We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #304 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed here during the week that volcanic ash halted all travel and wished we'd stayed there for our first week in Paris. The loft junior suite felt more like a little apartment; the hotel was spotless and charming; and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. And the Seine was a 5 minute walk. You cannot go wrong with this hotel. One caveat: there is no air conditioning and the loft in the duplex was warm. Consider a regular room in wamer weather.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJGirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 535 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

I enjoyed my recent stay at this hotel, but the attic room with sloping ceilings made me walk hunched over all the time so that I wouldn't bean myself on one of the beams. The room was quiet though but in the summer I bet it would be hot, hot, hot. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was clean with good modern plumbing and decorations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed for one night - arriving in the early hours of the morning due to a train strike- . Night staff had waited up for us not knowing when we would arrive. The exceptional service and helpfulness continued the next day as we tried to contact our airline to sort out flights. In addition our room was lovely- over two levels and absolutely quiet. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week with my sister and her husband. Overall, it is a very nice hotel. My sister and her husband were in a charming room 7 which was very spacious with a rediculously large bathroom by Paris standards. Our room - room 1 was a Junior Suite and not at all worth the extra money. It was on two floors, so perhaps it had a total square footage larger than a chambre de charme, but both spaces separately felt cramped. The bathroom was about half the size of the one in room 7, we heard everything that was going on in the room above our heads and we paid more for the Junior Suite than for a chambre de charme. It just didn't feel right.
Another thing that one should know about if planning to stay in this hotel is that it is in the gayest part of the Marais. I don't have a problem with that per say, but some of the shops that you are obliged to walk by are just distasteful (whether you are straight or gay). I would certainly not want to walk by them if I had my children with me, for example.
I love the Marais and the hotel was lovely, but these concerns would make me hesitate staying there again. i have stayed in better hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneworld19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

With such a large number of options and so many parts of the city to consider, this hotel ticked most of the boxes. My wife and I were traveling with our 14 and 10 year olds and we still prefer to keep them close by, so look for family of adjoining rooms where possible. The de la Bretonnerie has several family rooms and ours, for three nights, was ample in size, which is not a given in Paris.

We had a minibar fridge, which can be useful for storing pastries! There is also an in room safe. The TV only had five channels, and only one was in English, but this was not an issue for us.

The most serious drawback was that the toilet, which seemed clean, did rather smell. Also, the large bath had a shower attachment, but it was not wall mounted and there was no curtain, so you couldn't really have a stand up shower. Otherwise it seemed clean and well kept.

There is free use of a computer in the reception area (with a printer).

Best of all was the location in the Marais, near the kosher restaurants, and extremely close to Notre Dame and 10 minutes walk to the main RER and Metro stops. It's a lively gay area, which may be a matter of interest or indifference to some travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed here for three nights after a disastrous experience with a Paris Stay apartment.
A well run hotel with lovely staff in the best part of Paris. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We have a lovely 4 day stay at this hotel while visiting friends in Rue Des Archives. We didn't take the breakfast option, there are two wonderful bakeries within 100m. Our room was on the third floor (there's a lift) and faced into the small courtyard on the right of the entrance door. The room was quiet - even though we had the french door open a little - the room was very warm, although i'm not complaining about the warm room, it was very much appreciated in February! We just wanted a little fresh air. The room was small, but had everything you needed for a short stay. There was a four-poster bed which dominated the room, but was very very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. Staff friendly and very helpful. Recommend Cafe Journaux on Rue Des Archives.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SatineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#706 of 1,809 in Paris
313 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#80 of 1,809 in Paris
272 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,374 of 1,809 in Paris
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#338 of 1,809 in Paris
667 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#24 of 1,809 in Paris
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
#478 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#480 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $161 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing