We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #170 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We've lived in Paris, used Airbnb to find an apartment and used dozens of hotels there so we know the score - beautiful city, nice hotels but very small rooms and either zero of poor air conditioning. And often noisy.

We usually stay on the left bank but my wife fancied a change and after a fortnight sweltering in a non air conditioned apartment last year we decided aircon was a must, as was quiet,

Hotel Brighton exceeded our quite onerous expectations buy a good degree. The room was charming, with exposed beams and by Parisian standards it was large, certainly bigger than we expected. We chose a room overlooking the courtyard and that, combined with double glazing made it very quiet. The aircon worked perfectly and we had a cool, big, pleasant oasis right opposite the bustling Tuileries halfway between the Louvre and the place de la Concorde.

The staff were lovely and we received a big bowl of fruit plus half a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

We never eat breakfast in Paris hotels, we prefer finding cafes, but the bar was pleasant, the drinks reasonable and the Wi-Fi was good.

All in all an excellent 9 day stay. We'll probably return to the left bank on out next visit but will certainly stay here again next time we want to be on the right bank.

We took the second level of room (ie not the cheapest option) and it was worth it. Of course it wasn't cheap but it was good value, especially considering its position next to the Meurice and round the corner from the Ritz and the Crillon which cost 3 times as much.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveHallOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear SteeveHallOz,

Thank you very much for your great comment on tripadvisor !

I'm thrilled you enjoyed our stay so much, and our staff mesured up your expectations.

Indeed, our Superior rooms are large for Paris.
And our location is ideally central.

I sincerely look forward to welcome you a next time soon at the Hotel Brighton !

With my warmest regards, .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    507
    123
    36
    19
See reviews for
443
800
80
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Pomorskie, Poland
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location is excellent. We enjoyed a room with a view of the Tuilleries Gardens and Eiffel Tower, which was a wonderful feature of this hotel. It's proximity to central Paris and easy access to Louvre Palace and Latin Quarter is the primary reason we chose this hotel. The rooms were a little tired but the location and attentive staff more than made up for this small issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Donat P,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

I'm sincerely grateful you appreciated the view on the Tuileries garden and the Eiffel Tower from you room !

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again at the Hotel Brighton.

With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiego,california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

After numerous hours of research I chose this hotel based on other guests reviews. The reviewers that took the time to write had better experiences than I did. I was very disappointed by this hotel because it did not initially meet my needs despite that fact that I had booked and requested, both in writing and in face-to-face speaking, a room with twin beds but got a super small and freezing cold room with a double bed that was on the street level with a window looking out to see pedestrians and cars directly out my window. I was incredibly dismayed that after so much prevention they still managed to give my room to another guest while they upgraded my visiting friend to a suite. Why would they give two people staying for three nights such a lame room and upgrade one person, who was recommended by me to stay there for one night, a room that was 4 times bigger than her needs? There was no logic. The hotel staff "attempted" to fix the problem: They supplied an uncomfortable rollaway bed and offered a beverage as a gesture of apology. So while that was certainly gracious they should have offered a reduced price or put us in an upgraded room. That's common practice in hotel industry. They did not. We were able to move into a bigger twin bed room for the other nights of our stay but again the room temperature was like a freezer. On the plus side, you can see the Eiffel Tower in the distance but in front of you there is the street and the ugly amusement park rides with flashing neon lights. You can easily hear all of the cars honking. We had to use the blankets in the closet in August! It was like a youth hostel and my daughter was miserable. I was afraid to complain again so I said nothing. The elevator was near both of our rooms and you can easily hear that plus the traffic, the pedestrians and the amusement park in the garden across the street. On the other hand, you will certainly appreciate the central location of this hotel if your focus is on the museums and landmarks, such as the Louvre, d'Orsay, Orangerie and Eiffel Tower.

Room Tip: The lower floors are very noisy and will look at the street. Your requests don't necessarily ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yougetwhatyougive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to the Hotel Brighton.

I’m grateful you enjoyed the location closed to the museums, and I’ll be pleased to share with our staff your kind words about them.

I am sorry to read that your visit did not entirely meet your expectations.

I understand that as you requested to change room, you have been upgraded in a larger Deluxe room with the view on the Tuileries garden, with a note and a free drink at the bar to apologize.
I regret the lights of the summer amusement park in the Tuileries garden bothered you.

Concerning the temperature of the room, it’s indeed unusually cold for august so the air conditioned needs to be turned off.

Apparently your friend had the opportunity to upgrade in a Suite room as she was staying only one night and the hotel was fully booked.

Please accept our sincerest apologies and be assured I have followed up with the different teams in order to improve our service.

We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to give you entire satisfaction on your next stay.

I remain at your entire disposal for any assistance.

With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Enjoyed a five day midweek stay at the Brighton. Location, location, location!!! The best! The young staff was amazingly helpful. Their guidance helped me to investigate and discover their intoxicating city of Paris, which I finally returned to after more decades than I would care to mention. Be sure to take advantage of the relationship with 5 star Hotel Meurice just down the Rue de Rivoli from the Brighton. You won't regret the experience!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a small room facing the courtyard. No view, but so what!! Just walk out the door and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellenlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Ellenlewis,

Thank you so much for your great comment !

I'm trully thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were helpful and gave you good recomendations to disover of Paris.

Be sure I'll share your nice words with the team.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you a next time at the Hotel Brighton.

With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The Brighton was great, the staff amazing and helpful and what a location! It was within walking distance to all the main attractions in Paris!
Helps to have the better rooms and make sure you get a room with a view over the Tuileries Gardens (we could see the Lourve, the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Musee d'Orsay, Les Invalides and the Tuileries Gardens)!

Worth every cent! We had the best time in Paris!

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Nicolas S,

Thank you so much for your great comment !

I'm really thrilled you could make the most of your stay in Paris, and that you enjoyed so much the amazing view our rooms offer.

Our staff will always be very pleased to help you and to make your trip memorable.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you soon again !

With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the center of many places. Large room. Nice staff that were able to assist us with all of our needs. We did not eat there so unable to rate the food. Surrounded by many cafés/restaurants. Some shopping within walking distance as well.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Docraym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mrs Docraym,

I thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor.

I'm very pleased you enjoy your stay and that our staff was helpful and was able to fulfill your expactations.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you soon again !

With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights whilst in Paris. The location was excellent - walking distance from most things and quite literally next to the louvre! The area the hotel is in is also very nice and the park outside is beautiful!
Inside the staff were helpful and friendly, although a small elevator, the rooms are surprisingly big for Paris! The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was pretty much perfect for us. Room service was free and so nice, a continental breakfast be sent up to your room, or if you like, bacon and sausages etc were down stairs.
Overall excellent, even the wifi was good quality! If you look around you can get good prices for the hotel, so it's a definite recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLammas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear FLammas,

Thank you so much for your great comment !

I'm thrilled you enjoyed this much your stay in the Hotel Brighton and that all our services left nothing to be desired.

I will share your nice words with all the staff and I really hope to welcome you for your next visit in Paris!

With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#220 of 1,802 in Paris
747 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#103 of 1,802 in Paris
1,054 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#462 of 1,802 in Paris
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#123 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing