We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location doesn't make up for the tattiness, high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Ranked #675 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location doesn't make up for the tattiness, high price”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We left this hotel on the first night because the room was too cold to sleep in. The sheets, carpet and wallpaper were stained and the toilet seat was loose, and despite leaving the heating on for ten hours, the room was still an ice-box. No duvet either, in the middle of December. Where they got four stars from is anybody's guess. See the short video of our experience there: http://goo.gl/Q4Gpg

Room Tip: There are other four-stars in the area for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkhamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    65
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
113
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Great location, with a view of Norte dame right outside your window! Helpful and friendly staff. Patrick booked us front row seats at the moulin rouge & he also organized a driver to take us to the airport, got us there on time and for a set price.
On the downside, they were renovating so our power went out a couple of times but as it was winter we hardly noticed.

Room Tip: We had the third floor room 7, double bed, wheras room 6 on the same floor had two single beds stuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Well this hotel is in a perfect position on the seine with views to Notre Dame if you have a room at the front. It is clean but a bit tatty. The rooms are small but the staff are really nice.

So for the cheap price this hotel is excellent value especially if you avoid their breakfast because there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

Having said all this we probably wouldn't go back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ademander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location of this hotel is just great! Lots of great places to eat just around the corner. Beautiful views down the river, and so close (3 min walk) to Notre Dame, which looked so beautiful at night, viewed from our lovely casement windows, all lit up. A fairly small 3 storey building, but with lots of character. Bus stop for the double decker tourist bus right out front, and pretty much right on top of a train station. The rooms were a good size, and the decor was warm and appealing. We were a family of 4, (2 adults 2 teenagers), so as our two rooms were the only rooms on our floor, it felt very private! Ensuite bathrooms were lovely and modern. All the staff were friendly, helpful and happy to answer our many questions. We were walking distance from many of Paris's main tourist sites.
They did provide breakfast at an additional cost, but we didn't make use of this so can't really comment.
Completely happy overall, and especially loved the manager, Taner.
Best time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

With this hotel it's location, location, location. Look outside your window and Notre Dame is just there. Nice 'n noisy. Luckily the windows are well sound insulated. Not so lucky was that the air-con was not working in our room. Room 3 is not a big room and without air con it does get very warm. It's small and Its double bed is about large enough for normal sized, loved-up Europeans, but would probably cause some uncomfortable nights for bigger than average Europeans.
Everything in the hotel looks worn - reception area, carpets, furniture, towels. Staff are friendly, though you do wonder who amongst them ignores the 'No smoking' signs. Still, the location is great and you get everywhere fast. If the rates were half of what they are, the place would be fine. Would I recommend it to a friend? Mais no!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was definitely worth it. In general, I'd say that you pay for the location more than anything else, as it's located in the epicenter of all of Paris. But, instead of being a 'big, impersonal hotel,' it's small, quaint, and in an old, well-maintained building. It's right in the city center yet quiet and 'homey.' The rooms were comfortable and in general, the accommodations were good. Clean, nice... really, there isn't much more to say. Again, it is a bit costly, but the cost is worth it if you value everything mentioned above, especially location.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ulrmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Unfortunately this hotel was one of the main causes that we didn't have a good and enjoyable stay in Paris this time as planned.

We booked three rooms, one superior and two standards. But for an unknown reason they gave us three superior rooms. They even let us store our luggage one day before we stay there.That should be reasons to rejoice and be grateful for, but...

1. Bad instruction:
I called to ask which sortie to get out from RER B and we followed the instruction of the receptionist and took the pain and hassle to take the escalator and climb up several staircases carrying all our luggage from two weeks' traveling and a baby pram, only to arrive and realize that we could have taken an elevator that goes straight up from quai RER B to the hotel!!! But why didn't they tell us?

2. Old and used facilities
The air con of one of the rooms broke down the first night. It was unbearably hot and stuffy that night, close to 40 C, and the poor only night staff couldn't do anything to it. My family who stayed in that room had to open the window and bear with the heat and the noise from the street. I was told the next two days that air con in three rooms out of 10 broke down in two days. All of the facilities, air con, elevator, hair dryer, etc. are of the 80s.

3. No customer-centered mindset
The night staff promised that things would change for the second night, that they would call for a repairman and make sure that everything work out fine for us. The next morning the manager not only didn't apologize, his tone suggested that it was our bad luck that it happened to us and told me that it didn't happen since how many how many years. I asked what was the hotel's policy and conditions for such a situation, and naturally he responded there was no policy written for such a situation! He promised that if it was not repaired, he would let us change to a standard room. In the afternoon around 5 when we arrived, I asked about the air con and the lady at the reception, who claimed to be the owner of the hotel, was not in a good mood and answered me perfunctorily. She didn't know when the repairman would come and said that it was not their fault if he didn't come in the end--a "sorry, I can't do anything for you, just bear with it" attitude. I asked to change room and she said they were fully booked there was no room for us to change! However after consulting the manager, she agreed to give us a standard room, which is the smallest room. We were happy about it for sometime and turned on the air con right away, only to discover, as we returned at night, that the air con in this room didn't work as well. We felt deceived and fooled around. They probably had known about it but they of course denied it.

Nothing was offered to appease our anger, even after telling them that we were really upset and unhappy about all that had happened and about their attitude. While arguing with the manager, I felt that he was always more aggressive, angrier, louder and self-vindicating, which surprised me because I was the guest! And they didn't try to comfort us or apologize in the end. His motto: "it wasn't our fault, there is nothing more I can do". I was just so shocked.

I successfully asked for two free breakfast for my family who lived in that 'spa' room. But remember, don't pay for the breakfast which cost 14 euros per person, it was just too lame. It wasn't even a buffet. The toaster which had half-broken, burned the only two bread pieces that left when they got down at around 10am. No one was there to help or serve them with more food.

The location was great, but that was the only praise that I have for this hotel. But spend your money on some other perhaps less expensive and more modest hotels.

Room Tip: very upset and shocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdnd, Directeur général at Les Rives De Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Madam,
First we would thank you of your message on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Rives de Notre Dame.

We will not enter in an endless discussion, but we think that other clients need an explanation of this matter.
During your stay, Paris had a very extremely weather with more than 40°C (104°F) and absolutely unusual. So unusual that 3 of our air-conditions get out of order, like in several other places in Paris.
We tried to solve the problem in contacting the technical service which were overwhelmed by other intervention and could not fix it before 48 hours.

In fact, we have changed your room even the hotel fully booked, we have offered the buffet breakfast to the concerning persons (and not to all your party as you requested).
As explained with you, we would not be able to make any discount, because you had already a very special rate (-30%).
We apologize if we had not comfort you as you aspect, but we have spent several hours with you, offered you different solutions and propositions. As we didn't accept your exact requests, we could never satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#203 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#464 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#647 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#235 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Mont Blanc
Hotel du Mont Blanc
#1,261 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rives De Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rives De Notre Dame

Property: Les Rives De Notre Dame
Address: 15 quai Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#357 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#488 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Rives De Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the romantic heart of Paris, on the Rive Gauche in the Latin Quarter, and facing Sainte Chapelle, the Hotel Les Rives de Notre-Dame is even more pleasant for the location and charm desired in a hotel in the center of Paris. With only 10 rooms in perfect Parisian style, services and unmatched comfort, a view over the cathedral of Notre Dame and on the Seine: a truly exclusive stay in a hotel in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Les Rives De Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rives De Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing