We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel for the price by Paris standards”
Review of Hotel du 7e Art

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du 7e Art
Ranked #1,316 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for the price by Paris standards”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have lived in Le Marais for 8 years and have sent many guests to various hotels in the neighborhood, but Hotel du 7e Art remains one of my favorites. First off, unless you are willing to pay over 300 euros a night, all hotel rooms are small in Paris. Always. That being said, this hotel is very reasonably priced for the location, it is clean, cute and has a great little bar downstairs filled with funky film noir memorabilia. The staff is pleasant and helpful, and the location can't be beat.

If you're looking for luxe, try Le Meurice or the Ritz. If you're looking for a nice, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel, go for the Hotel 7e Art.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank delfuegofrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
15
58
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had spent hours trawling tripadvisor and other sites for a hotel in Paris within walking distance to the sights, without bad reviews and not costing a fortune, but to no avail.
Then a friend recommended this hotel, and it was perfectl.
I will recommend it to all my friends, it is nothing amazing but who spends any time in their room in Paris!
It is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced in walking distance to all the major sights.
All one needs in Paris!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Excellent location in Paris. Rooms were average, but we didn't go to Paris to stay in the room! For the price and location, I would say it was a great pick.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezebellejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking for a clean room in a safe and convenient neighborhood to serve as our basis for a weekend of eating and shopping. This hotel did just the trick! Service was just fine, the rooms were clean enough and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small (and you have to bring your own toiletries), but the whole place is charming and you can't beat the location -- steps from the St Paul metro, and around the corner from fantastic shopping in the Marais. It's on a quiet street with a residential feel, only two blocks from the Seine (just across the way from Ile de St Louis). You won't get luxury, but you will have some extra cash to take shopping!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

So one thing for sure is that if you stay here you will definitely start to appreciate a 3+ star hotels. Very average in accomodation. The bathrooms are tiny and for some one who is tall using the wc is a real problem. I had to figure out how to squeeze myself between the door, the sink and the wc. Other than that the room doesn't really seem clean. If you are willing to just sleep on a really hard spring mattress and kinda make due with a bathroom, this place is fine.

At one point in the early morning I found someone off the road, sleeping in the hallway. He had managed to get in and needed a warm place to sleep for the night. Scary!! They do have internet at least which is a big bonus. The location is a great especially since it is right next to "Miss Mannon" boulangarie which is best one I have been to in Paris.

For maybe 20-30 euros more you can stay at a much nicer hotel, but if budget is key, this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin_Menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We didn't go to Paris to stay in our room, which I think is true of most visitors. This hotel was just fine. As others have written, it's in an excellent location, it's quirky and kind of fun and it wasn't too expensive (for Paris). It was clean enough and it was quiet. Our room was quite small, but fine for two. Same story for the bathroom--teeny tiny! but it was nice to have a private bath. The hotel in general could use some updating, but it was just fine. We didn't want to stay in a chain hotel and I think this was a fine alternative.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eastvillagegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I absolutely loved the location of this hotel and the movie theme is great, but it could use a thorough cleaning and some updating.
On the plus side, location, location, location: you're a short walk to the Seine and the islands, smack between 3 Metro stops, on a great street. There's a fantastic Italian restaurant across the street (L'Enoteca) and tons of shops, cafes and bakeries close by. We didn't get breakfast so I can't comment on that, but there are certainly a lot of other places to get food in this area. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but what we did was pleasant, and the our last night the desk clerk set up a 7:30 AM cab for us without a hitch.
On the downside, the whole place could use a good scrubbing and brightening up, and the grotty carpet and shower curtain really need to be replaced.
But then again -- it's a 100 Euro hotel in the heart of Paris, so I don't know how much room there is for complaint.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
#1,198 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#381 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#372 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#708 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,008 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du 7e Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du 7e Art

Property: Hotel du 7e Art
Address: 20 rue Saint Paul, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#89 Spa Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du 7e Art 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Du 7e Art Hotel
Du 7e Art Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing