We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #184 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel Brighton is situated in a very busy location opposite the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens.
The standard room was very disappointing and definitely not up to usual 4* hotel standards we have experienced in Paris.
Bed was very hard with the most uncomfortable pillows.Bathroom was very dated with an old bath and behind toilet flush there was some very unpleasant looking thick grey substance.Not sure what this was?
Kettle in room was grubby and brown and needed a good clean.
Carpet in room was stained and needed replacing.Furnishings were of low quality and seemed to be done as cheaply as possible.
On a positive note breakfast was very good with a varied selection of pastries,yoghurts,cheeses and teas etc and service was efficient and attentive,although the breakfast room is very small and they definitely need more tables as there were queues each day.
Overall we felt the hotel room did not resemble the room shown on the hotel website and definitely should be refurbished and did not live up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Standard room was very poor and below standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillebinz, Marketing Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at the Hotel Brighton Paris on Trip Advisor.

We are really sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations as we sincerely do our best for our guests to spend a nice time at the Hotel Brighton. We have notified the points that you listed (kettle, toilet flush, carpet...) to the head housekeeper who already took care of it.

We hope that you will give our establishment another try during your next stay in Paris.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    496
    120
    35
    19
See reviews for
424
773
78
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What stood out about the Brighton was the staff. They were very helpful and knowledgeable. The location was also exceptional.

The room was adequate. No view but then I hadn't paid for one. Yes everything you'd want is there. But it was rather shabby chic. When the door was flung open you didn't think 'wow' how lovely. You thought 'well it's OK'. For the price they need some perking up. In fairness everything worked and it was quiet. The bathrooms though were clean and of a high standard.

The public room was a strange mixture of ornate marble pillars and 1950s seats. I did see a mouse (small) running across the room. Fine and comfortable but lacking that je ne sais quoi. Service was very slow although again very nice when they were around. The porters too were very helpful.

Yes I'd stay there again but not at peak prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandakirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillebinz, Marketing Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comment on the Hotel Brighton on Trip Avisor. It helps us understand our guest's expectations and improve our service.

We are glad that you loved our staff and location and I understand that your stay was fine. However, it is a pity that we did not managed to provide that « Whaou effect »that we all love to feel when staying in a 4 star hotel.

Maybe staying in a room with a view on the Louvre, the Tuileries Garden and the Eiffel Tower during your next stay would generate this « je ne sais quoi » that you missed this time ?!

We are looking forward welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Brighton Paris.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice, small quant hotel in Opera District looking over the Tuileries. We booked Room 408 which is an executive room with direct view over Tuileries. We had two kids(4 of us) and room was perfect! Views were insane. Dorect view of Eiffel Tower, Louvre, park, Orsay, etc. i can actually see the towers of Notre Dame.

This is definately high rent district so dress to impress or you will deflnately stick out. Local restaurants are amazing.

Skip the breakfast for 19 Euro's amd head
Out for spme pastries and coffee and save the bucks.

Staff is amazing and completely Happy to enjoy you "trying" to speak French but all speak English.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sportsbracer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our fourth time to stay at Hotel Brighton. Our room on the third floor was superb. I cannot imagine a better view from a hotel in Paris than the one we had from our balcony overlooking the rue de Rivoli. The Louvre is to the left, the Tuileries garden straight ahead, and the Eiffel tower to the right. The staff continues to be friendly and helpful and the breakfast, which was included in the rate was good.
We also enjoyed eating lunch at Angelina which is just a few steps away and also enjoyed L'Imperial which is on down the rue de Rivoli a couple of blocks away. The food at L'Imperial has been consistently good and at a good value, along with good service.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the rue de Rivoli. The views are wonderful from the rooms and small balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skytop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Brighton for two nights. The hotel is located just 2 minutes from the Place de la Concorde, and a 5 minute walk from the Louvre.

Our room was clean and spacious - a separate sitting room and bedroom is unexpected in a Parisian hotel! And even though we were on the street, the noise was remarkably quiet.

The staff was very friendly, calling a cab for us and recommending a florist within walking distance (and providing a vase for me!).

My only complaint is that our room was on the first level up, but our window was under the awning of the hotel - so no view of the Tuileries! But everything else was lovely, so I can't complain too much!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is beautiful, clean, and very comfortable, located within walking distance to the gardens, museums, shopping, and many great brasseries and pastry shops. The staff is warm and helpful - they arranged for our every need with a smile. Our two rooms were large and comfortable, each overlooking the gardens, the Louvre, and the Eiffel tower - breathtaking views - and although located on a busy street, we were never bothered by noise. Free wifi in the rooms worked perfectly and was an added bonus! Breakfast at the hotel was convenient and yummy - eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries, breads, yogurt, fruit - everything we needed. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely old hotel with excellent location across from Tuileries and down street from Louvre. Walk to opera, Galeries Layette and Au Printemp and many more sites. Across from Metro station. Staff most helpful and friendly. Large up to date room, bathrobe, slippers, double sink in bathroom. Small closet space(armoire). Coffee, tea, small refrig. My friend and I went to Paris to shop and visit the museums. Perfect place to stay. Breakfast at 19 euros good and worth the money. We chose room 401 no view, but good value. Will definitely choose this hotel for next trip to Paris!

Room Tip: 401 if you don't want view and want to save money. Quiet even though close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#180 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#77 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#452 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#130 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing