We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Paris Hotel”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #308 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This boutique hotel in Montmartre is first rate. Its in a busy neighborhood, but we stayed in two different rooms and each was quiet. The staff is extraordinarily helpful and pleasant, and helped us with directions, recommendations, etc. They serve a huge breakfast with unlimited amounts of food and excellent coffee.

Room Tip: The 8th floor room with the view of the Eiffel tower is indeed lovely. Rooms on the east side, off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooeyportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear zooeyportland,

Thank you for your lovely review.
We will be happy to see you again on your next trip to Paris.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights. We paid 60 euros to upgrade our room to one on the top floor with a view of the Eiffel Tower, and I highly recommend doing the same if you are travelling during the summer time. The room itself was moderately sized and clean, and the bed was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was a decent size but the shower head was awkward and the lack of shower screen meant that water went all over the bathroom floor.

The location is perfect if you don't mind a bit of noise and seediness. About five minutes east of the hotel is a lovely neighbourhood with authentic French restaurants, bars and boutiques. The breakfast was fairly standard for a hotel with a good selection of food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear tarapig,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is true that the rooms with view are worth the supplement. Not only do you see the Eiffel Tower but you also see the Invalides and the Grand Palais and the famous Paris Rooftops.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Me and my partner just come back from 2 nights in this hotel...couldnt have been more perfect!! the staff are lovely and always willing to help and direct you around Paris as we have never been here before. Breakfast in the hotel was lovely! would recommend you try and eat as much as you can. the location is perfect and like all the other reviews the sex shops completely adds to it...no one bothers you. With the beautiful Montmatre up the road you feel like your in a different city. Eiffel tower is not far away at all we paid £15 in a taxi as it was midnight and we didnt know that the metro actually runs up until 1am, and its always busy so very safe. Not one complaint about this hotel, the rooms are beautiful and clean! Wish we could have stayed longer. I would definitely come back to this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 7, no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Hollie S,

We are so happy to have helped make your trip to Paris a special one.
Do not hesitate to contact us on for your next trip.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel was great, room had the most amazing bed, it was very clean, staff were polite, all the attractions were near by. There was no noise whatsoever in the room, it had the most amazing shower, a TV and WI - FI.I would definitely recommend it and go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1979girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear 1979girl,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for you next stay in Paris!

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in May for a trip to Paris combining sight seeing with a few days at the French Open. We flew into Charles de Gaulle and found the journey to the hotel very easy, just follow the signs for trains to Paris and catch the RER B train to Gare du Nord station. Then it is a quick walk through the station to transfer to the Metro to catch line 2 at La Chapelle which will take you straight to Blanche which is right opposite the hotel, just cross the road and walk a few hundred metres, it is in the opposite direction from the Moulin Rouge. The doors are quite plain and could be easily missed but if you look up you will see a sign for the hotel. Place du Clichy and Pigalle metro stations are also within easy walking distance.

We thought the hotel itself was great, very clean and we liked the room. I imagine the rooms on the lower floors could be quite noisy as we still heard some noise from the street below and we were on the 7th floor. To be honest we didn't really mind the noise, it is to be expected when staying in a busy city. The breakfast each morning was great with a good selection of breads, pain au chocolat, fruit, eggs, cold meat, cereals etc. We thought it was good that the breakfast was on till 10.30am as we don't like to get up too early everyday when on holiday! Staff were polite and spoke very good english, great as our French is pretty pitiful!

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, it is an easy metro ride to pretty much anywhere in the city and we found the five day metro passes very good value for money. It is also perfectly placed for exploring Montmarte which we really liked. After reading a few reviews I can't stress enough that the area is absolutely fine, please ignore reviews that say anything negative about it. We were never bothered by anyone and never felt unsafe. It is very near the Moulin Rouge and there are quite a few sex shops and lap dancing bars around the hotel but just walk past them and it is no problem. We thought the area was great and it was pretty special to come out of the metro on arriving at Blanche to look up and see the iconic windmill of the Moulin Rouge.

Overall a great stay and we would not hesitate to recommend, will certainly rebook when we visit Paris again.

Room Tip: Would choose a room on a higher floor if you can. The breakfast room is on the first floor so I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Kirstin M,
Thank you for this lovely review and for the details about the location. Once you know the neighbourhood you realise that it is one of the best parts of Paris!

We will be happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Perfect hotel. Rooms were big and bright and very clean. The staff were all lovely with great English. They were happy to recommend restaurants too. The hotel was near two subway stations so it was very easy to access all attractions. I would definitely stay hear again and will recommend to friends!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank 2013rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear 2013rl,

Thank you so much for the recomendation!

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in this boutique hotel first week of May .Perfect location for Paris sightseeing . Very clean and comfortable . Special thanks to staff , especially Annelise and Giulia .They both were extremely friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: Top floor -room 705 , has beautiful view of Eifel Tower day and night , and small balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Ark S,

We are always happy to hear that we made you stay a special one! We hope to see you again when you come back to Paris.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#59 of 1,809 in Paris
972 reviews
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#80 of 1,809 in Paris
873 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#926 of 1,809 in Paris
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#538 of 1,809 in Paris
893 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#481 of 1,809 in Paris
1,107 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#414 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $114 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing