We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and very cozy”
Review of Hotel de Banville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Banville
Ranked #249 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here a couple nights, it's an adorable hotel. The rooms were on the smallish side, especially the room for the toilet . . . it was a tiny little closet with just the commode, bath/shower and sink were in a separate room. Very nicely decorated rooms, you really felt like you were in Paris, especially with the partial view of the Eiffel Tower in the distance. Small balconies on the front of the building were nice to have, rooms were clean and service was good. Upper floors are accessible by a traditional Parisian elevator or the beautiful circular staircase. We'd stay here again. The location was a tiny bit further from the sights, but the price was right and we only had to walk a few more blocks. The Metro station is very close and there is a great bakery down the street too, just past the cheese shop in the opposite direction of the Metro.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 669 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great hotel, Clean rooms, good service, and the price is right.

Room Tip: All good, Depends on how much you want to pay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan-le-Taxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Clean, well presented rooms in a lovely building. Area has heaps of great restaurants, and the arc de triomph is about a 30 minute stroll. Metro is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
We loved the fact that the hotel was not in a tourist trap kind of area. Lots of locals doing what parisians do.
The staff on reception were very friendly, helpful and spoke good english.
Great value for Paris.
Highly recommended. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim_r_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very small, but nice hotel with a great, friendly desk staff. Beds had a foot board and my son and I are well over 6' tall. The staff upgraded us to a larger room without foot boards the next night - well appreciated!!!!!

Continental breakfast was very good, but hot dishes are not recommended. Metro stop about 4 blocks away, but distance really isn't that far to walk. Plenty of restaurants nearby for average food ( if you are after super expensive food, you'll have to look elsewhere).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel was nice and close to the Metro. When we arrived we were wonderfully greeted by the receptionist Elodie. She was very helpful and extremely friendly. The room was well sized, beautifully decorated and with a delightful bathroom. The room was made though with the superb view from the large double windows. Looking out over the Paris skyline at the Eiffel Tower. Going to sleep looking at an illuminated Eiffel Tower really is rather special.

My girlfriend and eye were delighted with the whole trip and hotel. We would absolutely love to go back to the Hotel de Banville.

Room Tip: Go for a superior or better and going for one with a view of the Eiffel Tower is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Located on the Left Bank, this boutique hotel is perfectly situated. Near to the metro (Porte de Champarret) and a host of typical Parisian cafes, this hotel is ideal for seeing the sights.

The hotel is quirky, yet tasteful and the rooms are well furnished. The staff are polite and helpful; particularly the new, French, female receptionist - nothing was too much trouble.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobdobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in April 2011 and found the rooms to be extremely clean, and free of any type of insects, my daughters business is mold remediation and pest control. The staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Early in the the morning when I went outside the woman in the kitchen would bring me coffee without me even asking then the other attendant would immediately set up a bistro table and chairs. Our room was always spotless and when we came in at night they would always asked how we enjoyed our day and did we need anything. I would highly recommend and I plan on returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Georgette
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
768 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Ampere Paris
Hotel Ampere Paris
#216 of 1,802 in Paris
1,309 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#255 of 1,802 in Paris
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
XO Hotel
XO Hotel
#2 of 1,802 in Paris
155 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#167 of 1,802 in Paris
1,409 reviews
Idol Hotel
#59 of 1,802 in Paris
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Banville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Banville

Address: 166 boulevard Berthier, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
#173 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#342 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $130 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Banville 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friend of Rimbaud, Verlaine, Baudelaire, Hugo Theodore de Banville, the Poet, gave his name to one of the most romantic hotel of the capital. Built in 1927 in the purest Art-Deco style by the architect Jere´me Bellat, it was acquired in 1967 by Marianne Moreau’s family, current owner and manager of the hotel. Since then, three generations have succeeded one another, transmitting with passion their love for beauty, genuineness and hospitality. Marianne, with the help of her husband, the architect Laurent Moreau, designed everything new in the building, opening a new chapter in the Banville Hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Banville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Banville Hotel
De Banville Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing