We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Tonic needs an upgrade”
Review of Tonic Hotel Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Ranked #1,401 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are not that small for Paris but it is in badly need of an renovation. It's got the shabby without the chic.

Room Tip: Would recommend you ask for a room in the back - street side can be very loud with garbage pick up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 438 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

In any other city you'd expect to pay about the same for a room in this hotel as you would for, say, a couple of decent hamburgers. But this is Paris, with its chronic shortage of hotel rooms, and it's virtually impossible to get really cheap deals, ever. So, yes, it's comparatively expensive, but everywhere else in Paris costs even more. Still, though, it has character, and I'd stay here every time in preference to a Novotel (of which there is a particularly ugly example just around the corner).

Of course you don't get a huge amount for your money, but: the beds are comfortable and warm, the bathroom clean with no hot water problems, and there is a safe and a minibar fridge in the room. I never drink anything out of a minibar (who does?) but it's big enough to take a full-sized bottle of champagne that you can buy from the supermarket around the corner. It has its uses.

The rooms are airconditioned - how effectively, I can't say, because we stayed there in February, and it was way too cold for air conditioning. There are electric blinds that block out the light and noise from the street. This is a useful plus: Paris is noisy.

The hotel staff are fine, reasonably friendly, and efficient enough (they quickly replaced a broken shower head in the bathroom).

Breakfast is overpriced at 15€, though. Skip it and go to a café, there are plenty of them nearby.

Location is the Tonic's major plus point: right by Les Halles, near the métro (Chatelet / Les Halles as well as Louvre-Rivoli) and RER (line B), lots of shops, and close to both the Louvre and Beaubourg (the Pompidou Centre) museums as well as the shopping streets: rue Rivoli and rue St-Honoré.

Overall: yes, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The window blinds are operated by a switch on the headboard of the bed. Took us a while to work it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Book this place for the location and you can't go wrong! Very tired hotel however, small and pokey with a tiny lift (you end up using the stairs only). Bed was comfy, but room was tiny and smelt like smoke. Also was very hot and the air con wasn't working. Bathroom was very tired, and could do with re work. Service at front desk was average. No bar or restaurant available. However, wicked location right on a great shopping street and by metro stations.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkig257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Got a great deal on this hotel on e x p e d i a booking well in advance in June for 8 nights from December 16 to 23. Ended up with a nice-sized double room (for Paris) with 2 double windows facing the small street in front of the hotel. Bathroom was smallish but in good, updated condition. Flat screen tv - only 3 English-speaking channels, only American channel is MSNBC Europe which broadcast NBC Nightly News around midnight (the rest of the "news" in English seemed to be exclusively discussions about the value of currencies). We never had trouble using the wifi, although we did have to give several different email addresses, but there is no password sent to them or anything, so we just put in email addresses that belong to various family members (back in the US) once we used up the 3 hour time limit and that always seemed to work.

Some of the front desk staff was not super friendly but they were all polite, spoke English well, and were in general friendlier than my experience in Paris in 2005. The staff were EXTREMELY helpful on the day we checked out when I found out while trying to check in online about 4 hours before our flight was to leave (on December 23) that Contiental had cancelled the flight and put us on one for the next day so that we would not arrive home until midnight on December 24! The helpful woman at the front desk put me through on the hotel phone to European customer service in English (which is unfortunately forwarded to India and regrettably unhelpful) and the hotel manager heard me getting upset on the phone, so he looked up on the internet all of the flights leaving Paris (there were many) that afternoon that I could rebook on even though the Continental representative was giving me the run-around. The manager also offered to give us another night at our original (not last minute) rate if we indeed could not fly out that day - he had heard me say that I was worried that we would not be able to find a room in Paris that night. Long story short, the manager was very helpful and reassuring that there were other flights leaving for the US that we could get on that day, so we went to the airport right away and we were able to fly home that afternoon on another airline. The night clerk at the desk from Cameroon was also friendly and I saw him serving a few people in the bar some nights. Our only negative experience with staff was the maid service who would begin knocking at 9:30 am to clean the room, not realizing you had not adjusted to the 6 hour time difference yet!

The hotel's location could not have been better for the smart money traveler because we could walk or metro or train to most sights conveniently from the hotel, including the airport and Versailles. We walked to the Louvre, Notre Dame, Musee D'Orsay, St. Michel/Latin Quartier, Hotel de Ville, Pompidou, and shopping in the Marais. The hotel is literally down the street from a huge Metro-RER station entrance at Chatelet-Les Halles (which is being renovated but is still open, accessible, and felt safe) to take the RER B or RER C to/from airport and Versailles or Tour Eiffel stop. Because it is so close to the Louvre, we also caught the Hop on + Hop Off bus on the far side of the Louvre (by the Seine) to sightsee the first day. Of the two companies (red one offers one long tour; yellow line offers four different more specialized tours that intersect), we chose Les Cars Rouges (red bus) because it came along first while we were waiting and we wanted to get out of the rain asap. It just so happened that Included for free was an illuminated night tour of Paris in a heated double decker (top enclosed too) bus; all tickets prices are for two days, so we went around to the sights that were harder to reach during those first two days and did not use the Metro until day 3. At the end of the night tour, I asked the driver to let us out at Pont Neuf (even though it was not an official stop) and he was very pleasant about it; we had a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

The hotel is also very convenient for several metro stops and lines. We used Pont Neuf, Hotel de Ville, Louvre-Rivoli and Chatelet at different times; bought two carnets of Metro tickets so we never had to deal with exact change for individual tickets. Two other nights after window shopping and eating dinner in the cafe on the top floor at Printemps and Galleries Lafayette (which are open later close to Christmas) with lovely views we exited at Hotel de Ville and enjoyed watching the ice skaters in front of the beautiful old building at 9:30 pm playing an intense game of tag on skates (after everyone else left the ice). After the first night, my teenager begged to watch it again the second night!

Other Paris tips:
We enjoyed the trip to Versailles even though the day was chilly and the fountains were not turned on. If you have a credit card, you can skip the long lines at the ticket windows and use the automated ticket machines in a room just past the ticket counter. But if you pay with a 50 euro bill, you will get sixteen 2 euros coins in change which sounds like a slot machine pay out! We rented a golf cart for 30 euros to tour the gardens, which was a smart, if hurried way, to see them on a cold day. There are also automated ticket machines at the Louvre and the Pompidou. For the much shorter bag check line at the Louvre, enter through the Carrousel underground shopping entrance off of Rue du Rivoli. Musee D'Orsay is open late on Thursday nights, and the crowd was so much smaller it was worth waiting until the afternoon to see it then and avoid the lines. Definitely take the funicular up to Sacre Couer, even if you chose to walk down - it takes one metro ticket each way.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street were noisier (there is a bar a few doors down) but have large windows, are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank erinbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

As with many Parisian hotels, your first room is not your actual room, it's just the worst one and if you accept it then at least they've managed to palm it off on someone. This was true for us, luckily I've stayed in Paris many times and I know how this game works.

Our second room was much better in terms of view, but in terms of decoration and quality certainly left much to be desired. There is no tea or coffee in the rooms and the Wifi only barely worked when it wanted, but if you're in Paris and all you want to do is surf the web then perhaps you need a reality check, although picking up emails was a bit of a challenge. The bed was comfortable and the room was not the smallest I've stayed in. Perhaps the biggest source of irritation was the shower which did not attach to the wall as it was damaged and despite reporting this on the first night, nothing was done about it throughout the whole weekend.

The hotel does have the world's smallest lift, I'm 6'2" and at the narrowest part there was barely enough room for my shoulders, certainly if you are a wheelchair user, this is not the place for you. Also, secure storage for your cases after you're checked out consists of piling them up on the main stairs, not sure if the fire inspectors have seen that yet.

The location is good, contrary to some reviews, there are many restaurants in this area of Paris and a very nice boulangerie just round the corner. We recommend you visit the wine tasting shop on the next street over, all organic wines and the guys really know their business. From the hotel it's only a 5 minute walk to the Louvre and the nearest tube duration is just round the corner and links directly to Gard de Nord.

The staff were mostly friendly, except maybe at 2 in the morning, the hotel bar however, was always empty and with plenty of bars and cafes nearby we didn't bother trying to use it.

Despite all of these negatives, we still had a good time and we negotiated a €60 discount because of the shower. Would we stay there again? No, there are better hotels for less money in better locations than this one, bit of a disappointment really because this was supposed to be us pushing the boat out a bit. C'est la vie.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Fantastic location. Hotel dated and rather worn, but our room was clean and bed comfortable. Considering Paris prices a good deal!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CockooCockoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The Hotel Tonic de Louvre was at a great location within a few hundred metres of the louvre, making tackling the gigantic museum easy. Plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby with a llittle fromagerie directly across the road that did an awesome hamburger and chips. The room was decent sized, as was the bathroom. Just note that when hotels in France say they have international cable channels - this has only meant the bbc news channel in English at every hotel we've been to. Not to worry if you're not in the room much anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllaT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,335 of 1,804 in Paris
306 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,193 of 1,804 in Paris
407 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Premier Ducs de Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#524 of 1,804 in Paris
700 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#309 of 1,804 in Paris
197 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#904 of 1,804 in Paris
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel Louvre

Address: 12 rue du Roule, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,401 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $105 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonic Hotel Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Tonic Hotel Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Paris
Tonic Du Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing