We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Prince de Conde
Ranked #1,019 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson Heights, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been to Paris in the past and remembered a rather frosty reception for English speakers and hotel staff uninterested in their guests. Definitely not the case at Prince de Conde! We arrived much earlier than check-in time, but Celine made an effort to have the room cleaned as early as possible so we could recover from jet lag. She made great suggestions and helped us with our trip planning. All the staff were very cooperative and helpful. Jean Marc drew maps for us so we could find a recommended restaurant, Fabrice gave us suggestions for the Spanish part of our trip, and Amelia was lovely too. When I had a family emergency, the staff graciously allowed me to use their computer (at no charge) and assisted me.

Our room was lovely. You could never call it spacious but it was beautifully decorated and comfortable. And the location is ideal.

Unfortunately, the elevator broke down during the last 2 days of our stay.. The staff tried to minimize the incovenience by helping with the luggage, but climbing 4 floors wasn't easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaGQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
74
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I chose this hotel based on reading reviews and seeing the wonderful location on the map, but I underestimated just how ideal the location as well as the charm of this boutique hotel. We were so happy to see our well appointed room upon arrival--it is no Waldorf=Astoria, but it is a stylish, contemporary hotel with nice bed/bedding, oversized towels and as clean as can be. We were very pleased with our room, and the staff was very nice too.
The room was equipped with a nice closet, a safe, a recently updated bathroom (perhaps cheaply updated with laminate flooring, but still looked nice), designer painted walls, large cozy bed, abundance of plush pillows, cold air conditioning, good television, plenty of electrical outlets, nice windows which easily open for people watching down below, an electric tea kettle with assorted teas, etc.
We were a very short stroll from the Seine, the Sorbonne, the cafes lining the streets of St. Germain, the Louvre, Ile de la Cite, Notre Dame, St. Chappelle, and much else! It was a pleasure to explore the city and return to the hotel to relax in comfort. There is a small market across the street from the hotel, plus so many boutiques surround. It was absolutely the ideal spot for our first visit to the city of light. I would gladly return to this hotel next time we find ourselves in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although difficult to find initially, the location of this hotel is ideally situated for exploring Paris. A 5 minute walk to the end of the street brings you to the Louvre museum just across the river. At the other end of the street is the busy Saint Germain de Pres area and the Luxembourg gardens. The setting of the hotel feels very ''Parisian'' as there are lots of lovely bars and cafes along the nearby side streets and corners. The hotel is small but this is what gives it its charm. The rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable. I also found the staff friendly and helpful and would return if I was visiting Paris again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublindweller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a night at the Prince de Conde and it unfortunately disappointed. The location is amazing, but the hotel itself is somewhat dysfunctional- the lock on our room's door handle was broken from the inside, so there's a special trick to opening it which all the staff know about, and yet it hasn't been fixed! We also asked for a trundle bed last minute for my nephew and were told they can only get such things with prior notice. Fair enough, but the solution offered so that he could sleep in between us was a plain sheet that would straddle the two twin beds that had been pushed together, which no one offered to put on the bed for us. That said, the woman at the front desk is very lovely and otherwise helpful, and the hotel has a nice design aesthetic. For under 200 euros a night I'd be impressed, but for 350-300, they could do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

As always, my research before a trip is quite in depth to get the most out of the experience. WIth a weekend ahead in Paris, I was looking for a charming hotel, reasonably priced and somewhat central. An article citing Prince de Conde as the 'smallest hotel in Paris' with rave reviews for my criteria (Paris can be so expensive), I thought I had found the place.
The location was perfect in the middle of the Rue de Seine so by foot or metro, one could easily get around. Breakfast at the local cafe, La Palette, on the corner, perfect and even better, hot chocolate ancienne at Les Deux Magots looking at l'Eglise de St. Germain was heaven.
But, this hotel needs a serious upgrade both in staff and function-ability of rooms. If you have the smallest hotel, the receptionist is key to that first impression which, in this case, was one of being troubled to assist (the one on the last day was actually cheerful). With not the lightest of suitcases, we dragged them into the elevator to let ourselves into our room which, even if tiny, would have been acceptable except for: tired bed covers, rug and dingy walls, chipped furniture and a narrow bathroom with a broken yellowed white hairdryer. A bath did not entice and the shower functioned only after some fiddling.
No, we did not spend much time there, yet for another fifteen or twenty euros (we paid euro 230 without breakfast), our Parisian confines could have been a lot more pleasurable. The owner apparently owns several other hotels - take note - how much owners get away with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank madamelabergere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The beds are very hard. The cleanliness under expected standard, but service is great and the location is excellent! There is no real sitting area in this hotel, the dining area is a bit cold, in an old basement, but breakfast was very good. When you compare to what you must pay at other places around rue de seine this is a good deal. A few odd things: the strange smells, almost as spray, also in sheets, the shower was leaking, the tub plug got stuck one day so we had to stand in cold water the morning after. But, what the heck :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Prince de Conde during the New Year period and thoroughly enjoyed our stay mainly due to the excellent service of the front desk staff and the location of this property which is walking distance to most of the key sights in Paris. The property is also very close to a range of great cafes and resturants.

The staff were extermely helpful in giving us tips on great restuarants, good shows, and things to do and where to go. Claire, one of the staff at the front desk took a great deal of time and effort to book tickets and provide us with useful tips of where to go which were not necessarily in travel brochures. We will certainly stay at this property the next time we visit Paris.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a corner suite as rooms close to the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Prince de Conti
Prince de Conti
#1,103 of 1,801 in Paris
36 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#61 of 1,801 in Paris
740 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#279 of 1,801 in Paris
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#74 of 1,801 in Paris
643 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#652 of 1,801 in Paris
366 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#81 of 1,801 in Paris
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince de Conde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince de Conde

Property: Hotel Prince de Conde
Address: 39 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#445 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#449 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prince de Conde 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Prince de Conde offers guests the hushed atmosphere of a private house. Located behind the Institute de France, two minutes from the Pont des Arts, the hotel benefits from its quiet streets surrounding and charm of the old stones. With only 11 rooms, this confidential address lends itself to a runaway romance at the heart of Saint-Germain des Pres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prince de Conde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince De Conde Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing