We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really exceptional value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #376 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really exceptional value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My mother and I decided to go on a last minute trip to Paris and were delighted that we found such a central Hotel for such good value. We were met by lovely staff everyday, the rooms were incredibly clean and comfortable and the location was simply perfect for city exploring.
It was fun along the Moulin Rouge and the party seen at night was vibrant. This was the only set back for us. We found the street a little noisy at night but if I was with a friend or my partner we wouldn't have noticed, we would have been down there too!
Internet was good, channels were OK (only one English channel) and the room we were in was plenty big.
Would I stay here again? YES!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeneeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear neeneeob,

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Annelise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    386
    119
    27
    24
See reviews for
112
501
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhoon, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had a business trip to Paris (Feb 2013) and one of my colleagues recommended to stay at this hotel.
It is a lovely cozy hotel. The rooms are not huge but big enough and well decorated. The bed was comfy and I loved the walk-in shower in the bathroom. I was staying on the third floor and no noises at all.
My booking included breakfast and I used this option well, they don't have a large selection, but the products they have are very good (especially the croissants!).
The staff was correct and helpful and the location is good. I've read previous reviews that speak about sleazy area and I only could say this: It is Paris, next to the Moulin Rouge, what do you expect? I did not feel unsafe at all, I walked around the hotel and I also went to Sacre Coeur and no problem at all.. I love Paris and I liked this hotel, so it was a perfect combination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ivan D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Annelise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed in the Chat Noir Design Hotel with my girlfriend, Feb 3rd to 6th. The first room they tried to put us in was 205. This room is TINY and not anything like the brochure photos. I complained to the man in reception and he moved us to a slightly bigger twin room on the 3rd floor (room 306), at no additional cost.
The hotel is in the centre of the red light district with sex shops all around. The whole area is “run down” to say the least. This did not bother me personally but may upset some visitors.
As a frequent traveller this hotel does NOT rate it’s 4 star status, in my opinion. There is not even a fridge in the room. In fact no kitchen appliances at all ( kettle, microwave etc ). Also the phone in our room did not work.
The hotel has a restaurant next door, which I believe may be part of the hotel. The loud thumping noise coming from this from 8PM to 12 midnight, every night, should be considered if you are planning to stay there. This noise is easily heard on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Which could effect anyone wanting to get to sleep before midnight.
During a trip out of the hotel I left some UK money on a shelf in the room. While we were out the room was serviced. The money was missing on our return! It was only a small amount so I did not complain, but I see other reviews where people have lost items during the daily room service. SO BEWARE.
Having got the bad points out the way I can say the reception staff are very helpful and have very good English. The rooms are well designed to get the most of the very small space. A lot of space is given to the very nice walk in shower. The rooms are clean and functional. The free WIFI is a nice feature that you see more these days, although speeds are low.

Room Tip: Higher rooms should experience less noise from the restaurant at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to comment our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry that you encountered some porblems during you stay with us.
We hope that you will give us another chance when you come back to Paris.

Best regards,
Annelise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend from 29th-31st January 2014, could not recommend it enough, very clean, lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff, good location to get into Paris, absolutely no noise even though the street is busy! Felt very safe in this hotel, absolutely no complaints at all, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahshortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le ChatNOIR D, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear hannahshortt

Thank you for your lovely review.
We will be happy to have you back on your next trip to Paris.

Best regards,
Annelise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a city break away from the kids for the first time since they were born. We picked it for its proximity to the Moulin Rouge which is only 200yds away.

If you are flying into Charles de Gaulle airport and don't have lots of bags or kids, then you don't need a taxi, public transport from the airport is much less daunting than you think, and significantly cheaper. The hotel is literally 100yds from 'Blanche' Metro station on line 2, and getting there from the airport was easy and quick. You simply take any train from the RER B LINE in the terminal straight to Paris gate du nord station. Just follow the 'Paris by Train' signs in the airport. The 9,75 Euro single fare also INCLUDES your metro fare to any of the Central Paris metro stations (as long as you don't touch out). It took us just 42 minutes door to door. When you arrive at the Gare Du Nord station (also shown as Paris Nord), it's a 4-5 minute walk through the station to La Chapelle station which is on line 2 which takes you straight to the hotel. It's about 5 stops/9 minutes.

The entrance to the hotel itself is quite discreet, so just watch out for a small entrance just before the restaurant with the same name. The reception is small but adequate, and quite intimate.

We were given room 204 on the 2nd floor, which was clean and bright. It faced the street so we were initially worried about street noise, but to be honest, it wasn't an issue for us. There are only 6 rooms or so on each floor, and they have certainly made the most use of space possible. Although quite a small room, there was a fair sized wardrobe, safe, suitcase rack, tv, and small bedside tables. The bathroom was quiet tastefully decorated with marble/slate effect tiles, with a fairly large walk in shower. The wash basin was quite funky, but no issues at that stages the bedding was immaculate and fresh. So far so good.

The hotel is full of little designer quirks, with black cat emblems everywhere, even Toulouse Lautrec pictures. Overall, it was clean, fresh and no indication of the earlier smells mentioned by some other reviewers.

Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate with cereal, cakes and pastries, lovely croissants, coffee, fresh juice, cold meats, cheeses, yogurts, fruits etc. no real complaints.

Staff were friendly, helpful and available.

Reading all of the above, it would be quite easy to give this a rating of 4 or more, but some easily fixable things justified the lower rating.

In the bathroom, there were no shelves near the sink, meaning shaving or placing a toothbrush was impossible. The only 'shelf' was directly behind the toilet, which almost resulted in my electric toothbrush falling into it! Would it really be that hard to put in a small shelf?

Secondly, the shower itself was large and had a lovely big shower head, but after 3 minutes my other half let out a scream to say that there was water pouring towards the bedroom. The elevated base of the shower has little or no incline to the plug hole and the glass shower door has no sealant, so in effect the water just pours out onto the bathroom floor. If we hadn't spotted it so soon the bedroom carpet would have been ruined. The water on the floor also made it skippy, which again seemed an unnecessary own goal.

Facilities wise, I'm not sure how they award star ratings in France, but normally expect four star establishments to have more than just a room and breakfast, so for the above and that reason we have given it 3 stars.

Ironically, we actually liked the hotel , and now that we know what to expect we probably would stay again. The location is ideal for the shows, is an easy trip from the airport and is just what you need for a short weekend in Paris. If they could just improve the simple things I think they will easily find that their review scores will increase dramatically.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet ask for a higher room to the rear. The area isn't suitable for young famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Jo D,

First of all thank you for taking your time to comment your stay at Chat Noir Design Hotel.
We took note of your remarks, which will help us to improve our quality of services.
Overall, we are glad to note that you appreciated our property, and we are looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit to Paris.

Yours truly,

The Chat Noir Design Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Hills, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights just before the New Years as part of a big Europe trip to many places. This hotel has been the worst hotel when it comes to respecting its occupants. We put the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on our door every day we stayed there as our room did not need cleaning and we did not want anyone to see some of our personal items, however, every day we came home to find the do not disturb sign back inside our room, and our room had been cleaned. I found this extremely disrespectful and complained to reception as some of our items had been presumably binned by the cleaners. The receptionists said that our room should not have been cleaned and even called the director of the hotel. However, the very next day, it happened again. Was not impressed!! Besides this, the hotel is in a good spot, however it is quite the red light district. The breakfast was also good.
Ps. Best way to get to the hotel from the airport is by the airport train to Paris gare du nord and then transfer lines, get on the underground metro, and get off at Blanche. Otherwise, a taxi is 50 Euro.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, February 24, 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a perfect Hotel in a great location for accessing all forms of transport including the Metro and Bus, which were opposite the Hotel. The Room was very clean and nicely decorated. The Staff in Reception are second to none, they could not have been more helpful, their customer service was 10 out of 10. The Breakfast far exceeded my expectations and everything in keeping with the theme of the Hotel was presented so beautifully. I would recommend this Hotel for a stay in Paris. I will use this Hotel again when I return to Paris. Thank you so much for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more chance of getting a view of the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msoso, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear David T,

We are happy that you really enjoyed your stay @the Chat Noir Design Hotel. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the near future.

In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Yours truly
The Chat Noir Design Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#308 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#50 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#914 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#161 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#509 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#451 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Property: Hotel le Chat Noir
Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#229 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#315 Family Hotel in Paris
#416 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing