We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money.”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #375 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value for money.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent a week at the Le Chat Noir in Montmarte. We were attracted to the price and the reviews the hotel had received. All in all it was good value for money and we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is situated on Boulevard de Clichy, which has a lot of sex stores and strip clubs, it made the stay interesting to say the least. However you only need to stroll a couple streets back and the vibe is completely different - or take a walk up the hill to the Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur).

The rooms are small, but feature everything that you need (bed, shower, tv, etc) and the breakfast buffet is nice too, although I was over chocolate crossaints by the end of the week.

We also had problems with the airconditioning - unless I was doing it wrong I couldn't work it out for the life of me. The reception said it was working, but I couldn't get it to work. Although it was summer it wasn't crazy hot, so it wasn't a big deal, but sometimes after going on long walks you need a blast of aircon.

The only thing I really didn't like about the hotel was having to hand back my access card every time I left the building. But it was only a small inconvenience.

Room Tip: There's a bit of road noise, so try and get a higher floor and one at the back of the hotel. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgT_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    393
    120
    28
    24
See reviews for
114
513
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived on Eurostar and walked only 10 mins away and despite the number of sex shops easy to find Big bistro called the same name next door.Very friendly staff who could speak english .Room was clean, large comfortable bed hanging space with doors and a safe . Walk in shower worked perfectly plenty of hot water from the dinner plate head very good after lots of walking . Overall room was better than IBIS type accommodation .Continental breakfast more than adequate good choice of meats cheese and breads yogurts hot coffee and fruit juices . EAT AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE .We were on the front of the hotel overlooking the Sex shops and although you could hear music from the bars until 3 am with the windows closed it was just a faint drone.Will be going back as it is good value for money and right on metro.March 2013

Room Tip: ideally a room facing the rear would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thanks to the Hotel you could have experienced the " sexy side" of Paris ;) We are really happy that you had a nice stay among us and really hope to see you once again.

Best regards

Lola , The reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we just came back from a week in this hotel. Before we arrived I was a bit worry regarding it's location because of the "fishy" area with all the sex shops but I was glad to find out that it's quite safe to go there even at night since everybody mind their own business - the shops and the clubs are doing their business without bothering anyone that doesn't want their services. Regarding the transportaion the location is quite comftarable with 1 metro right in front of the hotel and another one in a distance of 5 minutes walk.
The hotel itself is nicely decorated with "chat noir" everywhere. the room is quite comfortable and , in parisian terms quite spacious with lots of room to store your belongings in the big cupboord. the bathroom was new and clean although the styling was a bit on the acount of the functionality - there was not a room for anything (even not a toothbrush) near the sink.
The breakfest was great - you can choose from a wide varity of: bread, sweet pastries, cheeses, sausage, yogurt, fruits, cereals, ,tomato, cucumber, juices, hot drinks and you can even boil yourself an egg.
The only important remark in my opinion is that the staff could really make an effort to be more nice and helpfull. Don't understand me wrong they were all polite and speaks good english but they don't give you a feeling that they really care. for example: in the last morning we asked to do a late checkout since our flight back home was at night. obviously we paid for it but when we came back that afternoon to the hotel we asked the recepionist to make sure that our key is still valid since we prolonged our stay for a few hours , she told us that she is sure it's o.k. but we had to come back from the 5th floor since the card didn't open our door. and after we came to the room we found out that our passwords for the wi-fi were'nt prolonged as well,and that caused another "ride down" to the reception since the recepionist had to give us a note with the new username & password. It was a bit annoying but she didn'd even bother to apologize for her 2 mistakes..
Overall the experience was good especially for the price that we had, The declared rates are a lot higher so you should check the cost-benefit ratio for your budget.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is locted in a busy boulevard I think it's better to ask for higher floors.at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelTelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

myself (20) and my boyfriend (22) stayed here in December and had the most perfect weekend. The hotel rooms are beautifully modern and quirky. The bed is extremely comfortable and the room as a whole is spacious with plenty of storage space. The staff are friendly people and are very helpful!

The bathroom - lovely design with modern facilities. The shower is very spacious with a large shower head. We had no problems with the bathroom and found it to be the most pleasant part of the hotel room.

The area - I was worried about staying near the boulevard de clichy as it is extremely sleazy with sex shops. However, as a 20 year old, timid young woman, i felt safer in this area than in the backstreets of Paris as it is busy with tourists (the busy area didnt bother us sleeping). The Moulin Rouge is a 2 minute walk up the road. The hotel is about 5 minutes in a taxi to the Bastille Sacre Coeur (this is were we started our day of sight seeing). There is also the metro close to the hotel which is an easy way to get around Paris (be careful of pickpockets, aside from this we felt safe in the metro station.)

Advice for sightseeing: The Batobus - if you get the metro to the lourve you can walk through the park to the Siene river were there is a rivertaxi called the Batobus. Very cheap for a day pass which takes you to all the main sightseeing points (Eiffel tower, hotel de ville, notre dame, champs elysees etc.) You can hop on and off as it comes at points of the river every 30 minutes. We saw all the main attractions of Paris in a day thanks to the Batobus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It was a plaisure to welcome you in our hotel and hope to see you again for your next trip in Paris.
Best regards
La reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on the strength of the recommendations on here and wasn't disappointed. The area is interesting as others have said, but if you have been to any big city you would probably have seen similar! Although I was overwhelmed by just how many 'red light' shops there actually were! It didn't feel unsafe though - and as long as you know what to expect, it's not as bad as some have said. Families with young kids might not appreciate the wares in the windows though! The hotel itself is lovely, decor is amazing and the staff very friendly. Be sure to ask for the WiFi password though, we didn't get given it on arrival and if you are wanting to browse the web, it would be a must! Our room faced the street and we had a view of the Eiffel Tower! The noise from the street was noticeable, but nothing different to most London hotels! Room is small (but this is Paris so fully expected!), but was more than adequate for our purpose. The shower is AMAZING, proper waterfall experience. Once you find the right way to work it, its very good. Breakfast was included in my booking with BA - if you haven't got it included its 15 euros per day. Selection of breads, croissants, cheeses, fruit salads etc so lots of choice - you can even boil your own egg! Location was great as well, with Blanche Metro station literally a minutes walk away - get a carnet of 10 tickets for best value travelling if you are going to be semi regularly using the Metro. Overall, I really liked this hotel and felt right for a romantic getaway with my other half - would recommend to others and return. Just make sure you are aware of what the area has around it and you will really enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Responsable réception at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Merci pour ce message.
Toute l'équipe du Chat Noir est ravie que vous ayez passé un bon moment dans notre hotel.

Nous esperons vous revoir bientôt.

Très cordialement

Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very excited to try this hotel and perhaps the anticipation raised my expectations because I was fairly disappointed with the experience. The bathroom has a very nice finish; it was clean an had a rainfall showerhead. However, the water was warm rather than hot, so I did not have the most comfortable of showers. The toiletries were generic, and the lotion was runny which is not what I would have expected for the price. The air conditioning did not seem to work, so the room was very hot and stuffy throughout the night, which left me with poor sleep as I woke up a couple times. The rest of the room's decor in black and red tries but fails to achieve luxury, and the stark colors are not very relaxing. Lastly, sound insulation is not good; I could hear a sqeaking bed through the walls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtheworld131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#59 of 1,802 in Paris
896 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#333 of 1,802 in Paris
817 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#310 of 1,802 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#892 of 1,802 in Paris
259 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#436 of 1,802 in Paris
492 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#511 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Property: Hotel le Chat Noir
Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#240 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#314 Family Hotel in Paris
#415 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing