We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #354 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My partner and I first came across this hotel in 2002 whilst wondering around the streets of Le Marais. At that time we were staying in another hotel, which I could only describe as an expensive small hovel.

In contrast Hotel de la Bretonnierie seemed like a breath of fresh air, the place we should have been staying. We resolved to stay at the hotel when we returned to Paris, which was in December 2013.

We booked directly with the hotel and there were no problems with this. The hotel is located in the heart of Le Marais and getting to other sights in Paris is relatively easy.

We booked the Classic room, which in my opinion was a tad on the small side but this seems to be the standard in many Parisian hotels. We paid Euros 140 per night not including breakfast.

The room was clean and even though it was a street facing room we were not disturbed by noise. There was a small TV, minibar but no tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean as well.

We didn’t spend much time in the room but this was mainly due to the fact that we had a timetable packed to the hilt with sightseeing. Also as the room is not large, it was not conducive to that type of relaxing!

Overall, a good hotel if you want to be in the centre of Le Marais. There are signs of wear and tear but some may view it as Parisian shabby chicness?!The staff are not overbearing and the reception is manned 24/7. Bit on the pricy side but I guess I am comparing its price to what you would get in India etc, which is not right!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    219
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
94
210
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Classic Paris hotel. Small, cozy, clean and well located. Rooms are sound proof, with free wifi and all basic amenities. If you are looking to be in the Marais area, don't look elsewhere. Great value for money. Friendly front desk stuff, speaking great English. I will defiantly be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Erannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for a week in the spring. Got a nice suit with view of the street and a sitting room towards the back. I had minimal interaction with the staff as I know the city well. Metro 5 min Notre Dame 10 min away. It was a cozy place, we loved it. We have been in Paris many times and we rarely stay in the same place twice, like to explore. This little hotel was such a good find that we will be back in next spring.
Lots of funky bars and restaurants around.

Room Tip: the suits are large by Paris standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZuluMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I always stay there when in Paris, be it for work or private.
The hotel is super cute and the rooms are all a little different and tastefully decorated, the place has the charm of an old house decorated by a very stylish french grandmother, i don't mean kitch but cozy. I am also a great fan of their bathroom products by CARVEN, which is such an utterly french smell. The reception staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, which in return isn't typically french.
For breakfast I tend to go to the pain quotidien just around the corner to indulge on their amazing croissants. The hotel is placed right in the middle of the Marais, which is the most alive or even trendy "quartier" of Paris, full of cafes, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quieter 1st and 2nd floor have better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lidia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A small hotel by most standards but a big hotel in service. Very quaint, yet large, lovely rooms in the wonderful district of Le Marais. I could not recommend this hotel more highly. We will definitely be back! Karen, at the front desk, could not be nicer or more helpful. She obviously loves her job qnd it shows. Her linguistic skills qre amazing and she understood qnd spoke in the nuances of American English; How helpful when I needed a doctor who spoke English. Praises to the Hotel de la Bretonnerie!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaaren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just back from a few days in the Marais district of Paris. We last visited this hotel about three years ago. It has not changed, thank goodness. We were in room 21, graded a 'charming room' on the third floor (this is a category used by the hotel to grade its rooms). Well worth it. Quite a big room by Paris standards. Genuine wooden beams, and a good sized bathroom. We loved the fact that it faced onto the street. Despite the general bustle of the area, there was no noise distraction. The hotel staff were charming and helpful. We contrived to lose our Eurostar return tickets, but with the help of Marie Lise at reception, we managed to retrieve copies via the web. Thank you.

For this trip, we checked out restaurants we knew and trusted from previous visits, including Le Timbre, Bistro Paul Bert, and Chez Omar. All very good, just like before. Paris is becoming dearer, but probably at a slower rate compared to London where we are based. So far as the essentials of life are concerned, the cost of the metro is certainly much cheaper than London, and good basic champagne is also less expensive if you know a little about what to look for. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were told by a friend about this great little Hotel in Paris. The service and friendliness of the staff were outstanding. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room. The pillows are great and we enjoyed two nights of good sleep. Although the Hotel is in a busy area we heard no noise from the street. The WiFi signal strength was not always very strong in our room but the reception area is well covered. We will most definitely return to Hotel Bretonnerie and tell all our friends about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#341 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#8 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#47 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#418 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#470 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Property: Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#479 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
#494 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing