a nespresso coffee, bread butter jam nutella etc, croissants and pastries, and an orange juice. The full all you can eat buffet for 12€ has eggs, cheese platters, cold cut assortments, yogurt assortments, cereals, fruits, fruit salad, fresh pressed juices, cakes, muffins, toasts, and more!. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My and my boyfriend spent 3 nights at hotel crayon. The lobby has a great feel and the whole hotel is very unique. The location is great, 10 minutes to a very trendy part of paris. 8 minutes away from the metro.
The elevator is very very small and can only hold one person and a suitcase, we took turns getting to our room! The rooms are all different colours and very entertaining! VERY small if you put to suitcases in them, we had to keep our room quite tidy. The walls are quite thin and you can hear everything.
Staff is helpful but DO NOT order room service. Took them 40 minutes to bring up a 19 euro salmon platter with a stale baguette.
Overall it is a nice hotel for couples!

Room Tip: Fifth floor has no lift to get to it. Get a lower level to avoid waiting for the elevator every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionCrayon, Directeur général at Hotel Crayon by Elegancia, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Ali, We apologize for the problem with the room service, we work with an external company which is why orders take at least 30-40 min. We have transferred the complaint to the company and will get back to you, as we strive for irreproachable quality in each guest service. Could you please contact us back to make up for it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family of 4 (from Georgia, USA) stayed at this hotel in July 2012. The staff was incredible, location was fantastic and rooms were very clean.My daughter arrived from Spain with an infection. The maid walked us to a doctor's office to find us aid. She took time out of her hourly paid job and immensely help us get medical aid.
The location of the hotel is very central to all the sites of Paris. Many eateries within a few blocks. The overall location was absolutely perfect. The rooms are small but that is standard for Paris.The room was very clean and comfortable.
I highly recommend this hotel. We had a fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CodingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My daughter and I spend four nights here last month after I chanced upon it on hotels.com and read the good reviews on Tripadvisor. What a fantastic find! The hotel is in a great location - a few minute's walk to the Louvre, the Pompidou Center, Les Halles, and lots of other points of interest. In fact, we only used one day of our two-day Metro card, because it was so convenient to walk everywhere. The decor is funky and fun. The wallpaper in the halls is unlike any in any hotel I've been in, as is the lobby. Our room was small, and the bed did take up most of the room, but 1) hey, you're in Paris, you shouldn't be spending that much time in your hotel room anyway, and 2) it was the most comfortable bed I've slept in in a long, long time. Seriously recommended!

The men and women who staffed the front desk were extremely helpful whenever we had a question or needed anything. They all speak fluent English, which is nice as well.

We didn't eat the 12 euro breakfast, opting instead to go to the cute little boulangerie/patisserie around the corner for delicious pain au chocolat and a cup of tea for less than half the price.

All in all, a great find. If you like boutique hotels, I would strongly recommend Hotel Crayon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephKinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We've just spent three nights at this quirky boutique hotel and absolutely loved it. From the moment we stepped through the door the stay was perfect. The hotel is In a great location close to Metro and the Louvre with plenty of good restaurants/cafes nearby.
We were made to feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There is a small lounge area adjacent to reception where you can help yourself to drinks - the bar is run on an honesty basis, which is a nice touch. You can even select your own choice of music to listen to as you relax. Free Wi-FI too! The room was not huge (which is usual for Paris unless you pay mega bucks) but very adequate. It was not cramped at all. The decor was really funky. Bathroom was cool too. Two bottles of Evian provided every day and gorgeous shampoo, conditioner etc. We had breakfast in the hotel on one morning and food served was of good quality. Recommend this to anyone visiting Paris - we will definitely use this hotel again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendytiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon Rouge by Elegancia
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
#180 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#133 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#175 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#77 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#69 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crayon by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crayon by Elegancia

Property: Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Address: 25 rue du Bouloi | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Business Hotel in Paris
#336 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crayon by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel has more of a guest-house atmosphere with its colourful pop art decor and designer style. The Crayon is a special sort of guest-house: the residence of a Parisian artist who invites you to enjoy a very colourful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Crayon by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Forum Hotel
Louvre Forum Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing