We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Value For Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #289 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Shared a junior suite with a friend and was very happy with it. As others have said right in the center of the Marais. I'm noise sensitive so we had a room facing the courtyard and it was exceptionally quiet. Would absolutely stay again. Nice breakfast and lots of dining and shopping choices in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    205
    38
    6
    7
See reviews for
77
196
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Charming hotel located right in the middle of the Marais. We were there for the New Year and noise was not a problem even with a club across the street from the hotel. I stayed in room 37 which was big by European standard and had a canopy bed. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, cafes, restaurants and the Metro at Hotel de Ville. I love this neighborhood as it is not touristy and would stay there again in the future. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the hotel is pretty standard but there are better options around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A reasonably-priced hotel in the much-desired Marais neighborhood of central Paris. Our family stayed for six days, and it was the perfect launch point for Notre Dame, Victor Hugo's historic home, canal trips, markets, and the Louvre. Friendly staff assisted us with event tickets, taxis, and directions.

Our junior suite faced a quiet rear courtyard, no street noise, and only minor noise from other residents. Fabric draped walls, high timbered ceilings, and a mini-bar consisting of a small fridge with products for sale. Ask for a quieter room on the top floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Surprisingly good for the price and location. I love the Marais. I had room 29 which was a classic room with a four poster canopy bed. Reasonable size room with a small bathroom. Well maintained and very clean. I was genuinely impressed with what they offered for the price and I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous bijou hotel in the heart of Marais. We had a v large room for three with three full beds. Very good facilities and very good location and the hotel was very accommodating to our requests. All rooms have wonderful decorations and appear very unique. Not like the bulk standard chains

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

2nd time I have staid in this hotel and always very pleasant. Warm welcome, warm and charming atmosphere, ideal location in Marais area without crowded streets and noisy roads yet a few steps away from bars, restaurants, museums etc.
Very confortable rooms and spacious too.
Pleasant breakfast served either in bedroom or in breakfast room. Only shame : no expressos or cappucinos for breakfast .... and no fresh fruits either !
Very quiet place for sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently spent for a week at the Hotel de la Bretonnerie where we have stayed several times.

It is a very good, comfortable three star hotel and an excellent value with a great location in Paris, the Marais, our favorite neighborhood.

On this stay we were in a Charming room facing the street. It was fairly large by Paris standards and the double pane windows made it quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast, which is in the ancient basement, is typical with coffee/tea, cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad, some varieties of croissants and bread, and sliced meats. There is a machine for squeezing fresh oranges with a button on the right side. If you have any problems with it, someone will help. There is a small exhaust fan in front of one table to circulate air. If it is annoying, turn it off. No one will object.

The free wifi (through a service) was reliable and I was able to send fairly large files without any problems. You can also print your boarding passes by using the free computer/printer in the lobby.

There was a TV in the room, but I never did quite figure out how to change the stations and just left it on CNN. We have never stayed in the summer, so while other reviewers have mentioned there is no air conditioning, it was never an issue for us.

The hotel is about a ten-minute walk from Chatelet/Les Halles RER station. Just walk in the direction of Centre Georges Pompidou. When you see it, turn left and walk down on the right (south) side of the building. It is almost a straight line to the hotel. You can also take the 1 line to Hotel de Ville but that means going up and down seemingly endless stairs to get to it from the RER station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#155 of 1,812 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#345 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#393 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#346 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#507 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Beaubourg
Hotel Beaubourg
#453 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Property: Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#480 Business Hotel in Paris
#480 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#495 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing