We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #150 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel Brighton made our stay in Paree so much easier! The desk was helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, the location fabulous (right next door to Angelina's for pastries and hot chocolate). The hotel is one of the oldest in Paris and has been renovated. The breakfasts were very good-large buffet every morning with excellent breads, meats, cereal, yoghurt, juices, fruit, coffee, tea, etc. Not enough plugs in the bathroom were my only complaint. There was a hair dryer but no plug for a curling iron ladies other than in the bedroom. Overall a pleasant experience and I would go back. We just got back two days ago and were there for a week.

Room Tip: We had rooms that were considered Classique-you could go up a class and be more comfortable with roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1WorldTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and really don't have any complaints.

Full points on the location. It is outstanding, close to the museums, good restaurants and great shopping but far enough from the crowds buying souvenirs on the shops on Rue de Rivoli. The fact that the Brighton is practically across from a subway stop is an added bonus.

Full points on the room. It seemed recently renovated, the bathroom was very spacious (as big as any 5 star hotel). Everything worked well. Free wi-fi. Quiet, well appointed. Amenities, more or less what you would expect in a 4 star.

The service is where something is missing. Certainly polite at reception but basically it really felt as though were were just renting a room and passing through. No feeling of any personal service. No help with the luggage in or out, no one to help hail cabs - it rained for 4 days. It is not a reason not to stay here because most other hotels in this price range, would be the same.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park cost more but are very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Brighton. The room was small but nicely appointed. The staff was helpful and friendly. We love to walk and we especially love to stroll in Paris. The hotel was perfectly located. We were at the Brighton two days....I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TineMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had our 10th anniversary in this hotel and could not have been happier - thank you for the champagne and fruit plate to help us celebrate! It is not a full service hotel but we did not need all of that. They had a breakfast room of a morning and we would have eaten out of a night and would never have even looked for a swimming pool or other such facilities. The location and the room was terrific. We had an Executive Room with a fabulous view across the Tuilleries and the view of the Eiffel Tower was fantastic. Slightly more expensive room type due to availability but it was worth it for the additional space and the view. I had wanted to make sure we had a great view to make the most of the visit and spent hours combing the internet. If I can save you the trouble just go ahead and book this property. I could not help myself at night and would stay up and watch the twinkling lights of the Tower over and over again! We stayed 6 nights and the location was great to come back to of an afternoon before heading back out. The staff were lovely and dealt with things quickly. We discovered they had a hot water problem late one afternoon and they moved heaven and earth to get things fixed by calling in plumbers urgently. I also needed a doctor during my visit and they arranged that quickly. The team is small so it was nice to be greeted and chat to them with a cetain level of continuity.

Room Tip: Ask for the view when you book but if that is not essential or available this is still a great locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The views from our room were breathtaking .Overlook paris at night!. Position, position, position, located opposite the Tuileries Gardens, a five minute walk to the Louvre, a ten minute walk to the Opera Garnier (ballet only), a fifteen minute walk to the Biennale des Antiques 2012 au Grand Palais. Avoid arriving when everyone else does because the lifts are small and the concierge struggles to cope with unrealistic demands of guests from north america. This is Paris not New York! A little english speaking paradise (you will find copies of the Economist in the lounge). Good value for money. The room was large with full length windows that could be left open to allow fresh air in. The bath was a bonus.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and we were not disappointed. I had booked well in advance to ensure we had a room with a vue & wow what a view. We had a very large corner room which was superb, large bathroom and a central hall. We did seem to have a rather unpleasent odour in this hallway, which they did try to resolve without success. Fortunately it did not marr our stay in anyway.
I can also say that it is one of the quietest hotels i have stayed in(however my daughter who had a room on the 5th floor was not happy with the noise from the cleaners who had a store room by their room!)
The breakfast room is small but was never very busy while we were there. The staff were always very pleasant and the choice of food very good although they do need to improve on the coffee!
The location is so central to some of the most famous Parisien sites, metro & a good choice of restaurants (The Café Marly was superb).
For us it was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Hotel Brighton is directly across from the Tuileries Gardens. It is a short walk to the Louvre Museum and Place de la Concorde. There is a Metro stop literally a block and half away which we used extensively during our stay. The Hotel has five different categories of rooms ranging from "Classic" to "Executive" to Suites with room rates ranging from 159 to 500 euros and up. When we travel we only use the room to shower and sleep so we went with the less expensive Classic room. The higher priced rooms come with views of the gardens and the Eiffel Tower. If this is important to you and/or you plan to spend a lot of time in the room then it may be worth the extra money. Our room featured a queen size bed with two night stands, a large wardrobe cabinet and two rather spartan desks and chairs. We found the lighting in the room to be on the dim side. The room itself is spacious by European standards. It does have a very nice bathroom with double sinks and a large bath tub. The latter features a hand held shower which you can clip on a pole. The water pressure was low at times but this is not terribly unusual in Europe.
What distinguishes this hotel is the absolutely wonderful customer service by the staff. They all speak English and tolerated my broken French. The offered suggestions, arranged taxis and assisted with the lobby computer. They are the reason why I would stay with them again.
If you are looking for a very nice hotel with nice to outstanding rooms ($$-$$$$) in the middle of all the tourist sites and with an outstanding staff, this is your hotel!

Room Tip: They serve a great breakfast for 19 euros which may sound like a lot until you realize that they cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gables79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Regina Louvre
Hotel Regina Louvre
#88 of 1,809 in Paris
1,150 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#488 of 1,809 in Paris
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#23 of 1,809 in Paris
680 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#219 of 1,809 in Paris
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#112 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $227 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing