We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in excellent location….”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #347 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in May for a trip to Paris combining sight seeing with a few days at the French Open. We flew into Charles de Gaulle and found the journey to the hotel very easy, just follow the signs for trains to Paris and catch the RER B train to Gare du Nord station. Then it is a quick walk through the station to transfer to the Metro to catch line 2 at La Chapelle which will take you straight to Blanche which is right opposite the hotel, just cross the road and walk a few hundred metres, it is in the opposite direction from the Moulin Rouge. The doors are quite plain and could be easily missed but if you look up you will see a sign for the hotel. Place du Clichy and Pigalle metro stations are also within easy walking distance.

We thought the hotel itself was great, very clean and we liked the room. I imagine the rooms on the lower floors could be quite noisy as we still heard some noise from the street below and we were on the 7th floor. To be honest we didn't really mind the noise, it is to be expected when staying in a busy city. The breakfast each morning was great with a good selection of breads, pain au chocolat, fruit, eggs, cold meat, cereals etc. We thought it was good that the breakfast was on till 10.30am as we don't like to get up too early everyday when on holiday! Staff were polite and spoke very good english, great as our French is pretty pitiful!

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, it is an easy metro ride to pretty much anywhere in the city and we found the five day metro passes very good value for money. It is also perfectly placed for exploring Montmarte which we really liked. After reading a few reviews I can't stress enough that the area is absolutely fine, please ignore reviews that say anything negative about it. We were never bothered by anyone and never felt unsafe. It is very near the Moulin Rouge and there are quite a few sex shops and lap dancing bars around the hotel but just walk past them and it is no problem. We thought the area was great and it was pretty special to come out of the metro on arriving at Blanche to look up and see the iconic windmill of the Moulin Rouge.

Overall a great stay and we would not hesitate to recommend, will certainly rebook when we visit Paris again.

Room Tip: Would choose a room on a higher floor if you can. The breakfast room is on the first floor so I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Kirstin M,
Thank you for this lovely review and for the details about the location. Once you know the neighbourhood you realise that it is one of the best parts of Paris!

We will be happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 955 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Perfect hotel. Rooms were big and bright and very clean. The staff were all lovely with great English. They were happy to recommend restaurants too. The hotel was near two subway stations so it was very easy to access all attractions. I would definitely stay hear again and will recommend to friends!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank 2013rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear 2013rl,

Thank you so much for the recomendation!

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in this boutique hotel first week of May .Perfect location for Paris sightseeing . Very clean and comfortable . Special thanks to staff , especially Annelise and Giulia .They both were extremely friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: Top floor -room 705 , has beautiful view of Eifel Tower day and night , and small balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Ark S,

We are always happy to hear that we made you stay a special one! We hope to see you again when you come back to Paris.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Although the surroundings are somewhat questionable (Erotic Museum?), the location is convenient and close to everything. The area is also safe, as I went on many evening walks and I was never bothered by anyone. On the contrary, everyone I encountered was friendly and more than happy to steer me in the right direction when I got lost one or two times. Who says the French are unfriendly?

The room was very nice and clean, but the best part of my stay was the staff. They were kind, gracious, and overly-accommodating. I was on vacation with my family, but still had a lot of school work that needed to get done during the trip. Every morning, I went to the hotel's restaurant to work, and although I did not purchase any meals, I was always served with water.

The one downfall of the hotel is that they have a limited number of wireless passwords available, so only a certain number of people can use wireless at a given time. This was problematic when I finished a paper and had to email it to my professor. However, the front desk staff member was so kind that she let me use her computer to send my paper.

On another night, my family and I picked up some food for dinner from a nearby deli, and although the hotel restaurant was closed, the front desk staff allowed us to eat our goods in the restaurant.

This hotel was in renovation (and it still might be), and I was definitely hesitant to walk through the unmarked black doors next door to a strip club, but it was definitely worth it, and if I return to Paris, I would definitely stay there again. Merci!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

And we love you !
Thank you for this lovely review. Hope to see you again when you come back to Paris.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a seamless stay here, from check in through to check out, We arrived at 1200hrs and did not have to vacate until 1200hrs.We were provided with a place to leave our bags until we needed to get to the airport CDG. The hotel was simple to get to from the Airport via the metro and really near the Blanche stop. The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated, with a bottle of complementary wine and all the usually free toiletries. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty, and the restaurant next door is a great place for music and cocktails. I would definitely use this hotel again as the location is easy to walk to Montmartre and equally simple to jump on the metro to see the rest of Paris.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have less street noise we are on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Claire S,

We are happy that you liked our hotel and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great hotel. Very clean, simple but stylish decour. Clean beds, towels and usual freebies (shampoo, shower cap, body lotion, emery boards etc.). Very well placed to saunter around Montmatre, with its many bars, cafes, artists etc. Supermarket 3 doors down. Metro station ("Blanche") across the road. It is in Montmatre, and there are "Sexy Girl shows" along the same street - including the Moulin Rouge", but they were no bother. Just added to the romance of visiting the area

Room Tip: Our room (605) had a view, between buildings on the other side of the road, of the Eifel Tower. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSueHawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear JohnSueHawthorn,

We are happy that you liked our hotel and the neighbourhood !

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel was really in a great position for sightseeing paris. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast were good. The staff were really good and were always ready to help with directions ,phoning restauants etc. If i went to Paris again i would use this hotel ,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateyUk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear kateyUk_,

Thank you for your lovely comment and we do hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Annelise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#905 of 1,802 in Paris
270 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,802 in Paris
942 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#416 of 1,802 in Paris
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#78 of 1,802 in Paris
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#228 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#313 Family Hotel in Paris
#414 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $102 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing