We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality affordable Paris Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Charles
Ranked #758 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have previously stayed in the 13th district of Paris at the Mercure Place de Italia. This time I was travelling with my family and the Mercure did not have a large enough room so we stayed at the Saint Charles, I was not disappointed. The hotel is located in a quite road in an area of Paris that retains its own identity. Lots of nice bars and restaurants in easy walking distance and 5 minutess to Corvisart metro station, 8 minutes to Place de Italia. On Sundays and Tuesdays the area between these 2 stations houses a street market that is really interesting to visit.

The rooms in the hotel are average size for Paris so compact by U.S. standards but very nicely finished. The beds were comfortable and the sofa bed acceptable. 2 flat screen TVs, telephone, tea and coffee facilities and a room safe were all included. No noise disturbances whilst we were there and the staff were excellent. The breakfast is 14 euros pppn so on the expensive side but included unlimited fresh juice, cereals, pastries and toast, bacon and egg and hot drinks. The hotel offers a left luggage service that is managed by the staff (not just an empty room to leave your cases unattended) that was greatly appreciated.

One small grip with the shower room. There is no door from the main bedroom that meant some careful planning whilst others were using the shower. A sliding or folding door door would be an easy solution.

Would i stay again? - Yes

Room Tip: The top floor (6th) rooms have views over the city skyline, some with balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Charles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 308 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everything about the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was a good size for a Parisian hotel, the bathroom was clean & well supplied & the bed was comfortable and the wi-fi was free. I'm a woman who was travelling solo & I felt very safe here. The hotel is in a great neighborhood, it isn't touristy but it has a lot going on & it's easy to get around the city from here. In this area, there are lots of bars & restaurants that seemed to be frequented by locals, & the hotel is close to two Metro stops, with 3 lines, one of which goes to the Eiffel tower. I went to a nearby boulangerie/patisserie, about a minute's walk from the hotel, for breakfast each day and they were lovely people, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The pastries were great too. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone unless you have mobility issues and need a more central location. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 are right by the elevator so you may want to avoid those if you're a light sle...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfast10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beside all good things that i experianced in this hotel I must underline my first impression which left me some uncofortable feeling. When I entered the loby there was 2 receptionist and 1 customer in front of me in that moment. They saw that I bring cases and no one didin't even try to say at least - Bonjour to my wife and me. After my turn comes, again, there was no welcome, they immidiately told me that paying is right after check in - now...For me, that was very unprofessional and disrespectful to the customer...and at first I was dissapointed.
Other things were all very good. Very clean room, small, but you didn't came in Paris to spend your time in the room. Rich breakfast, a few cafés and bakeries around you, beatiful neighbourhood, quiet part of the city, but still very near to all attractions. Metro station - 5 minutes of walk, Louvre museum 10 min by subway. Direct line to the Eiffel tower. Some other staff members were very helpful and polite. Maybe the best choice for this money and I would gladly visit it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakiluciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rooms are very small but everything you need for a weekend of discovering the city. Shower is lovely, the hotel is clean and WIFI is working good. The area is very nice and not a standard district of Paris to visit, but that just adds to the full Paris experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I liked the hotel, staff was kind, it was clean, in a silent neighborhood. In Paris, hotel rooms are usually small, so was this one, may be slighy bigger than the previous hotels we stayed in. There is a cheap restaurant/bar across the street, which is good enough, if you are tired to walk anywhere further at the end of a tiring day.

1  Thank Çiçek G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

First off, I have to compliment the staff, who were very polite and helpful - not always the case in Paris. This hotel was also conveniently located less than a 10 minute walk from Place d'Italie (shopping, food, etc.) and in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. The decor was new and quite chic, the room was a decent size for the city (translation: you could get across the room without having to climb over the bed) and the hotel was immaculate - also a nice bonus for Paris. So why didn't I give the hotel a better overall rating? Because, like most hotels in Paris, even though they obviously spent a bit of money on the decor, they scrimped on the one essential for a truly outstanding stay - sound isolation. The walls were so thin and the halls so noisy that at one point, I could have sworn the people next door were unloading their suitcase into my cupboard. Coupled with the noise was the extra firm mattress (translation - 1 step up from sleeping on the floor) and I can't rate the hotel higher than a 3.
That being said, it was a convenient location with helpful staff so I would not completely rule it out.

Room Tip: Take a pair of slippers - Laminate floors were cool Take earplugs - not much sound dampening in hal...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantomile_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just got back from Paris, having led a group of students through Paris. We spent an entire week at this hotel and loved it. Our rooms were immaculate, though small, but when you are out all day, it doesn't matter much. Bathrooms are super-modern and well-appointed. Hair dryers are powerful, not like most you find at hotels. The best part is their buffet breakfast; it was included in our rate, but I recommend you get it anyway, because it is so good! French baguettes, croissants, pain chocolate, plus eggs and ham, orange juice straight from an automatic juicer, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a variety of coffee choices from a high-tech machine. Wonderful espresso, cappuccino and café au lait to start the day. The men at the front desk were very accommodating and speak English for those who don't know French. The location is tops...in a quiet residential neighborhood, a 5-minute walk from Place d'Italie where you can get a metro to any part of town. Local restaurants abound and are filled with locals. Charming cobblestone streets converge and at night are aglow in the streetlights. Downsides are minimal--noisy because the rooms are not soundproof, and you have to ask the desk for a password for using the wifi and redo the process when your time expires. Not a buggy...I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 are next to the elevator, so that might not be the quietest choice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
#689 of 1,804 in Paris
179 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Verlaine
Hotel Verlaine
#919 of 1,804 in Paris
105 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Gobelins
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
#899 of 1,804 in Paris
436 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Best Western Paris Italie
Best Western Paris Italie
#1,205 of 1,804 in Paris
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Charles

Address: 6 rue de l Esperance | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#350 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $103 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, six story hotel with a bar; offering modern and comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atel Saint Charles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing