We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel in the Marais”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #322 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent three nights here in February, and I found it comfortable and charming. The location in the Marais is great for walking around, visiting little shops, and enjoying some really tasty food. My room (Room #1) was a little bit quirky, but very nice. It had two levels, with a desk, daybed, and minibar on the lower level, and the bed, wardrobe, and bathroom on the mezzanine. The ceiling on the upper level was pretty low, especially where the beams crossed it. I would not recommend this particular room for anyone taller than 5'8", because I think you would hit your head in the shower. My HUGE window faced the street, and it was fairly quiet, although I suspect it might be noisy in the summer. Everything was very clean.

The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was basic but fresh. One thing to note is that you are not supposed to bring food into the room, so you have to eat all your meals out. The free wi-fi was pretty fast and reliable.

Overall a great choice -- I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room #1 has low ceilings on the upper level -- not ideal for tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 524 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shared a junior suite with a friend and was very happy with it. As others have said right in the center of the Marais. I'm noise sensitive so we had a room facing the courtyard and it was exceptionally quiet. Would absolutely stay again. Nice breakfast and lots of dining and shopping choices in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Charming hotel located right in the middle of the Marais. We were there for the New Year and noise was not a problem even with a club across the street from the hotel. I stayed in room 37 which was big by European standard and had a canopy bed. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, cafes, restaurants and the Metro at Hotel de Ville. I love this neighborhood as it is not touristy and would stay there again in the future. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the hotel is pretty standard but there are better options around the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A reasonably-priced hotel in the much-desired Marais neighborhood of central Paris. Our family stayed for six days, and it was the perfect launch point for Notre Dame, Victor Hugo's historic home, canal trips, markets, and the Louvre. Friendly staff assisted us with event tickets, taxis, and directions.

Our junior suite faced a quiet rear courtyard, no street noise, and only minor noise from other residents. Fabric draped walls, high timbered ceilings, and a mini-bar consisting of a small fridge with products for sale. Ask for a quieter room on the top floor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VanessaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Surprisingly good for the price and location. I love the Marais. I had room 29 which was a classic room with a four poster canopy bed. Reasonable size room with a small bathroom. Well maintained and very clean. I was genuinely impressed with what they offered for the price and I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank PaulieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fabulous bijou hotel in the heart of Marais. We had a v large room for three with three full beds. Very good facilities and very good location and the hotel was very accommodating to our requests. All rooms have wonderful decorations and appear very unique. Not like the bulk standard chains

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Violet-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

2nd time I have staid in this hotel and always very pleasant. Warm welcome, warm and charming atmosphere, ideal location in Marais area without crowded streets and noisy roads yet a few steps away from bars, restaurants, museums etc.
Very confortable rooms and spacious too.
Pleasant breakfast served either in bedroom or in breakfast room. Only shame : no expressos or cappucinos for breakfast .... and no fresh fruits either !
Very quiet place for sleeping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#76 of 1,804 in Paris
247 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#710 of 1,804 in Paris
306 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,093 of 1,804 in Paris
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#399 of 1,804 in Paris
778 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#450 of 1,804 in Paris
510 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#370 of 1,804 in Paris
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
#478 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#480 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing