We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Luxembourg Garden Area”
Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Medicis
Ranked #1,505 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Luxembourg Garden Area”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A gem near the rue St. Germain area and stone's throw away from the Luxembourg gardens. We booked in the last minute due to some misunderstanding at another hotel (the other hotel couldn't accommodate 4 people in a 3 person room - the 4th was my 6 year old son!), but couldn't have been luckier in landing here. The location was excellent - the rue St. Germain area is full of cafes, shops, and so many book stores (including a store with old editions of Jules Verne books) and easy access to metro (both local and RER). The staff were very friendly and helpful - relied on them for which metro to take, directions, etc. Breakfast was decent, and served in style with excellent service by the wait staff. Rooms were decorated tastefully, and beds were very comfortable. A/C was useful as well since we were there in early July. We will gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
48
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Relais Medicis and were very pleased -- I would give this hotel 4-1/2 stars if that was an option. It is a charming small hotel in a great location, near the Luxembourg Gardens and Odeon -- close to rue St. Germain, but in a quiet nook a few blocks away. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were small, but charming and clean, the A/C worked well and the beds were very comfortable. A gem for a 3-star hotel at these prices in Paris. Only negative was the bath with hand shower -- you might ask whether you can book a room with a real shower if that matters to you. I would definitely stay here again on another visit to Paris. We enjoyed this hotel even more than the other 3-star hotel we stayed at for our last night in Paris (before returning home after time in other parts of France), though that other hotel had a slightly higher rating on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: We faced the street and had no problem with noise. You might ask about whether your room has a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were in Paris during the May heatwave and having good Air plus two bathrooms made our suite on the ground floor of this relais most enjoyable.

Marie and Sebastian are most personable and eager to please which makes the visitor seem most welcome.

Breakfast is complimentary...unique in France and quite well served and delicious.

In addition, the location is fantastic, close to excellent restaurants, Bastide Odeon, La Mediteranee and Polidor, the restaurant in Midnight in Paris.

Overall we loved having a 5 star experience at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

It is 40 years since I last stayed in Paris - times have changed - this 3 star hotel tucked away in the Place de L'Odeon was beautiful. Although the room was small it was full of character - particularly the wooden beams - and overlooked a courtyard with creeper in full bloom. The shower not only washed but exfoliated the pressure was so high!! The surrounding streets are full of bookshops and little boutiques - restaurants just a stones-throw away. Magnifique!

Room Tip: Though not an issue for me, some rooms are lighter than others owing to aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger22Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on our first trip to Paris. the staff was friendly, helpful and spoke good English . I did find the street side noisy and the mattress a bit firm for my taste however the close proximity to several excellent brassieres and cafes and the easy access from the metro made up for it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks last May based upon the Steve Ricks recommendation. Our room was on the street side and my wife thought it a little noisy until after midnight. I sleep with ear plugs so I heard nothing. Breakfast was great and we had a choice of eating in the small dining area or having room service at no charge. We had to admit that the same breakfast got a little boring day after day but we usually ended up saving part of it for lunch or snacks. We kept the perishables in the room's mini refrigerator. The staff at the front desk was excellent. My wife became ill one night and the woman at the front desk recommended a doctor whose office was only a couple of blocks from the hotel. After a visit with the doctor and his prescription, which was easily filled at a local pharmacy, my wife was better in a day or so. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We reserved our room online. Only one day's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our return visit to Relais Medicis was as pleasant as our previous visit 2 1/2 years ago. Lots of French charm and hospitality. The included breakfast is a nice touch. Staff has always been most helpful and accommodating...with a smile. Was a Rick Steves' recommendation three years ago and his evaluation still stands... Really in a nice, quiet little corner of the 6th with RER Luxembourg right down the street...a major factor in our initial choice of this hotel.

Room Tip: We have had rooms on both sides; noise was not really an issue with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToughGuy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#441 of 1,802 in Paris
374 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#639 of 1,802 in Paris
545 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#459 of 1,802 in Paris
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Property: Relais Medicis
Address: 5 rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#491 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Medicis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing