We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel with a LOCATION not to be beat!”
Review of Bel Ami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bel Ami Hotel
Ranked #176 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A small hotel with a LOCATION not to be beat!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This small but rather comfortable 5 star hotel is located right off the Boulevard St. Germain around the corner from the Cathedral St. Germain and within a stones throw of Le cafe deux Magots and the Cafe Flore. If these spots do not register one is not a true lover of authentic and historic Paris. Next door, Le petite zinq is a very good restaurant , although not ranked as one of Paris' best. The Metro station is within a five minute walk and alows access to all of Paris. This hostoric area is home to Le Sorbonne and what used to be Mom and Pop quaint shops have given way to designer shops like Dior, Vesache, and other high fashion brands.
You will be close to the Louvre, the Musee Dorse and Notre Dame. The smells and sounds will take you back to Paris and it's romance anytime you think of them. You owe it to your Paris self not to miss this location. If you need to spend a little less but seek the same location, the hotel Boneparte a 36 Rue Bonepart will fill the bill. It is right around the corner from Rue Benoit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the building that can see the Cathedral and square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    320
    87
    29
    21
See reviews for
195
505
42
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We loved this hotel.
The location was close to Notre Dame, and other attractions.
Very easy to work out this location.
A complete, delicious breakfast was included.
The room was large for Europe and the bath was great.
Free wi-fi
We could not have asked for better,

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the street but the street is quiet and had no trouble sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Bel-Ami while visiting Paris with some friends. The rooms were cozy and the bathroom was a bit small but it was great for two adults. The room was clean the bar was quick. It was very convenient to a lot of great parts of Paris. I also liked that wifi was included and easy to use. The staff is very friendly.
I would definitely stay here again when I go back to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

A friend and I decided to visit Paris for the first time and another friend had reccomended Hotel Bel Ami. It was the perfect pick for us. Aside from being in a great, central location, it is a lovely place to stay. In particular, the staff was exceptional both before and during the trip. I have already reccomended Hotel Bel Ami to other friends who are planning to visit Paris, and I definitely would stay there again. Thanks to Hotel Bel Ami for making our stay so lovely!

d. marshall

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedoesdctoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We arrived at the Bel Ami at midnight on the 30 th December and were greeted by the friendly staff who showed us to our superior rooms .
What a dreamy week celebrating new years eve wandering the streets of Paris and finding jazz clubs
Yet again the staff at the Bel Ami were superb. The concierge staff are incredibly helpful and the bell staff are always greeting us with smiles.
The rooms are excellent and the location is spectacular, just off saint Germaine de pres and rue Jacob also around the corner from the
metro
This one of many visits to the Bel Ami and hopefully there will be many more to come.
Thank you for a magical week.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevercominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The rooms are TINY but clean and the decor is lovely and modern. The breakfast is lovely. And you cannot possibly beat the location, steps away from St. Germain and the two most famous cafes - Cafe de Flore and Deux Magots. But, do not plan to spend any time in your room - it's simply a clean, modern place to sleep. The bathrooms are so small you can touch the walls, but again they are clean and well decorated. My only major complaint is that the carpets really need to be replaced or cleaned - there is visible dirt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My biggest complaint about this place is that the rooms are really small, at least the one I stayed in. By small I mean you will be hard pressed to walk around your bed without walking sideways, really small. The lighting in the room is also very dim which makes it a bit annoying. The bathroom sink is also small and the shower fitting needed maintenance. The water pressure is also quite low, even though I was in the second floor. Still an OK hotel with comfy beds, free internet, and friendly staff, but I will probably try to stay in a different hotel next time I'm in Paris. Even though it is supposedly a 4-star hotel, I would say it is more like a 3 spruced-up 3-star hotel, say, 3 ½ stars.

Room Tip: Seems that the higher floors have better quality rooms. Avoid the first floot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InOrbit_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#96 of 1,801 in Paris
642 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#76 of 1,801 in Paris
656 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#154 of 1,801 in Paris
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#91 of 1,801 in Paris
931 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#83 of 1,801 in Paris
755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#389 of 1,801 in Paris
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Ami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Ami Hotel

Property: Bel Ami Hotel
Address: 7 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Paris
#69 Family Hotel in Paris
#127 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#195 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#215 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bel Ami Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Ami, member of Design Hotels, ideally located between the Café de Flore and Deux Magots. Its heart beats in rhythm with Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms and Suites casual chic, Spa Esthederm and trendy bar. You will recognize the spirit of a large parisian apartment that belong to a design and art lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Ami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Ami Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing