We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Charming and quiet"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Meslay Republique
Ranked #1,201 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Meslay is a charming place nestled partially down a narrow street which has very little traffic...unusual for most Paris streets. I found the staff friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and the bed sheets were changed every day. The towels were fluffy and the hot water was plentiful and consistant even during the morning rush. Most importantly to me, is that the rooms are quiet and free from street noises and even the hallways apparently absorb sound. The hotel was full and until one saw the breakfast crowd, I felt that I was alone in the building. Breakfast was buffet and French, i.e. tartines and croissants and the coffee good.The location is ideal. There are very goog restaurants nearby; fast food places, bars and cafes. The hotel is near the metro, the train station, several bus lines and a taxi stand. A block away from the direction of the Place Republique, one can find some small grocery stores, and a variety of diverse restaurants and a laundrymat. I travel to Paris at least once a year and I would surly recommend the Hotel Meslay as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wsafranek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 291 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is ideally placed right on top of Republique Metro which services areas all over Paris. The price is great considering the location and the room had an authentic and cosy feel. Breakfast is basic but respectable and out of all the staff only one exuded the famed French rudeness. I would recommend it to friends for short breaks in Paris but perhaps not for 7days+.

1  Thank Andyh021
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This Hotel was suggested to me by a friend who spends a lot of time in Paris.

It's not huge, glamorous nor is it Le Georges Cinq, however, it was actually quite charming.

The receptionist was the typically, stereotypical arrogant Parisienne and actually sniffed at us when we tried to be polite and greet her in French rather than broad black country but hey, we tried.

Breakfast room was tiny and well below stairs and very very cramped, we shared a few jokes with a charming American family about the space and choice or i both cases the lack thereof, but, what there was on offer was good quality and fresh.

We stayed 2 nights, it was a romantic break and I will say it's ideally placed for the Metro, the Place de Replubique station being a few minutes walk.

We had a lovely stay in Paris and if I'm honest I would stay again at Meslay purely because it was so convenient.

The room was small but then in Paris this is a common feature unless you pay fortunes BUT it was clean, and made every day. The one disappointment was that there was no bath, which we had requested and been told we could have, and the shower cubicle was extremely small, but, as I say, it was still a lovely little hotel - the view from our window wasn't a romantic view of Paris but hey, we saw most of those as we explored !!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times and whatever you might read on some reviews, believe me its fine.I sometimes think that people want five star luxury, even though they are paying three star rates.The hotel is clean and well situated for all the sights of Paris.Its a matter of yards from the Metro and is on five different lines.The breakfast is perfectly adequate with the best coffee i've ever tasted.Dont think twice if you're looking for a good value hotel in the heart of Paris.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked Hotel Meslay Republique at the last minutes while preparing for our recent three week trip to Europe. We did not have enough time to do more research about it. We knew its location by looking at Paris map. It was not too far away from Notre Dame Cathedral by metro. After getting out Republique metro with our heavy luggage we were very happy to find out that the hotel was very close to the metro. The hotel staff gave us a very warm welcome on arrival. Our room was not ready yet when we arrived but we did not have to wait long. Our tripple room was on third floor with windows facing the main street. The room was clean and warm. There was mini bar in the room. Wifi was free. There was no kettle, tea or coffee in the room. The hotel location was perfect. It was not far away from the extremely busy Republique round -abound. It was close to Republique metro, restaurants, KFC, McDonald, shops, boulangeries. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but used to have breakfast at the nearby boulangeries where we could have very fresh croissants and nice coffee every morning. We stayed four nights at Hotel Meslay Republique and had a very happy and nice time there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noises from streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel was adequate, but nothing special.

Rooms were good size and very clean. The beds had a little sag, our room had a water spot on the ceiling, and being that we stayed on the first floor there was NO way you could sleep at night with the windows open. The street is VERY loud, and it's about 50 meters from the extremely busy Republic round-about.

The breakfast was adequate, but they only had hard boiled eggs on one of the four mornings we ate there. Why don't the French have proteins with breakfast????

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor, it's very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at is hotel for 6 nights at the start of an extended trip and two at the end. We found the staff to be charming and very friendly and the hotel itself quite comfortable. Yes, the rooms are a bit small compared to US hotels, but this is Paris. The issues some reviewers had during the recent renovation seemed to have been worked out by the time we stayed there. It's located at a major hub of the metro and has everything you need close by. The breakfast was plentiful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the front of the hotel have small balconies. We enjoyed room 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Paix Republique
Paix Republique
#1,034 of 1,802 in Paris
116 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Le Relais du Marais
Le Relais du Marais
#621 of 1,802 in Paris
235 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
#764 of 1,802 in Paris
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,536 of 1,802 in Paris
131 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel de Roubaix
Hotel de Roubaix
#345 of 1,802 in Paris
645 reviews
Paris France Hotel
#297 of 1,802 in Paris
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meslay Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meslay Republique

Address: 3 rue Meslay, 75003 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,201 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $99 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meslay Republique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meslay Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Meslay Republique
Minotel Paris
Paris Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing