We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bel-Ami”
Review of Bel Ami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bel Ami Hotel
Ranked #176 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Bel-Ami”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

A great find in great location -- Saint Germain des Pres. Modern, nice decor. Decent sized room. Friendly helpful staff in lobby. I've stayed on two separate trips and would return again.
Good for couples or singles travelling on their own.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    320
    87
    29
    21
See reviews for
195
505
42
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great location in a very romantic area in Paris.
We did enjoy everything in the Hotel as soon as we crossed the door : Concierge, front desk, room service. We loved the decoration of the Suite, especially the pictures of Brigitte Bardot.
The breakfast was amazing and the staff very professional. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillaumeRooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

After years( too many ) of posh right bank hotels we picked the BEL AMI for our family vacation. The location was perfect .- one block from st. germain and the exciting shops and cafes of the left bank. The front desk and the concierges were great , helping us in so many ways with a smile. NO attitude. A small gym and sauna and a very nice room for breakfast completed the lobby area. The rooms, on the smallish side, were quiet, very well furnished.and perfect for our needs. The rates were good for Paris and we departed feeling years younger and very Parisian.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

my wife and I stayed in this fabulous hotel at the end of June 2011 for 5 nights. The hotel is well located in the St Germain district of Paris. Its a pretty upmarket area full of stylish shops, restaurants, cafes and boutiques. The hotel is on Rue de Benoit which is a narrow little street of boulevard St Germain. It is a small boutique type hotel with restaurant bar etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms though smallish were well presented and cleaned daily. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was very good each morning with lots of choice from the buffet.We never had dinner in the hotel, so cant comment about that. Restaurant and bar staff were always friendly and polite and could not do enough for you. We ate out each evening as there is so much choice in the surrounding area its difficult to choose where to go and also difficult to get a table. The concierges were extremely helpful especially Alexandre who was able to advise on best places to go and tips on best ways to see the sites and get around Paris. Having stayed in hotels in different parts of the world we couldnt really fault this hotel: its as it says on the tin! If you want a large plush hotel with a large expansive foyer where you can sit and people watch and spend most of your time in and around the hotel then this is not the place for you. But if you want to enjoy this beautiful city and get out and around and base yourself in a nice and central location where you can come back to after a hard days sightseeing or shopping for a drink or snack, before sliding up to bed: then book into the Bel Ami.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My friend planned a birthday celebration with 15 of his friends to join him in Paris (from the USA). He began planning with the Bel Ami 3 months before and reserved 5 rooms for everyone. He asked if they could upgrade him for booking all the rooms to a deluxe room (from Superior) and they said if they are available at check-in they would. Every hotel he negotiated with offered a free upgrade, so it was a bit surprising for them to say if available because this was for August 3rd, which is dead quiet in Paris. Upon checking in, he asked about the upgrade. After conferring, they came back to offer him the deluxe room at 100 Euro more per night? He was a bit shocked they were charging for the room because they said if there was availability they would upgrade free of charge. Now they want 100 Euro per night? Their response was they only had 1 more deluxe left and the hotel was busy. So he was left to pay 100 Euro more per night even though they promised to upgrade for free if one was available. I mean the least they could do was upgrade someone in August for booking 5 rooms, right? NO. Later that evening my friend came down to the front desk and in a general conversation asked the agent a couple of questions including how the hotel was doing, etc. The agent said the hotel was only at 30 or 40%. He asked if they had deluxe rooms available and to his surprise the answer was YES! Unbelievably, they told him earlier that day he was taking the last deluxe room, but suddenly they had others? He was pretty upset. Management clearly charged him even though they had the availability. I think this is especially greedy.

When we got to the hotel, one of our other friends was checking into room 311. If you get this room, refuse it. The walls and paint were falling onto the floor, the carpeting was filthy and they were told they were getting twin beds and this bed was a double. Again, the hotel is at 30% and they get this room? What kind of hotel is this? They were then moved to room 115, which sits in a cove next to room 114. The first night they were in the room the guests in 114 were screaming at each other at midnight and didn't stop. They called down to front desk to tell them. The guests left for an hour or so but came back and made more noise. They didn't want to make a big deal of the noise the next morning because it was our friends 40th birthday and the large group was going on a tour. Management never offered to move my friends or relocate the other guests. The noise went on all weekend and finally on Saturday they said something to front desk again. The hotel offered to move them but they were all settled in and leaving next morning so they said it was not a good idea. Why didn't they relocated the noisy guests in 114 instead? Later that day one of the front desk agents approached my friend and said they had spoken to hotel manager (Emilie) and "she didn't want to do anything for them"???? There appeared to be a slight translation error on the front desk agent's part, but still it should have never come out like that. Everyone could not believe they were talked to like that.

Our friend who hosted complained about the 100 Euro charge on checkout and the way his guests were handled with the noisy room. Management offered nothing in compensation, then they wrote an email apologizing and still defended charging the 100 Euro per night. They still have not returned the 100 Euro charge per night (6 nights) as a good gesture.

Oh I forgot, on top of this, another guests was charged $76 usd for washing a baby shirt and pants when the hotel offered to do it and indicated no charge.

The Bel Ami has a great location and the staff are nice, but management is another story. How do you charge 100 Euro to someone for an upgrade when you promised to move up for free and hotel is empty? Greedy. They don't care about people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I arranged to stay here for our wedding anniversary and we were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is centrally situated with good transport links and within a few hundred yards of the Seine, with The Louvre then adjacent on the opposite bank. Other Parisian landmarks are also easily accessible by foot or Metro.
The Hotel itself is well furnished with a good range of services and excellent "petite dejeuners". Not surprisingly however, it is the Staff who are the most important ingredient and in this respect we received superb treatment. They were welcoming, friendly, helpful and yet also very professional. Whilst they are all a credit to the Hotel, special mention has to be made for Elodie and Emily.
Thanks to all who made our stay in Paris so special...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We can't fault the hotel at all! Fantastic location for everything, the cafes, bars, boutique clothes shops etc. It's in the centre of the very stunning Saint Germain
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying the hotel. The venue was beautiful and the staff were fantastic, they made our stay very enjoyable. Everything was efficient and nothing ever seemed too much bother to sort out, making the stay all the more relaxing!
We are intending to go back in November because we loved it that much! xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#96 of 1,801 in Paris
642 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#76 of 1,801 in Paris
656 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#154 of 1,801 in Paris
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#91 of 1,801 in Paris
931 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#83 of 1,801 in Paris
755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#389 of 1,801 in Paris
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Ami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Ami Hotel

Property: Bel Ami Hotel
Address: 7 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Paris
#69 Family Hotel in Paris
#127 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#195 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#215 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bel Ami Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Ami, member of Design Hotels, ideally located between the Café de Flore and Deux Magots. Its heart beats in rhythm with Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms and Suites casual chic, Spa Esthederm and trendy bar. You will recognize the spirit of a large parisian apartment that belong to a design and art lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Ami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Ami Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing