We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheapest in the area (that says it all)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lutece

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lutece
Ranked #1,353 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The cheapest in the area (that says it all)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions for business, as we attend a trade show just next to it.
On the good side, it is the cheapest hotel around, and it's very close to the Palais des Expositions. If you walk 10-20 minutes (depends which way you go) you can get to some nice areas (i.e Convention), with restaurants, etc. Breakfast is OK, a buffet with some decent choice. The staff is rather pleasant, generally speaking.
Other than that, it is quite bad overall. There are a few decent rooms in the hotel, but most of them are rather terrible. Everything is very old, smells like dust; sheets don't look clean - neither do walls or bathrooms actually. Beds are not really comfortable. You can hear every noise from any room on the floor. The elevator is the smallest I've ever seen (1 person with a suitcase fits, nothing more) and probably the slowest, too. Avoid rooms on the highest floors if you have heavy luggage, or you could wait quite some time before you're able to get down.
In one of the rooms I stayed in, the shower is at knee level, and is merely 2 Ft long - try having a shower with that!
If price was 40% lower than what it is, you could say you get what you pay for. But at the current level of price, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
7
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Terrible hotel. Can't be more dissappointed. Not worth either the price or the quality of stay.
A hotel like this in Paris is certainly not needed. Its own rating is not valid and full of stains on the carpets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAYERSASSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

San Mateo, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

I booked this hotel only a few days before arriving in Paris. Being the middle of summer there was not much left in my budget range, and this looked like the best of the few that still had rooms available. I was not expecting much given the last review posted for this hotel referred to paper-thin walls, bad mattresses, no Internet, etc. But I found the hotel very quiet, the mattress comfortable, and there was free wi-fi in the lobby area. I suppose it depends a lot on what room you are allocated, what sort of guests you have in adjacent rooms, etc. My room was on the 6th floor with a small balcony overlooking the street (it's a quiet side street without much traffic) and I couldn't hear anyone above me. The wooden floor was squeaky though (common in many Paris hotels) so I would imagine that the guests in the room below me would have been able to hear me moving around the room.

The 'pros' for this hotel have been mentioned in previous reviews - the nice breakfast (better than most Paris budget hotels - a proper continental spread with good coffee), the nice location about 5-6 mins walk to either the Convention or Porte de Versailles metro stations, and many good restaurants, coffee shops and grocery stores close to the hotel (you feel more like you are living with the locals here than being in a tourist district) and the slightly larger than normal rooms for this type of Paris hotel (but still quite small by other hotel standards). And last but not least, the VERY helpful multi-lingual hotel staff who have very good knowledge of their city.

And the 'cons'? I can think of only two: 1. The hotel doesn't have air-conditioning, so in the middle of summer I would imagine it could become stifling hot. Fortunately when I was there - even though it was the middle of summer - it was not very hot, and with the window open it was a comfortable temperature. There is heating, so during the winter it should be fine. 2. The bath tub does not have a shower curtain around it, so you either stand up and the floor gets very wet, or you have to have a sit-down shower. That was a small inconvenience, but not something that would stop me going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidAstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We mentioned in the Comments section of our original booking that we were taking an anniversary trip. They placed us below a big, active family that we heard running back and forth morning and night. The mattress was so old you can feel all the coils and it sags in the middle. You cannot take a stand-up shower. There is no internet, they fibbed and said "it's very busy at night." The network didn't even show up on our computer - at any time of day! On the not-too-bad side, it's 3 blocks from a Metro stop. Ok location if you know your way around Paris by train, which we do. I'm not sure the other reviewers all stayed at this Hotel Lutece!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rld0nastring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Located in the fashionable 15th arrondissement of Paris, Hotel Lutece is ideal for anyone visiting the exhibition grounds at Porte de Versailles and for tourists alike - buses link the hotel to most of Paris' touristic areas.

Instead of the usual microscopic rooms that most of the 2-3-star-hotels in Paris generally offer (looking more like rabbit hutches than like human-size rooms), Hotel Lutece has simple, nicely decorated, spacious and bright rooms with a touch of French elegance. I liked the bathroom with genuine faience furniture, like in old palaces.

The staff is really helpful and friendly - in any case far more than the average hotelier in Paris. The only weak point is a limited internet access - it works in the lobby hall only.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, small friendly hotel. If you want luxury this is not the hotel for you but as a clean comfortable base to see Paris from this is a great hotel. Although not central it is within easy walking distance of the Metro which we found reasonably priced and easy to use.
There are lots of small bars and cafes nearby and some superb restarants within easy access using the metro. We had breakfast at the hotel for 8euros per day and thoroughly enjoyed it.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone on a budget looking for somewhere clean, friendly and comfortable to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireGrannieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
#786 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
0.4 mi away
Le Carrosse
Le Carrosse
#1,454 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pavillon Porte de Versailles
Pavillon Porte de Versailles
#1,574 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris
0.3 mi away
Mercure Paris Vaugirard Porte de Versailles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutece

Property: Hotel Lutece
Address: 5 rue de Langeac, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,353 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lutece 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing