We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good well situated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Ranked #791 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good well situated hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived at the airport and went to the Office and bought a NAVI decouverte 5 zone pass for 1 week valid from Monday 00:00, them jumped on the RER straight thro' to Luxemburg station. Hotel is right there ! Rooms excellent, clean, showers work, room cleaning good. Reception speaks English & are very helpfull. Breakfast included and above the French minimum ! Would recommend it to our friends. With the Metro pass we could og anywhere during our 4 days and even if we wandered through the streets we could jump on the nearest Metro. No waiting at ticket machines 1

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    263
    66
    25
    8
See reviews for
111
205
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Elysa with my mother and daughter for 3 nights. The location of the hotel was perfect as we travelled from the airport on the RER. The RER station is about 5-10 min walk to the hotel. We had a triple room which was very comfortable, nice size room, tea and coffee making facilities. We had a lovely breakfast in the hotel, fresh coffee, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants as well as hot breakfast if desired. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to Notre Dame, Louvre and even the Eiffel Tower. We would most certainly be staying at this hotel again...highly recommend for a typical quaint Parisian hotel. The only thing that I would have liked (but wasn't important) was at least one TV channel in English, even a news channel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location for the train to CDG Airport. Small but clean. Helpful staff. The breakfast room in tiny but the selection is adequate. The area is full of Japanese restaurants that look great. I didn't have time to try them. But for me, the short distance to Luxembourg station and gardens is the biggest advantage.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjcobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Elysa Luxembourg for 4 nights on our first trip to Paris having been almost everywhere else in France. The hotel is compact and conveniently situated just off the Boulevard St Michel & the superb Luxembourg Gardens. Reception we found efficient with the lift as tiny as reported. One large person would fill it without luggage. The room was tidy and well ordered but the bathroom wasn't heated. To do this it would be necessary to leave the door open so that the heat from the bedroom could go in, & anything from the bathroom come out ..! Breakfast is overpriced and not very good and the area too small. Staff appeared to use the same cloth for cleaning all surfaces. The masterkey was left in our room on one occasion and reception were duly grateful for its return, but not the staff. But overall, for the price and the location, the hotel is fair value.

Room Tip: Don't know - somewhere removed from the sound of bagpipes possibly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicvarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Elysa- Luxembourg hotel in Pais very much. The room was well appointed, modern in decor, very clean and very spacious in feel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although one front desk person recommended a restaurant to us, but did not check to make sure that the restaurant was open. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed on Mondays and we had to go elsewhere. The location is very convenient being just a short block away from the gardens and a RER station. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was really surprise with the size of the room. Usually in hotels in Paris the size of room equals to the size of bed. In this hotel rooms are very comfortable and big. I also enjoyed the bed in my room - very comfortable, for 3* hotel it is really impressive. The location is good also. So would definitely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulaniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of January in 2 Classic Double rooms. The hotel is 2 minutes from the Luxembourg RER station which has a direct line to CDG airport. The train trip didn't take too long but the trains are old and not too clean and ours became so packed we started panicking about being able to get off at our stop. Shouldn't be a problem for most folk but if you are travelling with young children or a lot of baggage I would take a taxi.
The location of the hotel is great. Literally 2 minutes to the Luxembourg Gardens which are beautiful even in winter, 5 to the Pantheon and an easy and interesting 20 or so minute walk to Notre Dame and The Seine. Plus the local RER station gives you easy access to the Metro and all the sights of Paris. Heaps of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes, and a 7-11 type store across the road along with a lovely patisserie.
The rooms were small but obviously recently decorated and really quite comfortable with good beds and reasonable bathrooms. There was good free wifi and we loved opening the double window shutters to see the chocolaterie, patisserie, flower shop and bars across the road which just seemed so...... French. As people have said the lift is tiny. One person and a bag can only just squeeze in at best. If you are at all claustrophobic you might need to take the stairs.
We found the service in the hotel to be very average. At reception they came across as reluctantly helpful at best and there was no great attention to detail when it came to cleanliness. In both ours and our childrens bathrooms there was a fair amount of obvious long black hairs stuck to the wall, presumable blown off when people were drying their hair, which remained throughout our stay (we are all fair so they were not ours).
Overall we had mixed feeling about the Elysa. My kids were not keen at all but my wife and I were charmed by the surroundings and although there were some obvious shortcomings we enjoyed the hotel and would happily go back. We paid around $140/room/night through Booking.com which I think is good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 18Donald72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,086 of 1,800 in Paris
170 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#347 of 1,800 in Paris
574 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#356 of 1,800 in Paris
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,183 of 1,800 in Paris
256 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,484 of 1,800 in Paris
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysa Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Address: 6 rue Gay Lussac, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#538 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysa Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of the Latin Quarter beats just a short step away: the Luxemburg gardens, boulevard Saint-Michel, the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame and the Pantheon are all in the vicinity. Lovers of Old Paris who enjoy strolling through these streets steeped in history will appreciate the comfortable, typically Parisian setting of the Elysa-Luxembourg Hotel in the Latin Quarter. Sheltered from the bustle of the busiest thoroughfares, the Elysa-Luxembourg hotel combines the charm of a beautiful old stone building, the cosy interior of rooms decorated in contemporary style with the efficiency of modern facilities. Some of the thirty rooms offer a magnificent view over neighbouring rooftoops, the paths through the nearby Luxemburg gardens or even the Eiffel Tower. In this discretely refined setting, the atmosphere is decisively warm and the service resolutely attentive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysa Luxembourg Hotel
Elysa Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing