We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay in Paris”
Review of Hotel de Banville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Banville
Ranked #292 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff is extremely helpful and very professional in implementing their duties. The hotel is stylishly designed and decorated and has its own spirit I would say. Yes, the hotel is not surrounded by touristic sites and the streets around are not overcrowded by tourists but that is the charm of the location. You feel yourself as a Parisian:) Besides that the metro station Porte de Champerret is in the distance of 2-3 minutes walking and in 5 minutes you may see all the iconic sites of Paris.

Rooms are very clean, all facilities are functioning well. I recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to visit Paris.

Thank you very much Hotel de Banville for a warm welcome! With best regards, Ilgar (Azerbaijan)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 674 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

As other reviews have alluded to, this hotel is thought to be too 'out of the way', rubbish!

Bus stops and metro station just a few minutes walk away and then you're able to access all of the places of interest with ease.

We stayed in the Marie Apartment; this has fantastic views of the Eiffel Tower and across the skyline. Very comfortable bed and fairly spacious room. My only comment would be that is is tricky to shower without flooding the floor as the screen is quite small and you have to hold the shower attachment as it's not fixed to the wall.

All of the staff are attentive and very, very helpful. In particular Roman, who spent time with us showing us the best bus & metro routes to use.

We used room service and the food was good, this is supplied by a local restaurant and delivered in about 20 minutes.

Overall, I would stay again, the hotel was very clean and comfortable, pity I only discovered the eggs and bacon for breakfast on the last morning, it was delicious and I wished i had found it earlier!! However, the continental breakfast was very good and served in the lobby, which actually was very nice.

Room Tip: Try and avoid being too near the lift, it can be a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

When I was booking to take my wife to Paris, I was so torn. The pressure of everybody telling you that you are too far from the city and the main attractions can get to you. But I booked the hotel de Banville from its chic look and style and thought we would ride it out regardless. Well..... What a choice!!!! It's literally 15 mins walk from the arc and the tube is 2 mins away from the hotel. The hotel is in a residential area so it's relaxed with local parks and calm surroundings, just outside of the havoc that pairs can present. It was perfect. If we needed to go to the city, we were there in minutes.... If we wanted a quiet walk and a seat In a local park, we had it. I can't recommend this hotel enough!!!! It's modern, trendy and minutes away from anything you need and so clean and fresh with a chic boutique yet grand feel. We fell in love with it the minute we arrived and we will be returning! The grand piano has a singer on every Now and then also, so romantic..... The singer actually presented us with a cd with her music on, to remind us of the atmosphere and sense of mind we were in when visiting paris. When I book paris again, it will be booking here! I strongly recommend this hotel. It made our weekend trip even more perfect. Thank you.
Also, you may see from the other reviews ( which we did before we got there ) that there is a patisserie just across the road.......... Well..... MAKE SURE YOU GO THERE!! WOW!

Room Tip: Our room opened up directly above the entrance where there is a small park with a little greenery. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in a standard room(72), 7th floor / view of the Eiffel tower, clean, spacious. Full bathroom. Cannot fault it. The breakfast is lovely. Bacon, scrambled eggs. Fresh bread rolls, or toast.Homemade marmalade, high quality orange juice. 4 cheeses and ham, fruit, yoghurt. You order tea and you get a pot of HOT water and you pick your teabags, which is brilliant!!!
The staff are delightful, so helpful. The restaurants round the corner a great, some very posh and then some just delicious anyway.
I would stay again for sure.
It is an easy walk to the Arc du triomphe and there is also a metro station in the square by the restaurants. Very nice to return to after the busy centre of Paris. Just go!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneWindermere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying in the Amelie suite. The good points: pretty hotel, nice safe neighborhood, clean and bright, front desk staff extremely helpful. The breakfast is lovely - WHEN there are eggs and when you don't have to continually ask for bread to be replaced for toasting. The Amelie suite has a gorgeous view over Paris and there are some great restaurants nearby. The metro is at the end of the street. Once you get the hang of the metro you can save yourself the 40 minutes it takes to walk anywhere.


The bad: cleaners are too lazy to replace towels, soap, coffee, milk. Every morning we have to call and ask for basic things. Our hotel transfer was not confirmed and no one showed up for us.( Be ware of fake taxis at CDG. Only catch one from the taxi stand. )

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel - why do I have to repeatedly ask for soap and coffee?? The milk they supply is like 5ml and they only leave 2. How is more than one person supposed to have coffee? Breakfast is the same, lovely food but the kitchen staff stand around and don't replace the bread or eggs unless you ask for it. While staying here I feel like I'm harassing and complaining for things that should be standard. Particularly for 350 euro a night!!

One other thing I thought was strange for an upmarket hotel is that the cover on our bed had a big hole in it. Umm, when your linen starts to get holes - just throw it out.

The location is in a very nice neighborhood however not super close to anything. You will be walking a lot and the metro is your only hope.

Overall a sweet hotel but the lack of attention to room care ruins it. The staff at reception are what makes this hotel nice to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My partner and I are on our last night here at this wonderful hotel! From the moment we walked in, we knew we had chosen a wonderful place. The hotel is immaculate, clean, fresh, modern mixed with old. The staff have been extremely nice and helpful. The breakfasts plentiful and held us over until dinner every night. The pressure and the temperature in the shower has been the best we've had in any country we have travelled! No one has mentioned (that I know of) previously, but our favorite Italian restaurant here is right around the corner; "Le Comptoir D'Alphonse." Very friendly, delicious and prompt service. The metro and RER are steps away and it was a short 25 minute drive here from CDG (via a private hire). We would highly suggest a stay here and would return in a heart beat! We stayed in room 62, if that matters :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecutrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My friend and I have just got back from four days in paris and we stayed at hotel de Banville paris after reading the reviews we thought we had picked a good hotel, well we did it was so nice the staff went out of their way to help us even sorted out our booking in on line to come home if you need a place to stay in paris this is it and it's only a 10 mins walk to the Arc de Triomphe..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayholidayspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Suites & Hotel Helzear Champs-Elysees
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Mareuil
Le Mareuil
#119 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Ampere Paris
Hotel Ampere Paris
#215 of 1,805 in Paris
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#260 of 1,805 in Paris
233 reviews
B Montmartre Hotel
#61 of 1,805 in Paris
956 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les Plumes Hotel
Les Plumes Hotel
#202 of 1,805 in Paris
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Banville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Banville

Address: 166 boulevard Berthier, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
#198 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $136 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Banville 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friend of Rimbaud, Verlaine, Baudelaire, Hugo Theodore de Banville, the Poet, gave his name to one of the most romantic hotel of the capital. Built in 1927 in the purest Art-Deco style by the architect Jere´me Bellat, it was acquired in 1967 by Marianne Moreau’s family, current owner and manager of the hotel. Since then, three generations have succeeded one another, transmitting with passion their love for beauty, genuineness and hospitality. Marianne, with the help of her husband, the architect Laurent Moreau, designed everything new in the building, opening a new chapter in the Banville Hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Banville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Banville Hotel
De Banville Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing