We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esmeralda Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
$306
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$326
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$256
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,776
$1,271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$282
$242
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$285
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$565
$512
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
125
143
50
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
143
50
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of notre dameno elevatorshakespeare colatin quarterhear the bellswindow sillwinding staircaseall mod consperfect locationquirky hotelcharming roomtop floorst michelaround the cornerstay somewhere elsethe ritzparisian experience
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 350 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is nothing fancy but I would go back in a heartbeat!! The price and location are fantastic! The front desk was very helpful. It wasn't the cleanest, the carpet could definitely use some help, and the beds were a bit older than I've experienced, the stairs were difficult for my grandmother to navigate (we still laugh that she looked like she was climbing Everest when she hand over handed the rope up the steep stairs), but the location helped me fall in love with Paris. There is a beautiful park across the street, next door to Shakespeare and CO., across from Notre Dame, and right up the street from the most amazing cafe (I can't remember the name, but go through the park, turn right, and it's on the corner. Try the apricot pastry with a cafe au lait.) I would wake early, spend some time wandering the quiet avenues, including, take a leisurely breakfast at the cafe, head to Mass at Notre Dame...every morning. It was heavenly. I hope you have a fantastic trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, at least, with a view of Notre Dame. I don't know if it was noisy as I packed ear plugs! The park is right across the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife surprised me with a birthday trip to Paris in January - we stayed at the hotel Esmeralda. What a joy. The hotel is beautiful with charm just oozing out of it, the hotel is a little worn, the furniture is a bit shabby chic and the wallpaper going up the old wooden stairs is very loud, but boy is it lovely. It’s across the road from Notre Dame – what a view. The hotel doesn’t do breakfast but there are so many bars, cafes around it it’s only a few steps to get a croissant and coffee. The room we stayed in was fabulous, red velour walls and carpets with a great view, really clean and the staff were great, really helpful. All in all a great place to stay – I don’t really want to shout it from the roof tops because it’s a little gem and I don’t want to it too get spoiled but the hotel/owner/staff need to be praised for having such a great place and doing a great job and on our next trip to Paris we would definitely stay there again. One word of warning: if you don’t do quirky and are looking for a standard room in a standard hotel this is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is one of those rare gems.
It is located a few metres (or feet) from the Notre-Dame Cathedral, directly accessible from both Paris airports (RER B from Charles De Gaule, RER C for Orly), from the main train stations (Gare Du Nord via RER B) and if you are a walker, you can practically go everywhere.
We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The receptionists were very helpful, even though their English was sub-par, but that is the case with most French...
The room was certainly showing its age, with old tapestry on the walls, and a rather old carpet, but at least the bathroom was new and in a good shape, as were the sheets.
Ofcourse by far the best thing about this hotel is its value for money! For its price you sipmly can not find anything this central, and so (relatively) clean.
Absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely, considering you have read the sweedish book "Linnea i målarens trädgård" for your children before arriving. Its the story of a little girl and her neighbor traveling from Sweeden to Paris to visit Monet's garden. They live at this hotel. The book's watercolors are lovely! And so is the tapestry on hotel walls. Memorable.
The lovely lady serving hot chocolate with rolls for breakfast is priceless.
The location is perfect.
- We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toneschj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here about a dozen times over the last 15 years, we have tried 4 other hotels and they may be smarter, cleaner, trendier - definitely more expensive - but none is as completely Parisian or atmospheric and in none of them can you be awakened by the peel of bells from Notre Dame on All Saints Day or throw open the shutters and look directly onto the vagrants in the park of St Julien! Spent 10 or so years complaining why we couldn't stay somewhere else - then realised it is perfect and great value and has the most FANTASTIC STAFF - and now this place's future could be in jeopardy and I'd be COMPLETELY devastated! Shakespeare and Co and Aux Trois Mailletz in the same block and a cardio work out every time you need to climb the stairs to your room .and those cute little key rings, each individual just like every room, we have stayed in many rooms but this year twice in room 8 with the Toile de Jouy decor and the WHITE bathroom (i.e. not the brown one that freaks me out) and where else can you stash your clothes in a filing cabinet ? I'll be back here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Notre Dame
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catsdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews