We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad view and small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #177 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill on Sea
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad view and small room”
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We have just returned from a trip to Paris and stayed in the Hotel Brighton, after reading the reviews on here we were shocked at the room we had been given. Our booking details stated that it was a superior twin room and when we got into the room it was a double bed. We were told that the room had been recently renovated and we could not disagree with that as everything looked very new. But the view from the window was awful out into a courtyard where it appeared that all the rubbish was dumped for the neighbourhood. On the second day we went down to breakfast to find that there was very little food, no plates to put food on and no clean tables. We asked for two coffees and after waiting 30 minutes we decided to give up and go to our room. I will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The view and lack of food and help from staff at breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a twin room with a view
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 18, 2016
Dear Janeeda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on tripadvisor. First of all I am sorry to hear that you have not experience our usual standard of service.

I do personally hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance to rectify the issues you have had during your latest visit to Paris. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Brighton Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    501
    121
    36
    19
See reviews for
437
786
79
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We booked this for a weekend dash by car to Paris. It is clean, friendly and central. There is underground parking nearby in the Place Vendôme. We had two triple rooms (210 and 213), in one of which we slept four, with cot. Both rooms had views of the Tuileries. Windows were double glazed to keep out sounds of the busy street below. Price was €255.00 each. We had a big flat-screen TV in 213. Bathroom was big and clean. Staff were friendly. Rooms on the opposite side of the hall seemed to be still under construction. Pretty touristy location but then...why are you in Paris? My only complaint was that the wireless was Meteor, which does not support BT OpenZone.

  • Liked — Location, helpful staff (encouraged in-room picnic)
  • Disliked — wireless not free
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank erichschlaikjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

I contacted Hotel Brighton after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and asked for a double jr suite with views of the Tuileries for our first trip to Paris. When we arrived I was absolutely thrilled with the room--I believe it was room 308. The room was an extremely large corner room (even by US standards) on the third floor with four small terraces (two facing the Tuileries with spectacular views of the Effiel Tower). The room had a nice sitting area and an extremely comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also quite large with a separate bathtub and shower and one wall of the bathroom featured large glass doors that opened to a small terrace off of the bathroom. The staff at the Brighton spoke English and were quite helpful to us. We were able to check into our room a bit early and were also able to check out late our last day. They also were quite useful with restaurant recommendations in the area. We enjoyed the Imperial (it is just down the street on Ru de Rivoli) as a great lunch place to sit on the terrace and watch people. We especially enjoyed the French onion soup--though while I would strongly recommend this place for a long leisurely lunch, I wouldn't recommend for breakfast (omlets weren't great and the entire breakfast was quite pricey at about 50 euro). We found the location of the hotel to be perfect for shopping in the area (many wonderful boutinques) and for walking to the Champs, Eiffel Tower, and Arc. We found a restaurant just past the Arc called La Grand Armee (on Ave De La Grand Armee) that we really enjoyed--a very large terrace that attracted Parisians rather than the tourist crowd. Food and service were exceptional.

Assuming one of the jr suites is available when we travel in the future, we will always return to the Hotel Brighton when we visit Paris.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
21 Thank Runner2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

Our family of 4 stayed in a junior suite last week and even though the running rate is EUR255(cheap even for Paris standard), we were charged EUR195 cos of slight broken window. The hotel is just renovated and everything is new and the hotel room has a very nice decor. Trileries Metro station is just across the road where you can get to everywhere and Lourve Musuem and Concorde is less than 50 m away. Rue St Honore is just behind the hotel. There are nice Japanese restaurant 2 blocks away which selll sashimi set for only 13 EUR, a great steal. Mcdonald is also nearby for the kids. I love the conceirge and even the porter, very nice and personable service. I will definitely spread the word that this is THE HOTEL to stay in Paris !

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My fiance' and I stayed at the Hotel Brighton from June 9th to June 14th and cannot say enough great things about it. We had a wonderful refurbished room (room 513) that had 2 small balconies, was bigger than the average french hotel room, had a stocked mini-bar/fridge, a desk, closets and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had marble countertops, a large tub/shower combo and was very clean (and was stocked with some great bath products). The decor of the room was very pretty. The view was simply amazing. It looked exactly like the pictures the previous reviewers had posted. When you looked out to your left you saw the Louvre, in front of you, Tuleries and Musee D'Orsay and to the right the Eiffel Tower (and everything in between). The staff was very helpful and friendly and helped us get reservations in restaurants. It's in such a great location that we walked everywhere. We did not get breakfast at the hotel (Why spend all that money for breakfast at the hotel when you can get a tasty croissant and cafe' for less than half the price at any of the neighborhood cafes). We will be telling all our friends and family about the Hotel Brighton and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FLACHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2006

The Hotel was in an excellent location. We had a balcony which had a great view of some of the sites. The only downside was that there was no bar available in the hotel. However it is near a lot of bars and restuarants so it wasn't a big issue.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed at the Brighton last week, May 20-24 and loved it. I did read the reviews carefully and made sure I had a renovated room, facing the Tulieries Garden. The room was great (room 211), location is terrific; view of the Eifel Tower, Louvre and Arc from the room. I would highly recommend this room to anyone visiting Paris. The Metro is a block away...great convenience and priced well for the area.

One caveat. The buffet breakfast is what I am used to getting included in the room price in Germany; some bread, yogurt, coffee, juice. Nothing special, $3 of food tops. 15 Euro per person at the hotel..expensive start to the day!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bwelsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#180 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#97 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#82 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#444 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#124 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing