We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, characterful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #330 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This small friendly hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of many of Paris's 'must see' attractions - the Georges Pompidou Centre, the Louvre and Notre Dame to name a few. There are also plenty of traditional brasseries and international restaurants nearby and some interesting shops.
The hotel reception staff, who seem to change each time you walk past, are without exception charming and helpful.
The room was quirky with rather austere furniture and rather dark wallpaper and curtains. However it had an old fashioned charm and the high ceilings and tall Parisian windows gave it character and grandeur. It has huge windows opening out onto the street below - fascinating for people watching and there are plenty walking past on what is mainly a pedestrianised street. Soundproofing was amazing. Once the window was shut you couldn't hear a thing from outside. The beds are upstairs on a mezzanine which gives a very spacious feel to the accommodation. A few minor grumbles - the bathroom was very clean but the hot water pressure was incredibly low which meant showering or filling the bath was a long process. Towels were thin and rather abrasive in quality! Beds not overly comfortable and only one very thin pillow - good for the neck but not the sleep quality.
Breakfast (an extra) is definitely worth the 9 euros. Mainly self service but the cheery waitress appears on cue to make your freshly squeezed orange juice to order on the remarkable machine. Good coffee, croissants and remarkable selection of pastries, preserves, cold meats, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts etc for such a small dining room. We really enjoyed this hotel and felt it enhanced our experience of Paris as it felt quintessentially French and was situated exactly where we wanted to be. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5hampshirehogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 510 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here with our two teenagers on the front and back end of our France vacation. It was easy to find and not a difficult trip from the airport. The staff spoke perfect English. Our first room had two areas and seemed to previously be two rooms, as there were two bathrooms. This was room 5, I think. It was great having two bathrooms for four people! One area had a queen bed and the other had a twin with a trundle. It was a little small but comfortable and clean.

At the end of the trip we had a different room (17 maybe). Similar beds, but a different layout. It had a tiny balcony into a courtyard (not pretty, but cute balcony). This room only had one bath. Again, comfortable and clean.

We had no problem with noise. It is not on a major road. There are some clubs near by, but it was not loud. It is close to Notre Dame area, Isle St. Louis & the Pompidou. A bit far for the Eiffel Tower and Sacre Coeur (not direct a Metro trip). The Marais is a nice area we had not explored before. We wanted to be near Gare de Lyon, which we needed to take a taxi to.

We did not have a problem without AC because it was cold outside! Would probably be stuffy in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trumps4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights after a business trip in Switzerland. Arrived from train to Gare de Lyon and took a taxi to the hotel. Reasonable cost of 13E.

I had a charming room on the 4th floor facing the interior, so no view, just another building, but it was very quiet. My room was huge with a king bed and another single, so 3 could easily fit in here. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large too and very clean. Internet access is good. No air conditioning in this hotel, but was not an issue during my stay as it was cool. There is a safe in the room. Complaint is the hand shower as it was awkward. Also a caution if you are tall, the angled beams are not ideal. I'm 5'4" and I banged my head because I wasn't careful in some spots.
I had breakfast for 9.5E and it was reasonable. The fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious. I also ate in cafes around and their cost is 6-7E but you don't get the same amount of food, but more ambience.
As others have said this hotel is very convenient to the metro and you can walk to plenty of main sights. I loved the Maris area. I felt very safe here.
Staff is great and very helpful. The lobby has a computer and printer to do check-in.
Can walk to the Chatelet les Halles to catch the RER to the CDG. Which I did, but with the train strike, the journey to the airport was not as convenient as hoped.
I highly recommend staying here, just not in the hot summer.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing back if you want a quiet room. The charming rooms are very large. If you are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JadepearlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 5 day stay at Hotel de la Bretonnerie. The room was stylish and old worldly designed with a four poster bed, exposed wooden beams on the ceiling, and a french window looking out to the streets of Marais :). The location is perfect in the middle of Marais and about a 10min walk to the metro stops. The bathroom was uber clean with a tub and nice bath products too. The room and the bathroom were of a good size as compared to other hotels. The staff r helpful. The only drawback was the street noise from some construction close by, thats if you left the window open. Other than that, nothing to complain, the free wifi works brilliantly. I would recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend or otherwise :)!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryissacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have traveled many times from Boston to Paris, but since I have found this hotel, I have never stayed anywhere else. So quaint, so Parisian, and the location/price cannot be beat! My fiancee loves it too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I used to live in the Marais and discovered this hotel by chance when looking for a place to host visiting friends near my apartment. I've subsequently stayed there myself and will do so again. The location right in the heart of the Marais can't be beat. The multi-lingual staff is extremely friendly. The chambres de charme are the ones to get. The rooms are small but comfortable, some with timbered ceilings, and all with en suite bathrooms, which is always a plus. I've never had breakfast here, but there are great cafes in the neighborhood and even a Starbucks if you're inclined that way. There are glitzier boutique hotels in the neighborhood, but this one rocks it for value. Rue St. Croix de la Bretonnerie is not a quiet street on weekend evenings but you don't stay in the Marais for quiet. Sunday through Thursday it is more peaceful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WKR1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Which weighs more, a ton of fun and laughter or a ton of aggravation…you decide.

We guests at the Hotel Bretonnire are told that the reason there is no AC is out of concern for the environment. Okay...that's a nice thought. And, although they don’t advertise it, from the quality of the towels, one suspects a gesture of good will trade with North Korea. No labels, but the towels have that certain North Korean quality. Finally, as Monty Python might put it, this hotel has the semaphore version of the internet.

Perhaps I am harsh but there are no shower enclosure at all in the tub and room temperature "control" of Victorian vintage is a bit of an issue. Overheated room? Open the window. That’s fine in early May but when the crawling, flying things of summer arrive, it may not be the quaint “old fashioned” option it is right now. Although our room (15) was quiet, other guests told us street noise in this boisterous, gay area, was an issue.

On the plus side, I am a big fan of competent staff and the ton of fun and laughter in this case is Karen. She is competent, intelligent, tri-lingual and really very funny. The night clerk was also both helpful and possessed of a mischievous sense of humor.

Finally, the breakfast was (as usual) absurdly overpriced, but more generous in some ways (infinite coffee) and featured nutella...a big plus.

My wife and I would not return to this hotel for itself, yet…if Karen were to be there…

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NortheastJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#701 of 1,803 in Paris
301 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#78 of 1,803 in Paris
233 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#378 of 1,803 in Paris
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#17 of 1,803 in Paris
183 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#398 of 1,803 in Paris
635 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#422 of 1,803 in Paris
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#479 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
#494 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $153 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing