We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WOW am staying here now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #312 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“WOW am staying here now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Excellent location have taken but one cab many ,etros but ,ostly walked

Fro, what I read on this site; rooms are large____let's share specifics as I'd like to learn of more rooms to use: We stayed in 1 and ,oved to 35 both 220 euros a night:

for room & and for the base,ent brekfast; you cannot be over - feet tall:

Warning no air conditioning which you need in summer

Karen and Olga at front desk are great and reply to emails promptly

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    200
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
74
192
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

A very charming hotel, located in a fantastic neighborhood, surrounded by bistros, cafes, and sweet shops. The "classic" room was small, but the bathroom was sizeable. The room and the hotel are charmingly decorated. The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was quiet and wireless was free in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bathtubsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

Been staying here for 29 years and each stay is a wonderful experience!!! Only down side is ithat too many people now stay there and I must book months ahead of time. The staff is eh best I've ever seen and the romms are spectacular. Bravo La Bretonnerie!!

  • Liked — Welcoming, friendly and caring atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicurienCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Been there for 3 days with my husband. The location is in the center of marais close to everithing and in my opinion the best place to stay in paris. The room was lovely (and was the basic one!) with a touch of france atmosphere, loved the breakfast, and exellent price quality balance overall.

  • Liked — location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lallalalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel de la Bretonnerie. We had a junior suite as we were two adults and our son. The room was absolutely quiet at night, though we were in the heart of the very lively Marais. The hotel is charming and extremely well kept. The staff is unobtrusive yet extremely helpful when needed. Breakfast in the medieval looking 'cellar' was simple yet sufficient for our needs, with nice touches such as fresh orange juice and a small buffet. The hotel is in a great neighborhood and centrally located in the heart of Paris. If you are looking foe a clean well run small hotel at a good value, you will enjoy this hotel. If you are looking for concierge service and many extra amenities, this is probably not the hotel for you.

  • Liked — location in the city, and spaciousness of the room
  • Disliked — heating was uneven in the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NYC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

This was an excellent hotel. It is a great location in the Marais, and close to metro, cultural sites, great bars and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. We had some construction noise outside of our room which was unfortunate, but it was not the fault of the hotel's. The room was small, but for the price - could not have been beat. I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — street noise at night. room fan wasn't the best.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boaviagemnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcvagabond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I'd like to start by writing how pleasant and accommodating the hotel Staff was. We arrived late to find our "charming" room (# 10) substandard and also had a very odd smell. We expressed our dissatisfaction and were immediately upgraded to a junior suite for the night at no extra charge (this was all they had available) The next morning without having to explain our situation to the day staff, we were given a choice of two other "charming" rooms. We chose #34 which was much nicer, a little bigger and all around more "charming"
I think it's important with these reviews that a room number is mentioned as many hotels (especially in Europe) are not uniform and two rooms at the same rate are not always the same quality. We also had some friends visit us in Paris and they stayed in a "classic" room (#29) which was far nicer than our original room only a bit smaller.
On a side note we stayed at the Bretonnerie in mid October 2008 and they were currently building a structure right next door. You may want to ask the hotel the status of the current construction before you make reservations.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amcvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#273 of 1,810 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#344 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#528 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#769 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Beaubourg
Hotel Beaubourg
#425 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#376 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Property: Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#480 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#480 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing