We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Ranked #389 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable hideaway”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice, small hotel, very well located in the 6th just off Bvd Saint Michel, close to Luxembourg gardens. Comfortable room, though small. Breakfast not included in the price but available and reasonable. WiFi not able to be accessed for some unknown reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    234
    54
    10
    14
See reviews for
77
289
56
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently spent 6 nights at the Le Clos Medicis with my son. The décor is modern and comfortable. The lobby is warm and welcoming with a fireplace. Our room was small but efficient. We were located on the 2nd floor in Room 21. The window opens to a view of adjoining roof tops, but looks down onto the small courtyard with outdoor seating. A window box with flowers was a nice touch. The door to the room was right off the elevator - literally you could step from the elevator into the room. I was afraid it was going to be loud being that close to the elevator, but it was very quiet.
The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a safe and mini-bar in the room. A breakfast is offered in the lobby for $13 euro per person, but we didn't partake. The staff was very friendly and spoke English.
The hotel is very close to Luxemburg Gardens. There are a couple of bakeries and restaurants on the street (mostly Asian food). A metro stop is a couple of blocks away.
The location was good, but I would have preferred to be a little closer to the Seine. The streets can be very confusing, we walked most places and got lost several times.

Room Tip: Room 21 was a single/standard room with a double bed. It was very quiet, we left the window open som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

OK
The choice of hotels was of the location and the hotel's pleasant pictures on the net.
I was disappointed
The hotel needs a little overhaul. It is already becoming somewhat frayed.
Otherwise, a perfect location, close to everything.
My suitcase had not arrived on time, so I asked the front desk if they were able to provide a toothbrush and toothpaste (like most hotels do) but no.
Staff rather aloof.
Room 270 € in September ex. breakfast
Would I stay here again? Maybe .... because of the nice location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swde_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Completely agree with all of the other reviews about the convenient location (we took RER from CDG to Luxembourg which is a few minutes walk from the hotel). Staff were wonderful, always helpful and allowed us to check in early (10:00AM). The courtyard is a delightful place to enjoy the buffet style breakfast (Tea/Coffee, bread, pastries, yoghurt, juices, cereal, hardboiled eggs, etc.). We stayed in room 14 on the first floor (deluxe double) - Room was quiet despite facing the street. We mostly walked or took buses to get around, there are bus stops at Luxembourg gardens (2 minute walk) and at St-Sulpice church (5 minute walk). Odeon metro is also close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFC-SaddlersFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Directeur général at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you for comenting your stay at Le Clos Medicis. We are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diss
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in August and it was wonderful. It is in a great location just round the corner from the Luxembourg gardens and the Boulevard St. Michel. The Pantheon is nearby as is the Odeon theatre. If you have seen Midnight in Paris, lots of it was filmed in this area. On the same street as the hotel is the Polidor restaurant which featured in it. We walked everywhere, it is not far to the river and Notre Dame which means, of course, also Shakespeare and Company where we went 3 times in 5 days!
The staff in the hotel could not have been nicer and more helpful. Breakfast in the courtyard was excellent. We had a room on the 4th floor above the courtyard so could leave the windows open all night (it was very hot).
There is so much to recommend this hotel and this area. There is so much to see without having to get on the metro.Morning coffee on the Place de la Sorbonne just 2 minutes walk away was special. If you are thinking of a trip to this area then look no further that the Clos de Medicis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClosMedicis, Directeur général at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed Le Clos Medicis and we look forward to welcoming you again !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, from CDG airport 9.50 euros on rer direct to Luxembourg metro which is a 2 mins walk to hotel, the odeon metro is only a 10 mins walk, both of which will get you anywhere in Paris within 20 minutes! Abundance of cafes, bars, restaurants on your doorstep to suit all budgets! We didn't sample breakfast, 13 euro pp per day, cafe next door offered coffee, juice and 2 pastry for 4 euros! Room was spotlessly clean and maintained throughout our stay, we stayed in a deluxe double which was very well appointed and a good size with large queen size bed, dressing gowns were provided! Mini bar well stocked, but pricey (we bought drinks in cafe next door and kept them cool in mini bar) very quiet location, we were on 5th floor and couldn't hear any street noise! Staff were very helpful and always polite and courteous, eg asked how to get to Eiffel Tower, receptionist wrote the metro route down for us, stop by stop inc which lines we needed to take and change on, as well as info on buying book of tickets as this is cheapest way to travel! 24 hour bar available (bottle of wine 19 euro which is very competitive for area)! Only criticism is no tea/coffee facilities in room and if you wish to iron you have to use a room in reception area, would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for taking time in nicely reviewing your stay at Le Clos Medicis with so many details. We are very pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel. We arrived from Austerlitz via underground to Cluny La Sorbonne and easily trundled the cases. In leaving, we easily trundled in the opposite direction to catch the airport train at RER Luxembourg. No hassle!
It is also well located in a lovely area near the Luxembourg Gardens close to eating places, Notre Dame, the Louvre, etc. Also close to Hop-on-off bus stop.
Rooms are good size for Paris,it is very clean, it has a lift, there is a nice downstairs lounge, and effective wifi.
Breakfast costs an additional 13 euros in a pleasant garden setting. We didn't use this but there is a very cheap place about 1 minute away. There is free morning coffee in the front lounge.There are many reasonable eating places nearby, and a quality pearl nearly next door called "Dips".

We booked through Late Rooms , so it was also good value for Paris.
We would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncarroll105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#174 of 1,801 in Paris
436 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#285 of 1,801 in Paris
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#167 of 1,801 in Paris
694 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#346 of 1,801 in Paris
1,086 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#494 of 1,801 in Paris
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Address: 56 rue Monsieur le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#296 Business Hotel in Paris
#465 Family Hotel in Paris
#540 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing