We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #437 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed three nights with my wife for her birthday. It was an absolute perfect stay. The hotel is newly renovated and in excellent condition. The location is perfect within short walking to very many restaurants and Notre Dame. I thouroughly enjoyed the stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 556 which also has a small Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonromb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 894 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
19
Reviewed December 9, 2011

On Firday evening, the 2nd of December, I booked a room for the following night at the Mercure La Sorbonne via the Accor website. I received confirmation by email and text, and the payment was made in advance. I am a member of the Accor loyalty programme, and have been staying at Accor hotels for about 20 years.
I travelled to Paris the following morning, and arrived at the Mercure around lunchtime. I was then told that there was a problem, and there was no room for me. They had not emailed me, phoned me, or sent a text, and I received no apology.
I was told I was booked into the hotel Select, and if I did not like it, too bad. It was raining heavily, and as I did not fancy wandering around Paris looking for a room, I checked into the Select.
The staff there were courteous, and embarassed, and implied that this happens regularly with the Mercure La Sorbonne.
I have since called and emailed Accor's head office, asking for my emails to be referred to Denis Hennequin, the CEO of Accor, for their comments. I have not received an explanation.
This seems an odd way to treat a loyal customer.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Located 2 minutes walk from Metro and Saint-Michel restaurant area. Near Notre-Dame. Very nice (but small) room, good cleaning. Breakfast is good, both hot and cold choices in addition to eco-food. Hotel personnel are polite and helpful. Reccomended

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

You cannot beat the St. Michele/Sorbonne area for walking to great restaurants and cafes and very convenient to the Metro. We have stayed here twice. It has a residential rather than sightseeing feel to it. My only complaint is the crazy shower setup...which is common in Europe. Why not invest in a shower curtain?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sistersandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
1
Reviewed November 6, 2011

we had a business deal on this hotel direct from Accor and we found it refreshingly small and nice for a Mercure. Small room but very nice with Sorbonne view straight out of the window on 6th floor. Quiet street but handy to everything, and very pleasant helpful staff happy to speak English if needed, excellent breakfast with healthy options. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brussels, Belgium
11
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Excellent Hotel, right beside the Sorbonne, in the heart of the Latin Quater of Paris.
Very friendly staff, good overall service and excellent value for money breakfast. Free wireless internet, newspapers and magazines. Rooms very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just stayed 4 nights in this petit hotel in Sorbonne. Really good location, close to everything - great restaurants, park (Jardine du luxumborg), St Germain, walking distance to Notre Dame. Went with my parents, so not very good with walking up and down the stairs, but there is a bus stop not far on Bd St Michel which has good connections to most sites.

Hotel itself is nicely decorated if not too clinical, service was good from staff. There is free Wi-fi in the room as well as reception. Room is on the small side, and room rate is pricey though seems to be the going rate in Paris city center. Still think you would expect more of a hotel if you are paying this rate. Anyway, only two things that are not good about the hotel besides price: 1. air condition does not really work, the hotel is always warm and room can get really hot, and you cannot adjust the air con. 2. The bathroom is not old and tired, and water does spatter everywhere to the floor and sink.

Still enjoyed our stay despite the issues above, and probably would recommend friends to go there if they struggle to find hotel of similar price range.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,804 in Paris
1,337 reviews
Quartier Latin
Relais Saint-Jacques
Relais Saint-Jacques
#681 of 1,804 in Paris
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#253 of 1,804 in Paris
819 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#384 of 1,804 in Paris
1,164 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#199 of 1,804 in Paris
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#276 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#367 Business Hotel in Paris
#419 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $142 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be staying right at the heart of Paris, on the border of the 5th and 6th arrondissements, opposite the Sorbonne University, between the Latin Quarter (5) and Saint Germain des Prés (6), 5 minutes' walk from Notre Dame, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Gardens and the Sénat. Fully renovated in an intimate, relaxing and contemporary decor, the Mercure Paris la Sorbonne hotel is ideally located whether your stay is for business or leisure. Soufflot public car park is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing