We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the most romantic area of Paris”
Review of Hotel Carlton's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton's
Ranked #881 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Terrace view is a must. Rooms are clean, well furnished and serviced. We had perfect welcome and quick check-in and check-out. You leave with the desire to stay more. Close to subway stations and anyway a short walk from everywhere in Paris. Sacre Coeur is just to be stepped up to. To be recommended for any weekend, romantic or touristic stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet and view is guaranteed on top terrace
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to read that to had a good experience at the hotel Carlton's and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a good stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located, our family room (intercommunicating rooms) was convenient and clean and had a good view of the Sacre Coeur. The breakfast buffet was fine. We loved having access to the roof terrace to take a few rooftop pictures of the city. But it feels like a three star experience, not a more luxurious four star one as there were a few small niggles: we struggled to close the door between our rooms, the kids' room was on the small side, the carpets were slightly tired-looking in places, the bath lacked a plug etc. Still, all in all, perfectly reasonable.

Room Tip: Good views and probably less noise from rooms further up.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your comment, your feedback is important for us in order to improve our services. We are actually doing renovations in the hotel, and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

very good hotel in very good location, staff very nice, could not fault one thing, we stayed there 3 nights, had a room on 7th. floor, had a great view of the city. close to metro stations, hop on hop off buses just 100 metre from hotel door.breakfast good,we will stay there again next time we visit paris.we got shuttle bus from c d g return.dont miss the view from the roof, 9th floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We thank you for your comment, it is always a pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was misled by good reviews of this hotel. I guess that this hotel was good at one point but that is not the case anymore. We arrived on Jan 27 and were informed that they do not have double room (room with single large bed) they have only twin room (room with two small beds)
We went to see the room and the beds were almost kid's size.. so do we have to sleep separately on our romantic vacation.. are you kidding me? I went back and asked for a manager, explained situation to him. He did not apologize, did not smile just informed me that if I want a single bed room I need to pay for upgrade. I agreed so they change our room.
Besides the fact that there was a single bed in the room I did not notice any kind of upgrade at all. Also the bed was made up of two mattresses instead of one, so if you try to sleep on the middle of the bed the mattresses kept drifting apart from each other which created a crack in the bed. Internet didn't work at all, I could not check my work emails, forget the facebook. You have to chase the signal in the room, and if you lucky and get connected it took two-three min to open the page. It also kept disconnecting.. I eventually gave up and went to find a cafe with wifi.
Another thing is that they don't give you fresh towels unless you ask them , it is part of their "eco-friendly program" there were no any lotions or shampoos in the bathroom either, I'm assuming you have to ask for it too but I didn't bother, just used my own staff. There is no soap bars, only big plastic bottle on the wall with liquid soap that you have to squeeze very hard several times to get any soap out of it. The one thing I kept wandering about is that if they are so eco-friendly why they provide plastic cups wrapped in plastic instead of regular reusable glasses like all other hotels do?.. doesn't seem eco-friendly to me (see my picts). So taking into consideration everything else they don't bother to fix/spend money on, I really think by not providing anything except liquid soap on the wall they trying to cut costs/expenses and conveniently masquerading it as "eco friendliness"
Breakfast was terrible as well, coffee was old, I didn't like any food except croissants.
Overall during our trip we went to two cities Prague and Paris and stayed in three different hotels and Carlton’s was the worst one. It really spoiled the end of our trip and overall experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights I think it should be rated again, maximum 2 stars. It was the only part of our holiday that went completely wrong, the hotel.The air cond. and heating weren't working, the breakfast is very, very poor, the conservation of the hotel is bad, there was no atmosphere at all. Don't recommend to anyone. The only thing good is the location but there are other hotels with good location in Paris.
The service we will say was good because of one person Jean Luce(does the night shift) because the rest was really awful. And we worry with our dog in the kennel, hahaha

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we regret the experience you had during your stay in our hotel, we will take your comments with importance in order to improve our quality of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Arrived on the friday night on the train from CDG. We got the RER train from the airport to Gare du nord, and from there the metro to Pigalle. A short walk from the metro and you are at the hotel. Its quite unassuming from the outside, just a really small entrance. We had a room on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel. It was a busy road outside but the soundproofing through the windows was excellent. We could not hear any road noise whatsoever ! We had a twin room which was clean and tidy, and the en suite was very clean with a decent shower. The beds were comfortable and made up every day, and clean towels supplied every day as well. The cleaning staff were friendly, as were the staff at reception. The roof terrace has an excellent view over paris and is overlooked by Sacre Cour. All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely return here

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timazza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at Carlton's for four days in January. Location is good but there are hundreds of hotels in Paris with a 'good' location. The hotel has no atmosphere and the staff working there, although polite have zero hospitality skills. It was the most impersonal hotel stay I ever had. Breakfast is really bad and I wouldn't suggest for anyone to bother and pay for it since there are many cafes at the area. I wouldn't recommend this hotel because it could be so much better. They just don't care!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demetris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks for your comment, your feedback is important for us in order to improve our services.
We regret that you had a bad experience with us and we will take the necessary measures with relevant staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Opera Vivaldi
Opera Vivaldi
#1,063 of 1,804 in Paris
102 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
The Element Hotel
The Element Hotel
#1,537 of 1,804 in Paris
304 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Majestic Hotel Spa
Majestic Hotel Spa
#779 of 1,804 in Paris
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton's

Address: 55 boulevard de Rochechouart | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#428 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $104 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton's 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Carlton's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carltons Hotel Paris
Carlton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing