We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair rates for best location in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Ranked #377 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair rates for best location in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had a wonderful stay in Le Clos Medicis Hotel. Rooms are a little small, but its location pays off, the hotel is located near Luxemburg Gardens, 10 minutes walk to Notre Dame and good access to metr and bus stations. I do not advise to take breakfast, there are lots of bombounieres and small markets where you can buy your daily baguette for 0.7 Euro daily and save some money to have lunch or dinner in some fancier place. Loved Paris and the hotel, would definetely come back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbertoks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your kind comment and we are very glad you appreciated your stay with us. We wish to welcome you again !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    220
    52
    10
    12
See reviews for
73
265
52
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Le Clos Medicis for 1 week. We got one of the delux rooms paying a little bit more. The rooms were all very small as is normal in Paris unless you have large cash to spend. However, in the end are you there to sit in your room or to get out and see the city? We had a nice comfortable king sized bed (I am 6' and my wife is 5'10"+ so we needed this), and I have had back surgery so the bed is very important. I was comfortable every night and we put in a lot of miles during the day. The bathroom was good, having the usual shower with a hand held shower head, but we expected this. Our room had 2 sets of french doors out onto a good sized terrace that gave us another place to hang out. It was overlooked by other windows but we did not really expect true privacy anywhere in Paris. Our room was #12 by the way in case you wanted to request it. The room had a small desk and chair and a single closet. This was enough for us and the closet had a small room safe ofr our valuables while we were out of the room.

The staff were great, they spoke English. recognized us instantly when we left or returned, as you must leave the room key with them when you go out. The plug adapters I bought worked ok but the configuration was different than I expected. There was a single plug in the bathroom that had both 220V and 110V fo we would have been ok without anything else. They did provide free WiFi although it could be a bit slow at times.

The location was fantastic for our needs, right around the corner form the Luxembourg Gardens, right off the Blvd. St. Michel and a short walk to the river, Notre Dame, the Cluny Museum and several metro stops. There was a great crepe place right next door and the most wonderful cafe, Le Rostand, around the corner. Only three or four doors down was a boulangerie/patiserie with the best things and very friendly staff. We did not eat at the hotel as the cafes were numerous and a bit cheaper. Also we wanted as much of the Parisian experience as possible.

A special recognition to our front desk clerk Monsiuer Vu, he was awesome and we had a nice conversation about current events, his home land (Vietnam), and even helped me with my French pronunciation. I looked forward to seeing him each time we got back to the hotel holding out our key and wishing us a good evening/day.

We used the stairs every time except when bringing our luggage in and out. It was the smallest elevator have ever seen, barely fitting me, my wife, and our two medium sized bags. We literally were touching all four walls when we had our two bags with us. It worked though.

There was a small mini-bar fridge but it was packed and could not hold much else. We were able to put in 2 cans of soda, 1 small jar of jam and a smaller jar of olive paste, that was it.

Pros: location, staff, bed

Cons: size of room (if you want more you should be prepared to pay for it)

I would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not expect rooms the size of our hotels here in America. Get the best room you can afford, the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seacoasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for taking time in nicely reviewing your stay at Le Clos Medicis with so many details. We are very pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our introduction to Paris was Le Clos Medicis. We stayed here for 5 nights in September 2013. Although rooms were small, including a small double bed when one is used to a king size, it was very comfortable and the other "pros" far outweighed the "cons".
The rooms were clean and fresh, bathroom although small, had a separate shower, and toiletries supplied. Room was air-conditioned which is a must when weather is warm as it was during our stay. Breakfast was fresh, wholesome and plentiful. You could eat inside, although small, or outside in the garden which is such a lovely spot. The staff are only too happy to cook you some fresh eggs, or make a cappuccino or latte for you to have with your breakfast. Always greeted with a smile and a "Bonjour" each and every morning.
Reception staff were just as welcoming, always trying to please.
Location was perfect for exploring all the "must do's" in Paris..... 3 minute walk to Luxembourg Gardens, 20 minute flat walk to Notre Dame Cathedral, 5 minute walk to closest Metro Station. 25 minute walk to the Louvre, Tuileries gardens.
A perfect spot for restaurants, shopping and Metro transport, a very lively area, but very quiet in Hotel.
Would gladly stay here again and definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room overlooking courtyard are quiet as they are internal, but have a window opening onto courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for your kind comment en recommendation regarding your stay with us. We are very glad you appreciated it. The all team does its best for providing a good level of service and a pleasant atmosphere, it's always nice to hear they pass !!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room was very small, although it had a private terrance (which we didn't use due to weather). The hotel is an older property that has been substantially modernized. The staff, both desk and breakfast, was most accommodating. The location is great ... for walking to meals, transportation, or walking to sites. Would stay there again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and were assigned a nice room on the courtyard. We noticed that outer roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Thought this hotel was quite a nice little hotel but had a bad experience. We booked two rooms one for four nights (Larger room) and one room for 3 nights (regular double.) The so called larger room was virtually uninhabitable. The deal was 'take your luggage in the lift to the 5th floor then climb the stairs to the 6th floor.' Virtually impossible. Once in the room it was like being in the roof. But, worst of all the bathroom was up another set of stairs (the narrowest and steepest stairs I have ever seen). Unless you were a small person you would literally get stuck in the stair well. God knows what you would do if a fire broke out. Negotiating these stairs in the middle of the night would be horrendous. We complained and were told 'sorry nothing we can do about it'. We ended up swapping rooms with the other person in our party who was on his own and said he didn't mind. So therefore, we ended up paying four nights for an upgraded room which was really awful and using it for 3 nights only. Asked for a refund of the difference - once again 'sorry you booked and paid on line and not our problem' They gave us a refund on the two breakfasts which by the way, were not good. Soggy bread! Who serves soggy break in Paris I would like to know. It is quite a nice hotel provided you don't get given this dud room. Beware !!! Vivienne

Room Tip: Take a regular room at the front of the building and get a nice window that opens onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to comment your stay in our hotel. For both rooms, you chose the best deal available on our website our "package 3 nights minimum offering an extra 10% discount on the best internet rate, with special sale conditions.
We thought it would be pleasant being upgrade to our duplex room. Unfortunately it was not convenient, we keep it in mind for your next day. Despite we proposed you to move to the deluxe the day-after, you decided immediately to switch room with your brother. The small rate difference on the last night has been fully compensated by complimentary buffet breakfast, but we do regret you did not like the fresh “baguette” bread.
We do apologize for this trouble and we hope it did not spoil your stay in Paris, but we are sure you would have told us during your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best wishes
Cecile, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice, small hotel, very well located in the 6th just off Bvd Saint Michel, close to Luxembourg gardens. Comfortable room, though small. Breakfast not included in the price but available and reasonable. WiFi not able to be accessed for some unknown reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently spent 6 nights at the Le Clos Medicis with my son. The décor is modern and comfortable. The lobby is warm and welcoming with a fireplace. Our room was small but efficient. We were located on the 2nd floor in Room 21. The window opens to a view of adjoining roof tops, but looks down onto the small courtyard with outdoor seating. A window box with flowers was a nice touch. The door to the room was right off the elevator - literally you could step from the elevator into the room. I was afraid it was going to be loud being that close to the elevator, but it was very quiet.
The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a safe and mini-bar in the room. A breakfast is offered in the lobby for $13 euro per person, but we didn't partake. The staff was very friendly and spoke English.
The hotel is very close to Luxemburg Gardens. There are a couple of bakeries and restaurants on the street (mostly Asian food). A metro stop is a couple of blocks away.
The location was good, but I would have preferred to be a little closer to the Seine. The streets can be very confusing, we walked most places and got lost several times.

Room Tip: Room 21 was a single/standard room with a double bed. It was very quiet, we left the window open som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#152 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#144 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#651 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#286 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#391 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Address: 56 rue Monsieur le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#296 Business Hotel in Paris
#466 Family Hotel in Paris
#541 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing