We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Buci by MH
Ranked #94 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family stayed for 10 days at the Hotel de Buci during the second week of June. After extensive online research I picked this hotel because it was small, the reviews were so positive and also because its location sounded perfect for our trip. My husband and I stayed in Room 21, a really lovely and surprisingly spacious room facing the street. I was amazed that once you closed the windows the sounds of the street practically disappeared. I also thought that the automatic shades which you managed from the bed were really cool. Believe me, they totally cut out the light from outside. The cleaning staff were friendly and very accomodating.
Our 3 sons (26, 24, and 20) traveled with us and were given the Lafayette suite on the top floor. This room did not have the beautiful ambiance that our room had, but it was perfect for our guys since it contained a king size bed in the larger room and a murphy bed in the smaller front room. The elevator was small, but very fast.
The location truly was perfect. The street was charming. There were several cafes within the first block as well as a wonderful gelato place and lots of crepe places and restaurants. Cafe de Flore and other famous cafes were just around the corner. The metro was 3 blocks away. Our boys loved being able to go out at night to bars, cafes, etc. I felt better knowing that they would stay within a short distance of the hotel. They even found the steps form "Midnight in Paris" one night.
We walked EVERYWHERE. Really, from this hotel we walked all the way up to the Arc de Triomphe. The boys walked home from Sacre Coeur!! These were long walks, mind you, but doable.
The staff were just great. They responded to my emails promptly and were very accomodating. They worked with us to make dinner reservations,taxi pickups, etc. One thing to note, you can purchase the museum passes from the hotel. I had no idea and was just lucky to have asked about them.
The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Eggs, bacon, sausage, potatos, fruit, cheese, yogurt, cereals, mini crepes, breads, you get the picture, and all of the delicious hot chocolate and coffee you can drink. The waiter was terrific. He was always so friendly and attentive. I actually looked forward to seeing him every morning. Our breakfast was included (maybe this is standard?). Given that there were 5 of us, this saved us at least $125 per day.
I could just go on forever. Needless to say, I will stay here next time I go to Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 326Sarah110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for your recent comment regarding your stay at the hotel de Buci.

I was glad to hear that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us !

We are looking forward welcoming you back whether for business or leisure in the near future.

Kind regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 804 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights earlier this month and loved it. The location of Buci is fantastic. It is on a great little street with no less than 10 bars and cafes within steps of the front door. The rooms are typically small but in a charming way. When I am in Vegas I expect a massive suite with a big king sized bed, views of the strip, a separate living and bedroom area and possibly more than one bedroom. For me, this is NOT a room in Paris. We loved the intimate size of the room. Just enough space for our suitcases and a bed that is made to foster intimacy with the one you love. The rooms have the added bonus of a push button closing steel shutter that shut out all light and sound from busy Rue de Buci. Perfect! Breakfast offerings and breakfast room were also lovely. My parents, my girlfriend and I all LOVED this place. We will be back! 4+ Stars so I gave it 5.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Bonjour from Paris,

I thank you for writing this nice review. I am so happy that your stay was pleasant. We always try to give our guests the best service ever and it is very gratefull to read such nice posts afterwards.

We of course will always have a great pleasure welcoming you again in the future.

Very best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights and we loved it. The hotel is small. The room we had, 41, had a king size bed, double sink, tub shower combo, writing table, large windows opening onto the narrow street of cafes, fresh fruit market, Paul's (a bakery), dim sum shop, chocolate shop, meat market and many many street side outdoor eateries. Not terribly far from the Serboun the streets are filled with young adult Paresians. The small lobby is welcoming and be it day or night you will be offered coffee or liquor or water. There is a computer for use in the lobby. Breakfast is an assortment of French pastries bought from special patisaries down the block, cheeses, cressants, scrambled eggs, soft boiled eggs, charcuterie, fresh fruits, juices, dry cereals, hot chocolate, juices, ham, sausage and bacon. The tables are with white table cloths and fresh flowers. There are numerous fine restaurants just a few minutes walk. In the first couple minutes of the film, Midnight in Paris, Owen Wilson's character tries to get out of a dinner invitation with a boorish former boy friend of his girlfriend. He tells her "don't we have a dinner reservation at Cafe Lipp?". Well, Cafe Lipp is a 5 minute walk from Buci. Again ask for rooms 41 or 51 or larger rooms, do not take smaller ones, they are little. Also, they have electric room darkening shutters. You will hear some of the music and street noise of the cafes....but, you are in a wonderful part of Paris!
M

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear StuBeee,

It is truly a pleasure to see that the Hotel de Buci has successfully achieved in bringing a positive contribution to your stay in Paris.

It is on behalf of all my colleagues here that I extend to you our sincere feeling of gratitude for having stayed with us and for relating your positive experience in such fine terms.

We all look forward to welcoming you soon again to Paris and the Hotel de Buci !

Kind regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day vacation in Paris and we are so glad we found the Hotel Buci. Well appointed hotel with staff which was very accommodating. We traveled with 2 other couples and we all agreed this hotel was a hidden gem. The Café Au Chai de l'Abbaye locate right next door served fine fare and the bar staff was friendly and patient with our broke French. Tons of patisseries and boulangeries to choose from though our favorite was The Smith's - excellent quiche. Carrefour supermarket is also across the street which was nice to pick up some supplies for the room.

Yes the rooms are small but what do we need space for; matter of fact the bathroom was large compared to the room, we were in Room 44. The area is buzzing with activity and close to St Michele and Mabillion metro stations. Also, the late night fare in the Latin Quarter is a quick walk away.

Definitely staying at the Buci next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms may not have a view but are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rifahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Rifahys,

We deeply thank you for posting this kind review. Making our guests happy is our major concern.

We surely hope to welcome you again in the future.

Very best regards from all the Hotel de Buci team.

Romain binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel de Buci is a charming little boutique hotel in the heart of St.-Germain-des-pres neighborhood of Paris (a bustling, cafe-laden area). It's a very popular area with tourists, so in some ways it was a great location because it was incredibly easy to walk to all of the destinations we were interested in visiting (Musee d'Orsay, Louvre, Marais neighborhood, Rue Cler, Eiffel Tower, etc.).

We were very pleased with our stay overall, particularly the very attentive staff (Sanjay, the concierge, could not have been more friendly and accommodating, and the women and men at reception -- I didn't catch their names -- were wonderful). Be prepared to pay tourist prices, though -- my sense is that you pay for the location, and could probably find less expensive hotels/rooms for comparable quality in areas a bit more removed from the hustle/bustle.

Here are some tips for those who choose to stay here:
1) Be prepared for small rooms... they are really very, very tiny (e.g., barely room for suitcases next to the bed and tiny bathroom) but this was fine with us given that you don't go to Paris to stay in your hotel room! And the hotel does a great job of making the rooms very charming (and obviously clean) despite their size.
2) Request a room that faces the street rather than the back -- they are much more sunny and charming.
3) Avoid the restaurants in the immediate vicinity except for when you are just looking for coffee & pastries or cocktails. You can find more authentic food elsewhere.
4) One exception to #3 is that you should visit Little Breizh creperie just a block away. Incredibly charming and authentic spot -- an island in the middle of touristy cafes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are slightly noisier, but much sunnier and more charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear kdekas,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
It was such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de Buci !

The size of our rooms depends on the category. Contact us directly for your next stay and we will select the room that suits you best.

Hope to see you again at the Hotel de Buci !

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Right in the heart of St. Germaine de Pres, sits this lovely little hotel with a very warm and welcoming staff. The concierge, Sanjay, goes out of his way to suggest activities and set up excursions. The location is perfect. You can walk to many historic sites and museums, as well as find bus and metro stations. All around it are bustling cafes and shops. Although noisy at night, the double windows totally keep the room cool and quiet. The decor is very charming, elegant, and luxurious with deep soaker tub and warm towel rack. I would return to this charming hotel on my next visit to Paris.

Room Tip: The Maitre Room, overlooking the street, was lovely. The room had enough space for two women.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Patti2357,

Thank you for your lovely comments !

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.Please do visit us again on a future trip to Paris.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wonderfully located in San Germaine des Pres, this charming small hotel is just a short walk from the river Seine and a walk from the wonderful Musee D'Orsay.
Breakfast is included and delicious. The room in which we stayed was well appointed but small. There are larger rooms. The staff is friendly and ever helpful.
A tiny gem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Sally W,,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. I have passed on your kind comments to all of our team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Hotel de Buci on a future visit.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#91 of 1,805 in Paris
992 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#79 of 1,805 in Paris
732 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#138 of 1,805 in Paris
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#100 of 1,805 in Paris
421 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#121 of 1,805 in Paris
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Buci by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Buci by MH

Address: 22, rue de Buci | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#78 Business Hotel in Paris
#94 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $207 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Buci by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An air of the 18th century lingers over the Latin Quarter in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres... And a address at the refined, intimate Hotel de Buci. This 4-star boutique hotel took its inspiration from the great traditions of the Enlightenment. Bringing a modern touch to the boudoir, that great invention of the Louis XV period, this charming hotel on the Rue de Buci, with its 24 quintessentially Parisian rooms and suites, offers the unparalleled experience of a journey back in time. Centrally located in the centre of historic Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the hotel puts you right on the doorstep of all the leading art galleries, not to mention all the top luxury boutiques. Across the way from a typical street market, enjoy all the comfort of a luxury French hotel in central Paris as you experience the vibrant life of the Quartier Saint Germain des Pres and the whole of the left bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Buci by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Buci Hotel
De Buci Paris
Hotel De Buci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing