We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #315 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel de la Bretonnerie is a small and cosy hotel in Marais. The room was lovely and the staff friendly. Perfect location in Marais and still not much sound from the street.

Do try the great falafel sold at several places close to the hotel and the wonderful cakes at Comme à Lisbonne.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    209
    43
    6
    7
See reviews for
82
200
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I thought it was a bit pricey at 75 euros the room only. But I suppose it is Paris. And the marais area. Just a hundred yards or so from the Pompidou Centre and the main bus route north/south - Gare du Nord. If you go out and turn left you are quickly in a collection of nice-looking restaurants. The room was clean and I found CNN on the telly. French breakfasts aren't usually up to much - coffee and cake - but this one had a machine which squeezed fresh oranges which was excellent.

Room Tip: Had a room on the back which was very quiet. I understand that it can be hot on the upper floors, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tintarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Most hotels in Paris seem to be a little tight on space. This one is not an exception but it is nicely decorated with good sized bathroom (and separate wc). I was travelling solo and had a room facing the street which is not ideal as there is a lot of noise from traffic during the day and people out on the streets at night. The hot water in the bathroom took an awfully long time to come through and I often had to leave it running for at least three minutes. The breakfast room is a charming 'cave' with stone walls and quite a good selection of things on offer (the orange-juicing machine is a plus!). The location is great, within walking distance of the Metro and surrounded by charming little shops and bistrots.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in June, two adults, two kids. We stayed in a Junior suite. The room had one double bed and two twins in a connected space, not a separate room. We also had a small balcony that overlooked a courtyard. The room was at the back of the hotel, so very quiet. The room was very clean and quite charming. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The biggest pluses of this hotel are the location and price. Located in the Marais district only a few blocks from the Seine and Notre Dame. Many shops and restaurants nearby. Would stay here and again.

Room Tip: Nearby streets can be quite busy and loud at night, choose a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile


Hotel staff.. Fantastic
We had room 25 on 3 rd floor. Very quite and bed firm . And good size bathroom for Paris .. We were able to sleep with windows wide open.. Great as no air con!!

Friends had huge room and bathroom .. 3rd floor room 20.. But noisy on street.. So they were not able to have windows open .. Hot!
Location is great.. Restaurants . Shops .. 10 min walk to Norte dam . .
Hotel sorted taxis restaurants helpful hints .. And DHL parcel .. Extremely helpful
Breakfast was fine .. In the basement cave. Fresh orange juice ... Cereal fruit salad mostly canned.. Breads cheese meat.. And coffee
Breakfast was included .. In tariff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel several times and have liked the hotel and the location in Le Marais. Our last room was on the top floor. It was a room of character but it seemed smaller than the ones we have previously had. Part of the reason it felt small is that it is up in the rafters and the ceilings are sloped. The room was hot even though the weather was not particularly hot so it would be a real problem in the summer with just one small window in the room. The décor is very nice. They did provide a fan however which was helpful but not that attractive and took up a substantial amount of space. The management was very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved it, we will always return here when visiting Paris! Great location, nice room, helpful service and reasonable price. Probably wouldn't bother with the breakfast again, but everything else was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#137 of 1,816 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#395 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#13 of 1,816 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#394 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#486 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
#697 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Property: Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
#481 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#496 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing