We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location and magnificent View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #167 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Location and magnificent View”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Truth be told I know Paris well and I keep coming back to Hotel Brighton. Why? Location and a magnificent view of the Louvre, Tuileries Gardens and the Eifel Tower. Having said that, one puts a precondition of getting a room with the said view. If you don't get a room with the said view, you don't have to stay at the Brighton. Also, besides your request for a room with the Tuileries Garden view, I'd recommend to ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor for a number of reasons. Namely, the view is better and there is less noise albeit the latter should not be a major concern. On the downside, rooms vary considerably so I would suggest to ask for a superior or executive room. The advertised renovation is not total and bathroom amenities are minimal (no shampoo or conditioner). The style is classic, but not too "frumpy". The beds are large and very comfortable. WiFi is free in the rooms, but apparently not all rooms have good reception. During my stay, I saw at least 3 guests on the corridors striving to get a good signal. To be fair though, my room had acceptable signal albeit not everywhere. Breakfast is decent and the service is overall good. Is this the best hotel in Paris? No. Is it the coolest hotel in Paris? Far from it, but is has one of the best locations and views of the city. An alternative option is to choose the Meurice which is located a few meters down the road, but it will set you back quite a few hundred dollars more per night (I believe it must be triple the price). So, if you are on a budget (to avoid misunderstandings, this is not a cheap hotel), as a conclusion, I'd strongly recommend the Hotel Brighton provided that you get a room with a Tuileries Garden view, and do not expect a cool, modern design hotel (eg Philip Stark), or the grandeur of a Leading Hotel of the World.

Room Tip: Executive room on the 3rd or 4th floor with a view of the Tuileries Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnx16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillebinz, Marketing Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MNX16,

Thank you very much for your constructive review of the Hotel Brighton Paris.

I hope you will not mind if I clarify some points you mention. The rooms with views of the Eiffel Tower and the Tuileries Garden are the Deluxe and Executive rooms. Our Superior rooms are large but they do not offer the views of the garden. In addition, please note that our team always does its best to answer our guests’ wishes but we cannot ensure a specific floor during the booking.

Regarding problems to get the WIFI signal, please note that we are aware of it and currently working on the WIFI network. It will be seriously improved within the 2 next months for all our guests to get an efficient and strong signal.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon at the Hotel Brighton Paris.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    512
    126
    36
    19
See reviews for
455
807
82
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington, d.c.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Across the street from the Louvre, a few blocks from shopping; kind concierge who looked out for a guest with mobility issues by offering a wheelchair to use outside of the hotel; nice, comfortable furnishings.

Room Tip: Higher levels have better view of Effiel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petiteworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Brighton last weekend for my wife's 50th Birthday celebrations. We found the Hotel very clean and serviced by very friendly staff - a special mention to the excellent receptionist Mohammed, many thanks - and is situated in a very convenient central Paris location.

Room Tip: Try and ask for room 001. A floor in the Hotel to yourself and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penderhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friend chose this hotel as she was taking her sister to Paris for the first time. The location is great for a first vist as all the major sites are pretty much with in walking distance or a couple of hops on the underground. The area is a little too touristy for my taste. On arrival Matteo who was italian was super nice and very welcoming. The rooms are classic with out being totally frumpy but this is not what I would call a cool hotel. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was quiet for such a central location. I would be careful with rooms overlooking the park as I think they would be quite noisy. The bathroom had a nice big bath but the I would have expected more from the toiletry selection in a Paris hotel (no hair conditioner, no body lotion). If you want internet in your room this is not the hotel for you the wireless strength is ok in the lobby but I could never get it to work in the room. On departure be careful about ordering a taxi from reception. This time after waiting over half an hour for the hotel taxi when I was told it would be 15 mins I was able to get a taxi on the street in 2 mins. Obviously the taxi that was called was getting regular business from the hotel but it is not much good if he does not turn up and I nearly missed my flight. This incident really disapointed me and gave me a sour taste after what would have been a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redredrose666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent a long weekend in Paris and he picked Hotel Brighton based on the reviews. It was just what we needed! The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and it was extremely quiet! We were on the 5th floor over looking the Louvre and Eiffel Tower! The breakfast was a bit pricey at £32 for some bread, coffee, OJ and cereal...that is my only complaint! Next time we will go to a cafe for breakfast! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade for a room looking over the gardens! Bring your own toiletries and hair dryer if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UNC2LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Brighton for a week in March at the end of fashion week. Location is good and wanted to stay in a different area. Enjoyed walking on the streets behind the hotel and it was a decent walk to Opera Garnier where we caught an English speaking tour.
Asked if there was a larger room than listed on their website. Room had 2 sinks, shower, bathtub....and a toilet and 3rd sink were in another little room. This worked out well. There was period furniture in our room and a view of the ET. Big room and clean, with bathrobes.
The blow dryer isn't one a woman would want to use (just a hose blowing hot air) so I asked housekeeping if she could find me a decent one, and she did thank goodness, as the blow dryer was nothing more than a hose on the wall.....but there was no outlet in the bathroom for the new hair blower....so had to use an outlet in the room itself...but then there was no mirror!!!
Not convenient!
Yes, as one reviewer noted the toiletries are not good either, rather poor quality..so ladies bring your own.
The coffee at breakfast was good and for the most part the breakfasts were good also, but because we stayed there a week they became a bit boring. The scrambled eggs should be a bit fresher and replaced more often. All and all not bad.
We were able to buy our museum pass from the front desk which was convenient too.
Caught the bus to the Vannes flea market in the 14th and front desk was helpful with directions, and where to catch the bus.
If you turn right out the front door there is a very good English WH Smith bookstore a couple of blocks down.
There are some dated areas of this hotel...hall carpets for example, but when it came right down to it we had a decent stay in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good Location within walking distance to Louvre and O'rsey. Under staffed. No concierge, one person at the front desk acts as receptionist and concierge. Bed was hard. No soap in bathroom and no conditioner in shower. They have liquid soap bottle that they said it is a hand soap and shampoo and body gel in one. I requested a bar of soap they brought me one but there was no conditioner. Blow dryer very week, thank God I brought mine. The room was big and clean and we had 2 bath robs in the shower. In American standards this hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#227 of 1,801 in Paris
757 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#101 of 1,801 in Paris
1,068 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#91 of 1,801 in Paris
665 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#417 of 1,801 in Paris
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#121 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing