We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and charming hotel, but be prepared for small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Buci by MH
Ranked #77 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location and charming hotel, but be prepared for small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel de Buci is a charming little boutique hotel in the heart of St.-Germain-des-pres neighborhood of Paris (a bustling, cafe-laden area). It's a very popular area with tourists, so in some ways it was a great location because it was incredibly easy to walk to all of the destinations we were interested in visiting (Musee d'Orsay, Louvre, Marais neighborhood, Rue Cler, Eiffel Tower, etc.).

We were very pleased with our stay overall, particularly the very attentive staff (Sanjay, the concierge, could not have been more friendly and accommodating, and the women and men at reception -- I didn't catch their names -- were wonderful). Be prepared to pay tourist prices, though -- my sense is that you pay for the location, and could probably find less expensive hotels/rooms for comparable quality in areas a bit more removed from the hustle/bustle.

Here are some tips for those who choose to stay here:
1) Be prepared for small rooms... they are really very, very tiny (e.g., barely room for suitcases next to the bed and tiny bathroom) but this was fine with us given that you don't go to Paris to stay in your hotel room! And the hotel does a great job of making the rooms very charming (and obviously clean) despite their size.
2) Request a room that faces the street rather than the back -- they are much more sunny and charming.
3) Avoid the restaurants in the immediate vicinity except for when you are just looking for coffee & pastries or cocktails. You can find more authentic food elsewhere.
4) One exception to #3 is that you should visit Little Breizh creperie just a block away. Incredibly charming and authentic spot -- an island in the middle of touristy cafes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are slightly noisier, but much sunnier and more charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear kdekas,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
It was such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de Buci !

The size of our rooms depends on the category. Contact us directly for your next stay and we will select the room that suits you best.

Hope to see you again at the Hotel de Buci !

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    169
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
135
376
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Right in the heart of St. Germaine de Pres, sits this lovely little hotel with a very warm and welcoming staff. The concierge, Sanjay, goes out of his way to suggest activities and set up excursions. The location is perfect. You can walk to many historic sites and museums, as well as find bus and metro stations. All around it are bustling cafes and shops. Although noisy at night, the double windows totally keep the room cool and quiet. The decor is very charming, elegant, and luxurious with deep soaker tub and warm towel rack. I would return to this charming hotel on my next visit to Paris.

Room Tip: The Maitre Room, overlooking the street, was lovely. The room had enough space for two women.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Patti2357,

Thank you for your lovely comments !

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.Please do visit us again on a future trip to Paris.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wonderfully located in San Germaine des Pres, this charming small hotel is just a short walk from the river Seine and a walk from the wonderful Musee D'Orsay.
Breakfast is included and delicious. The room in which we stayed was well appointed but small. There are larger rooms. The staff is friendly and ever helpful.
A tiny gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Sally W,,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. I have passed on your kind comments to all of our team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Hotel de Buci on a future visit.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated in St Germain des pres very close to shops, cafes, restaurants etc. - le relais de l'entrecote does the best steak frites in the world. A nice walking distance to the river and museums etc - i recommend l'orangerie in particular for modern art fans. We stayed in a suite which had a large comfortable bedroom and a separate lounge area which was on the smaller side. They provided a travel cot for our son and were generally very friendly and accommodating - we accidentally left our car keys when we checked out and they called us so that we could retrieve them before leaving Paris. The concierge emailed us as soon as we booked to see if we had any questions which was a really nice touch. Breakfast room was quiet, highchair available, and on offer were a selection of fresh pastries and bread, eggs, cheese, meats, fruit and some cooked breakfast.
There was a small amount of building work when we checked in and we asked how long it would last - we were not complaining at all - but after we went out we returned to find complimentary champagne and macaroons in our room with a note apologising for any inconvenience.
Overall a really positive experience. On a more practical note, they had guest umbrellas and UK plug adaptors so no need to take your own and it is a short walk from the metro and an easy transfer (no changes) by metro from gare du nord.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsFussyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear MrsFussyLondon,

Thank you for selecting The Hotel de Buci and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Little charming hotel, in a prime location, extremely nice and helpful staff. Everything made us feel like in a family small hotel where you know everyone, but in fact the hotel is managed by the same group than the Madison Hotel close by, which means, in a very professional way.

Location is amazing. Few steps from Bld. St Germain. Breakfast at Cafe de Flore. In fact is very central.

We got the standard room. It was wonderful but the bathrooms are small. One might prefer the next room with more space and a bathtub (very charming also).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisePreciado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear deniRioDeJaneiro,

First of all I would like to thank you in the name of our staff for writing this review on TripAdvisor. Our staff takes pride in making sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay.
Thank you for your kind words and comments.

As we are part of the Group Hotels Maurice Hurand , we look forward to welcoming you soon to our properties.

Warmly,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

we were totally satisfied staying in Hotel de Buci: the location was simply perfect, the rooms cozy and comfortable, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly, so that next time we go to Paris this will certainly be our first choice. We recommend the hotel for many reasons, mostly the top quality location and the friendliness of the staff. Sanjay, the concierge, was very kind and effective exchanging e-mails with us prior to our arrival, offering to help in anything we might need, and then making reservations in restaurants for us so that when we arrived in Paris everything was arranged for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear LincolnRio,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found Sanjay & our staff helpful and polite. I have passed on your kind comments to all of our team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel de Buci on a future visit.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I booked the Hotel de Buci based on its location and traveler reviews - I wasn't disappointed! The location is perfect - a prime location for restaurants, boutiques, markets, and a 5 minute walk to metro stops that will take you anywhere. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are small - but it was perfect for me as I was a single traveler and didn't need any more space. I wasn't there to spend all my time in the hotel! The bed was very comfortable, the black out shades were fantastic, and the recent renovation resulted in great quality furnishings, appliances and amenities for both the bedroom and bathroom. The iPod/iPhone station was a nice touch - it served as a charger as well. The staff was very nice - I arranged for a car to pick me up at the airport with Sanjay and the staff on duty was very helpful in finding my driver when we had trouble connecting at the airport. My only small complaints would be that there is only air conditioning or heat - but once I asked and was told that, I turned off the heat and was much more comfortable. Also, I only received the turn down service 1 of my 5 nights that I stayed. Other than that, it was a fantastic stay for my first trip to Paris - I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Hotel De Buci by MH, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Johanna K,

Thank you for your kind words about our concierge team during your recent stay. Sanjay and his team are extremely knowledgeable about Paris and do their very best to give up to date advice and recommendations.
But I am as well quite sorry that you felt that some other aspects of your stay were not at our usual highest level.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back again at the Hotel de Buci soon !

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#98 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#59 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#91 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#92 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#157 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Buci by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Buci by MH

Property: Hotel De Buci by MH
Address: 22, rue de Buci | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#79 Business Hotel in Paris
#94 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#158 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Buci by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An air of the 18th century lingers over the Latin Quarter in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres... And a address at the refined, intimate Hotel de Buci. This 4-star boutique hotel took its inspiration from the great traditions of the Enlightenment. Bringing a modern touch to the boudoir, that great invention of the Louis XV period, this charming hotel on the Rue de Buci, with its 24 quintessentially Parisian rooms and suites, offers the unparalleled experience of a journey back in time. Centrally located in the centre of historic Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the hotel puts you right on the doorstep of all the leading art galleries, not to mention all the top luxury boutiques. Across the way from a typical street market, enjoy all the comfort of a luxury French hotel in central Paris as you experience the vibrant life of the Quartier Saint Germain des Pres and the whole of the left bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Buci by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Buci Hotel
De Buci Paris
Hotel De Buci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing