We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #164 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Brighton. Fortunately, we were able to stay in room 308, a large room with two small balconies overlooking the Tuileries gardens, the Eiffel tower, and the Louvre. The bathroom was spacious with a separate tub, shower, and two sinks.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We were especially impressed with Cynthia, Bernard, and Gerhard. We also appreciated the complimentary copies of the International Herald Tribune. As I have read reviews of other hotels in Paris and as we talked with other tourists in Paris and heard their stories about broken toilet seats, no hot water, mysterioius annoying noises, etc., I was all the more grateful for Hotel Brighton. It was a wonderful place to stay.
We also enjoyed the Angelina restaurant for lunch which is just a block away. It was a classy place with reasonable prices, and we liked L'Imperial which was also just a short walk up the Rue de Rivoli and seemed a cut above some of the other places on the street. Our experience at these two places was far better than at Cafe de Flore on the Left Bank which turned out to be a disappointment.
Another plus of the Hotel Brighton was that Paris Vision and and Gray Line (Cityrama) are just a few doors away which made it convenient for some excursions we wanted to take.

Helpful?
3 Thank Skytop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    516
    127
    36
    19
See reviews for
461
817
82
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

This was a wonderful Hotel on the Right Bank. The rooms and bathrooms had been recently remodeled and were quite comfortable. This was a girlfriend trip, and the location was so convenient and felt quite safe. We were just down from the Hotel Meurice, paid probably a fifth of the price, and still had the same fabulous location. The only thing that I would say that the Hotel is lacking is a good concierge. We were looking for restaurant recommendations and they didn't really have anything that we liked. We did however go to the Westin, and their Concierge were extremly helpful and had wonderful recommendations. Our very favorite was Aux Lyonnaise. Try the pear souffle.... to die for.
We had an unbelievabley great time and would go back tomorrow.

Helpful?
2 Thank zuzu2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Fabulous location. Does not get better than this. The Louvre to your left, the Tuileries gardens bang in front of you and the sparkling Eiffel tower to your right. Rue Saint Honore and the Vendome is only 2 minutes away. 5 minutes walking to the Opera.

Very romantic. Our room had been recently renovated and was spotlessly clean. We loved talking to the smiling and sweet Jean Luc the concierge/breakfast server/ front desk.

You would need an earplug to stay in this hotel since it is on one of the busiest roads in Paris, but that is how you get the views. We always bring earplugs on holidays (for the airplanes) so this was not a problem for us. Besides, how many hotels in Paris are that quiet anyway? Come here and reserve the Tuileries rooms and you will not be disappointed. A third of what you'd pay at the Meurice hotel a few steps away. (The lunch at the Le Jardin d'Hiver is magnificent by the way@the Meurice)

  • Liked — Views views views
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kauailover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This hotel is in a fantastic location close to all the shops and major tourist attractions, it is clean and of a high standard and we found the staff very friendly. The buffet breakfast was excellent and was served until 11 AM which means you aren't in a rush to get up in the morning if you don't want to.

We couldn't fault it at all and wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower could have been better
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MiloRubix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAHAMAS
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Spent 3 nights with wife and 2 young children and had a great trip. As mentioned by all reviewers the location is perfect. We booked a suit with view but as the room was on the first floor there really was no view which, as this was my wife's first trip to Paris was a big disapointment. The hotel were willing to move us but the alternative room was only available for one night. We found the staff helpful and friendly but housekeeping was poor. One day we noticed that dirty towels had been hung back up in the bathroom (I just collected new ones from reception). We did not eat in hotel and found area restaurants very good although the ones on the Rue De Rivoli obviously price according to their location but we were never 'ripped of', at least I didn't notice if we were.

Paris really is incredible and I would recommend that all visitors don't sweat the small stuff and just savour one of the world's great cities. On our last day we walked back from Left Bank and bumped into Karl Lagerfeld directing a fashion shoot on the bridge. There was only a few people watching and nobody seemed too bothered (nobody except my wife that is). It was a perfect end to our trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cl
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This hotel couldn't have a better location and oh so Paris! You are almost on top of the Louvre and over look the gardens. Near the best shops, restaurants and the Metro (but no need to use that!).

We wandered around the best part of Paris and felt like we were right in the middle of it all. Double glazing stops any noise. The furnishings are extravagant and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge as was the room.

Friendly staff. Would not bother with breakfast as it is nice to wander to a cafe and get a coffee etc which will be far cheaper.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NZder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We booked this hotel because of the location (opposite the Jardine des Tuileries and close to the Champs Elysees) and also we had read good reviews on Tripadviser. Big mistake.

Whilst the location was fabulous, right opposite the Gardens and only about 15 minutes walk to the start of the Champs Elysees, Arc de Tromphe and the shopping area (Boulevard Haussmann - were all in walking distance)say we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Upon arrival no one assisted us with our luggage, the desk clerk was surley and the foyer had no atmosphere at all in fact it was a desk to the right of the dining room.

The room was neat and tidy but the furniture was old and not in a good way. The bathroom however, had been remodelled and was quite good. The positive was that we had a balcony and could see the Eiffel Tower from our room. Also double glazing of windows made the noise from the traffice non existant.

The safe did not work and was repaired once we advised them. We were not shown how to use the air conditioning and subsequently froze on one ocassion until someone came up and told us how to use it.

We did not eat at the hotel as the dining room looked very old and tired. The staff were disinterested and to be honest we couldn't wait to get out of there.

One other point we bought a 5 euro internet card and then discovered after we had paid our bill that we had been billed for this card when we had paid cash (our mistake for not checking the bill) but just another issues.

Tip: Dont go across the road to the Tuileries Gardens for lunch, big rip off in cost, or if you do ensure you say exactly what size coke you want we were charged a ridiculous amount of money for lunch which was inedible, however, the sun was shining and the gardens were great.

This is a great spot location wise just don't stay at this hotel, maybe try the Hotel Regina up the road or one of the others. While we were there the Govevenor of California, the "Terminator" himself was staying a few hotels away - so that made our day seeing him.

When I say the Arc de Triomphe, Boulevard Haussman for shopping are within walking distance it means approx 20-30 minutes walking in flat shoes.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, October 18, 2016
Dear Sheryll,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on tripadvisor. First of all I am sorry to hear that you have not experience our usual standard of service.

I do personally hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance to rectify the issues you have had during your latest visit to Paris. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Brighton Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#98 of 1,800 in Paris
1,082 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#220 of 1,800 in Paris
768 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#474 of 1,800 in Paris
3,619 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#91 of 1,800 in Paris
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing