We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Esmeralda
Ranked #915 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location alone made this hotel worth it. While the room was small, it made up for it in character. The room was comfortable and had a nice view of the Notre Dame. When you leave you must leave the key at reception and pick it up on return. While some people may have some concerns with this, we trusted the policy. Free wif available in the lobby. It's steps away from St. Michel-Notre Dame which is along the RER B line from the airport which makes it convenient. Also, you can catch the RER C from there to Orsay, Eiffel Tower, and Versailles making its location that much better. Situated in the Latin Quarter which is lively at any time of day. While some people might find the area too touristy, it did have a cute a lively feel which made staying in Paris excellent. There are a ton of options for food around (both cheap and expensive). Monoprix grocery store is a 5 min walk away which was convenient as well. We booked a double room for 90 euros a night which for its location is incredible. Come here with an open mind and you'll fall in love with the character of this cute hotel. I will always return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    126
    43
    17
    13
See reviews for
49
120
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Hotel Esmeralda is full of old world charm and is in the most perfect location. The myth of the Hunchback of Notre Dame comes to life from the moment you step into the foyer and see black and white photos of the young bohemian dancer, 'Esmeralda', in her element.

However, this is not a hotel for the faint-hearted - especially if you have any type of back injury and are unable to lug modern wheelie luggage cases up several flights of chiropractic nightmare steps! No wonder the French have slim legs - it's all those spiral staircases!!

It may be useful to pack a hot water bottle and thick bed-socks also, incase the heating isn't working - which it wasn't for me when Paris was experiencing it's coldest week in late April for umpteen years. And better to enjoy the vista of Notre Dame from the brisk air outside than attempt to open the window held together by cobwebs, good-will and not much else.

So if you can cope with the unexpected and seek an authentic Parisian experience, breathe deeply and head for Hotel Esmeralda and revel in its spectacular location and unusual story.

Room Tip: Personally, I'd go for lower level rooms - less stairs to negotiate (after wining and dining, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TillysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

You really musn't expect five stars from this sort of place - but the situation and the price alone make it great value. Dubious cleanliness and upkeep of the rooms - but again we weren't there for that. Nice staff, all round.

Worth the stay - for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightywaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is just perfect - overlooking the Notre Dame - so it's good to book in advance. There is no lift and the lobby area is dimly lit -watch your step. The room was small (but that's usual in Paris), with peeling wallpaper and smelly carpeting, and the bathroom door didn't close. There is no breakfast but there are plenty of places around to have a coffee and a croissant so that's not a problem. The price for such great location is really OK, just don't expect too much.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank cold_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Yes, the wallpaper was peeling in our top floor room, but it was also from the 19th century, and gilded. How often do you get to experience gilded 19th century wallpaper in a chinoiserie pattern? Hotel Esmeralda is about luxurious decadence. Like Paris, it can be a bit rough around the edges. It is not perfect, but that is what gives it it's charm. I loved the little breakfast room, almost hidden off to the side, with thick wood ceiling-beams, where they served delicious cafe au lait. The lobby, with its worn red velvet furniture and antique lamps, on which a variety of cats were languishing, was perfectly french and inspired my own decorating. The views of Notre Dame were wonderful. I would stay at Hotel Esmeralda any time I am in Paris, I loved it so much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This charming hotel is ideally located near the St Michel metro station and just across the street from Notre Dame. Loaded with charm the winding stairways, quirky wallpaper and intimate reception area are inviting and memorable. My favorite memory is waking each day to the cathedral bells. I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

When I booked the Hotel Esmeralda - and management were extremely helpful with booking changes and so forth - I had done the research and wasn't expecting a lot of the property because it is cheap, but I liked the idea of quirky and the view.

We had the quad room on the top floor - for three of us. It is a long way up and the stairs are steep - we had packed light. If you don't like steep stairs - rethink or ask for a room on a lower floor. The quad room isn't tiny nor is it spacious, and we had packed light - so there weren't too many bags everywhere - if there was, it would have been difficult. The room was, as the hotel is, old but it was clean and the beds were OK. The bathroom, which has a shower over the bath gets very wet and the towels aren't plush. Also, with three of us the hot water ran low.

The view from our hotel window of Notre Dame was beautiful, especially at night. So ask about this if you do decide Hotel Esmeralda is for you, because it would be very disappointing not to have a view.

I want to be more positive about Hotel Esmeralda and probably expected a bit more because it has been described as quirky and was a bit of a backpackers mecca but I was a little disappointed. There is not much more than the tiny reception area and the hotel rooms - that you have to climb up to. Everything is old and creaky which I usually like, but for me, it lacked something and being cheap with the view wasn't enough. So if you are contemplating the Hotel Esmeralda and can afford a little more, it may not be for you or you might prefer rooms lower down. If you want cheap then it does deliver.

Also, with the Hotel Esmeralda, you need to like being right in the tourist mecca of the Left Bank. I know it is Paris and there are tourist everywhere but again for me, I probably would have preferred to visit the location rather than be living right in it - it is a very tourist driven location. It is a funny hotel and it does make you laugh - however, I couldn't recommend to my friends (in their mid 40-50s) but I would recommend to my twenty something nephew if he could afford it, but he would probably go for cheaper student digs up the river.

In summary, The Hotel Esmeralda has helpful management, it is clean and it delivers on being a cheap hotel in a proclaimed location.

Room Tip: Check the stairs and the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAR481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#235 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#675 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Mont Blanc
Hotel du Mont Blanc
#1,261 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#562 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Les Degres de Notre Dame
#1,359 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#203 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esmeralda

Property: Hotel Esmeralda
Address: 4 rue Saint Julien le Pauvre, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #915 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Esmeralda 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most original hotels in the French capital. Opened over 100 years ago in a 17th century building, the Esmeralda Hotel bears the name of the gypsy girl that, thanks to her grace, illuminated the story by Victor Hugo. Central, well communicated, charming, quiet, comfortable ... Each room is unique and has its own personality. Artists such as Hugo Pratt, Béjart, Gainsbourg ... were regular clients at the hotel. You can also talk about Paris, art and literature as most of our receptionists are writers and poets with PhD at the Sorbonne. Please, do not miss the authentic flavor of the Latin Quarter. Be warmly welcomed at the nearest hotel to Notre Dame for the best value for money in Paris: the staff will immediately address all your queries with their proverbial kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esmeralda Paris
Esmeralda Hotel Paris
Esmeralda Paris
Hotel Esmerelda Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing