We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average and smoking only”
Review of Hotel Carlton's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carlton's
Ranked #838 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed February 15, 2013

they say there are only no smoking room. but they know people do smoke in rooms so....
wi fi connection very poor - not good for wotk
well situated and quite clean
can be good for low quality expectation while at the end of the day not so cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnk_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 579 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel for a 3-night New year's eve vacation. Our room on the 5th floor was very nice and with a great view, not to mention the landscape view you can get at the rooftop of the building. The room and bathroom were cleaned every day and we had no problems. Also there is free wireless internet that you can use but the speed is rather low. Our room - situated on the corner side was very nice furbished (vintage) with TV and fridge at our disposal; room size was ok.
Breakfast was included and we were happy with the variety - more than enough for a short stay.

Room Tip: choose a room at a higher floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked a room at Carlton's for a short city break to Paris. We've chosen the hotel for the convenient location to Gare du Nord as we arrived by the Eurostar. It took us 10 minutes by foot to reach the hotel. As we arrived very early in the morning, we were able to store our luggage at the hotel which gave us plenty of time to explore the city. The check in was really fast, and our room was lovely. The room we had was at the 8th floor with a stunning view of the Sacre Coeur. We asked before arrival for a nice room, and even though we booked a standard room, we were given a suite which was great. And the view from the terrace...breathtaking The breakfast was good with plenty of things to choose from. We will be definitely return if going back to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor as the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located to explore Montmartre on one of Paris's boulevards (albeit one full of sex shops), the hotel has a lot of character as a converted dance hall. The rooms are pleasant and the roof terrace overlooking Paris would have been great if it wasn't so foggy when we stayed!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigSwatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is well situated and although it is in the middle of Pigalle we never felt concerned and went out in the area for dinner and drinks every evening. Hotel is well looked after and rooms clean and good value. View from our room on top floor was great as wellas that from viewing platform. Breakfast was good but after two days would have like a variety. We took a prebooked shuttle from the airport but this was a mistake. Should have taken tube as would have saved us two hours arriving and a lot of stress returning to airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnielindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is right smack in the middle of Pigalle aka red light district. I did not know that ahead of time. But, we booked with a tour group so location wise was out of our control. It wasnt so bad. It was close to the grocery store so that was convenient. The tube is also within walking distance. This hotel is also close to Moulin Rogue and the Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur). There are also tons of shops that you can buy souvenirs.The hotel itself was ok. Rooms and elevators are way too small. But, in Paris I guess thats the norm. The breakfast was quite good and filled me up. Wifi is free. Just make sure you get the code from the front desk. Overall, hotel was ok. If you are on a budget this hotel should be fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nychearts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having arrived to Paris by euro star it took just 15 mins to walk to the hotel (don’t hang around at Gard du noir station we were targeted by thieves in the metro hall).

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and after unpacking we went to the roof terrace with a glass of wine to enjoy the view and what a view it is spectacular. The first night we went for dinner at a Bistrot Chat noir restaurant near Moulin rouge only a few minutes’ walk away. The next morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast in the unusually decorated restaurant of the hotel. The food was plentiful and varied. With air con, free wi fi and a great view. This hotel was looking good.

We walked to the right of the hotel when leaving the next morning and walked for two hundred yards and found that the open topped tour bus stops at about every 20 minutes. We bought a 2 day pass which was 34 euros each. There are 4 different routes that theses buses take and they are colour coded so you just have to look at the front of the bus to see what colour the square is. The stop near the hotel is Sacre-Coeur church on the hill. We had dinner up there the next two nights. Eating at Le Ceni’s and Cadet de Gascogn, In both restaurants the food was good but the beer and wine is well pricey. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from and the lift costs 1.70euros each and saves the legs. Is it me or are French waiters normally inattentive?
We found this hotel to be clean friendly and ideally placed to enjoy a break in Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,197 of 1,804 in Paris
1,019 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Mercure Paris Pigalle Sacre-Coeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#1,003 of 1,804 in Paris
446 reviews
Montmartre
Adagio Paris Montmartre
Adagio Paris Montmartre
#1,027 of 1,804 in Paris
541 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#499 of 1,804 in Paris
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton's

Address: 55 boulevard de Rochechouart | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#409 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $98 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton's 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Carlton's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carltons Hotel Paris
Carlton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing