We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #312 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel itself is charming, very nice decor and comfortable room. The staff were all very polite and helpful. The breakfast included all the things one expected from a Parisian hotel, croissants, cheeses, good coffee. The location is a little iffy as the hotel is located in the red light district, but we took this as part of the charm...however, there is a metro station very close as well as a supermarket for various provisions a family might need. In all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 999 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed at Le Chat Noir 10/09 for 3 nights.
The hotels rooms and reception were spotless and the decor is modern and sleek, rooms were a big enough size as we only slept there so didn't need any bigger! We were on the sixth floor and had no problem with noise.
We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but did use the bar located outside the hotel which served delicious cocktails :)
The hotel is on the main "sex shop/show street" but as two mid twenty year old females we were not approached and any point and felt safe at all times.
Place du Tetre is around a 10 minute walk up the hill and has many lovely restaurants out on the square. We loved the location for this, also so close to Moulin Rouge and Amerlies "Cafe des deux moulins".
Would definitely stay here again when I next visit Paris and have recommended it to many friends and family

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good hotel , good location however would advise if possible request a floor higher than level 2 as it is very noisy due to bar adjacent to Hotel playing music until 6am. Good breakfast however little let down by no tea/coffee facilities in room .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We thought we had hit gold when we arrived at this hotel. The staff were charming, the rooms were quite small but very clean and well appointed.
Internet and wifi were free and Sky TV was available.
Only problem was the location. It sits beside a bar/night club and there was a constant booming sound of music from 11pm till 6am the following morning. At this time (6am) the noise of flowing water seemed to pass through our thin walls. I had 1 hour of sleep during the whole evening.
This hotel is very good - they need to invest some money in sound reduction to capitalise on what they have achieved so far.

Room Tip: Go as high up as possible to avoid the ground noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jams50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Chat Noir, the room was lovely with one of the most comfortable beds and soft linnen i have slept in for ages. We had the romantic package and was a lovely touch to have the rose petals and the champagne which was chilled and ready for us. Breakfast was a good standard of continental food, staff really nice and they leave you to yourself even at breakfast time so hotel has a very intimate feel to it. I would definately come back and highly recommend to couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deecydon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Gérant at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sweet comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new renovated hotel.
Best regards,

The team a Hotel Le Chat Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed here twice, most recently last month, and both times we have found it to be a clean and friendly hotel. The staff have always proved to be helpful and polite, and are happy to provide maps, direct you to the nearest patisserie or book a taxi. The room (we stayed in a triple room both times) is spacious for an inner city Paris stay. The surrounding area is a bit colourful (our 13 year old nephew was a bit taken back by the sex shops) but seems safe and there are plenty of people about no matter the time so you feel very safe returning to the hotel late at night. The hotel is well located for getting around Paris, and is about a 2 minute walk in either direction from the front door to a metro station. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Paris now.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsygallisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear guest ,

It is alway a pleasure for us to welcome guest for a second stay or more.
And to read that your comments are always very positiv.

Thanks for your confidence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Paula Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#909 of 1,805 in Paris
275 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,805 in Paris
966 reviews
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#85 of 1,805 in Paris
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#492 of 1,805 in Paris
883 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#414 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $113 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing