We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel in the Marais”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #326 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute hotel in the Marais”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent three nights here in February, and I found it comfortable and charming. The location in the Marais is great for walking around, visiting little shops, and enjoying some really tasty food. My room (Room #1) was a little bit quirky, but very nice. It had two levels, with a desk, daybed, and minibar on the lower level, and the bed, wardrobe, and bathroom on the mezzanine. The ceiling on the upper level was pretty low, especially where the beams crossed it. I would not recommend this particular room for anyone taller than 5'8", because I think you would hit your head in the shower. My HUGE window faced the street, and it was fairly quiet, although I suspect it might be noisy in the summer. Everything was very clean.

The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was basic but fresh. One thing to note is that you are not supposed to bring food into the room, so you have to eat all your meals out. The free wi-fi was pretty fast and reliable.

Overall a great choice -- I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room #1 has low ceilings on the upper level -- not ideal for tall people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    225
    47
    7
    7
See reviews for
102
218
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shared a junior suite with a friend and was very happy with it. As others have said right in the center of the Marais. I'm noise sensitive so we had a room facing the courtyard and it was exceptionally quiet. Would absolutely stay again. Nice breakfast and lots of dining and shopping choices in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Charming hotel located right in the middle of the Marais. We were there for the New Year and noise was not a problem even with a club across the street from the hotel. I stayed in room 37 which was big by European standard and had a canopy bed. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, cafes, restaurants and the Metro at Hotel de Ville. I love this neighborhood as it is not touristy and would stay there again in the future. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the hotel is pretty standard but there are better options around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A reasonably-priced hotel in the much-desired Marais neighborhood of central Paris. Our family stayed for six days, and it was the perfect launch point for Notre Dame, Victor Hugo's historic home, canal trips, markets, and the Louvre. Friendly staff assisted us with event tickets, taxis, and directions.

Our junior suite faced a quiet rear courtyard, no street noise, and only minor noise from other residents. Fabric draped walls, high timbered ceilings, and a mini-bar consisting of a small fridge with products for sale. Ask for a quieter room on the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Surprisingly good for the price and location. I love the Marais. I had room 29 which was a classic room with a four poster canopy bed. Reasonable size room with a small bathroom. Well maintained and very clean. I was genuinely impressed with what they offered for the price and I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous bijou hotel in the heart of Marais. We had a v large room for three with three full beds. Very good facilities and very good location and the hotel was very accommodating to our requests. All rooms have wonderful decorations and appear very unique. Not like the bulk standard chains

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

2nd time I have staid in this hotel and always very pleasant. Warm welcome, warm and charming atmosphere, ideal location in Marais area without crowded streets and noisy roads yet a few steps away from bars, restaurants, museums etc.
Very confortable rooms and spacious too.
Pleasant breakfast served either in bedroom or in breakfast room. Only shame : no expressos or cappucinos for breakfast .... and no fresh fruits either !
Very quiet place for sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#389 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#34 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#370 of 1,802 in Paris
468 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#694 of 1,802 in Paris
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Property: Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#479 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
#494 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing