We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in centre of Paris”
Review of Tonic Hotel Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Ranked #1,384 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in centre of Paris”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The Hotel Tonic de Louvre was at a great location within a few hundred metres of the louvre, making tackling the gigantic museum easy. Plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby with a llittle fromagerie directly across the road that did an awesome hamburger and chips. The room was decent sized, as was the bathroom. Just note that when hotels in France say they have international cable channels - this has only meant the bbc news channel in English at every hotel we've been to. Not to worry if you're not in the room much anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllaT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    129
    96
    61
    70
See reviews for
90
136
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at Tonic Hotel for a week with my parents. The hotel is well located (close to a ''busy'' street Rue De Rivoli, and also around a 8 minute walk from the louvre). The bad thing about its location is the lack of restaurants around at night..

The elevator is SO TINY, i am not exaggerating about it , it only fits two people in there, maybe three. It is actually funny...

The room we reserved ( a quadruple room) was pretty good, better than what i expected. It had a mini-bar, flat tv screen and comfortable beds. The ceiling was pretty high which gave us the impression of a bigger room. The TV has lots of channels, not only in french but also in portuguese, english, german.. the options were not the best, but that was not a problem for us..
The bathroom was small but still very good, it had a bathtub, mirror, everything you will need. One thing that I did not like about the bathroom was the hairdryer, I recommend you to bring you own just like we did..

The staff were alright, they spoke fluent english, and they would help us with anything we asked for.. I just expected them to be a little more friendly, but still that was not a problem.

The hotel also provides breakfast, which is charged apart.. 15 euros per person.. I did not try the breakfast at any day because of its price, way too much. I do not recommend you to eat in the hotel..
At the same street of the hotel there is a place that serves a very good breakfast for less money than that, we three ate there and all we had to pay was 14.50.

There is free wi fi in the hotel as well.. but I hated the way it worked. We had around 3 hours to stay online for each email we provided, and while we our doing our stuff on the internet we were being timed, when the time runs out you wont be able to get online again unless you provide another email to stay online for more 3 hours.. so weird..
that was a problem to us, since we had my sister all alone in our house taking care of 2 dogs, we had to keep in touch with her constantly by email.. Plus my father was not on vacation he still had to take care of his business, after our 3 hours of free wi fi run out we had to go sometimes to starbucks to have free access to the internet.

In general the hotel is affordable, the rooms are comfortable, and it is well located, if I would stay here again? Maybe, i think i would search for better options..Do I recommend it? Sure, perfect for the first time, very hard to get lost around there! :)

Room Tip: I don't know how small the single rooms are but if you are spacious maybe getting a double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiemileal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in Tonic Hotel Louvre for 2 nights in a double room. The location of the hotel is great. Walking distance from the main train station (even with a big bag!) and from all major must see attractions in Paris. The metro stations are close by too. There is lovely little Parisian restaurants close by and a shop which sells any essentials you may need. The staff were very friendly and spoke perfect english and gave us great "inside" advise where to go to eat and drink and how to make the most of our time in Paris

Room Tip: The rooms with a jacuzzi bath are lovely and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Just returned from this hotel for a 4 night stay for a triple. As you know it is hard to find a decent priced triple in Europe let alone Paris. But room 206 in this hotel was more than adequate for the three of us. The room was cozy and quaint. Location was awesome only a 5 minute walk to the Louvre and plenty of Metro stops to choose from. Another 5 minute walk over the Pont Neuf and you are in the St Germain des Pres! Priceless. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. A plus in Paris. Breakfast was a tad bit lacking but so many other choices nearby, elevator is also small, but that's Europe. My only complaint is that there is a bar just next door to hotel and the patron's tend to drink outside all hours of the night and can be a little loud. But other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget who wants a clean hotel in a fab location. Miss it already.

Room Tip: Room 206 is a great option for a triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smotravel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

i chose this hotel based on its location was very disappointed. while the front desk staff was occomodating, simple amenities such as ice were difficult if not impossible to obtain. the building was old and poorly maintained. rooms were shopworn, smelly, and odly furnished with what appeared to be used furniture. the one elevator when working was slow and could only hold one person with luggage. if you were on an upper floor, the long run on the stairway with worn and dirty carpeting was a treck especially with luggage. breakfast was a pitiful assembly of day-old pastry. i would definately place this hotel at the bottom of the list of cheaper options of which there are many better.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Iran
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was in Tonic hotel for 3 days early this september. Was lucky to find such wonderful hotel by chance (thanks to Anna the receptionist) for her kind help. I was offered a triple bed for a fare of single and the next day a double with a better deal.
The hotel is five minutes by walk to Louvre musem and same close to the Seine river. Can also visit many beautiful sites around.
The rooms are so clean and convenient with standard 3 star standards. Staff are friendly and with the good breakfast and ambience, you will come to visit this hotel again. That is well recomended.

Room Tip: Try room toward the "rue du Roule"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fakasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This small hotel is located just behind the Louve in Paris. Wonerful location. It is a very old hotel with small elevators to the different floors, but the rooms are clean, if not small, the bathrooms mostly have tubs and the beds are comfortable. The staff spoke English and were very helpful.
I will stay at this hotel any time I am in Paris!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annadraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,345 of 1,800 in Paris
295 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Saint-Honore
Hotel Saint-Honore
#938 of 1,800 in Paris
209 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Ducs De Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#442 of 1,800 in Paris
679 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,104 of 1,800 in Paris
807 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#996 of 1,800 in Paris
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel Louvre

Property: Tonic Hotel Louvre
Address: 12 rue du Roule, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,384 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonic Hotel Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tonic Hotel Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Paris
Tonic Du Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing