We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms not quite apt for summer, but good value accommodation in Paris without resorting to a hostel”
Review of Hotel Little

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Little
Ranked #1,495 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed December 11, 2010

My sister and I stayed here during the summer. Paris being ridiculously expensive, I suppose it isn't surprising that this hotel's affordable rates meant it was very small and a bit far from the main tourist areas. However, it is only 2 minutes' walk away from Jacques Bonsergent metro station.

The lift is so small that it was a job to get one person with a suitcase and close the door. The room would have been a good size for a single, but was supposedly a twin with both beds side by side and just enough room to walk around them. It would have been comfortable enough in spring, but Europe was in the grip of a heatwave when we were there. The window looked right onto the building opposite so opening it meant giving a full view inside. The decor of the room was also in red and maroon, more suitable for cooler times.

The corridors and staircases could definitely do with a paint job, but the room and bathroom were clean.

The staff, though not going out of their way to help, were cooperative and we got by just fine with our beginners' French. Breakfast was included; it was quite simple (croissants with butter and jam, orange juice and black coffee), but everything was fresh and tasted good. WiFi was available as an extra; a bit steep at 5 euros for one night or 10 for three nights. There is a Lebanese restaurant immediately opposite the hotel.

We were out sightseeing from morning to night, so on the whole this was a good value roof over our head. Just wish it had ceiling fans though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Little
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2010

I went to Paris with my brother and cousins on a very tight budget. We arrived really tired at Gare de L'est with heavy luggage and just wanted to setlle down somewhere presto! Walking down Boulevard de Magenta, we found the Little Hotel and it was what we needed.
Know this: this hotel really dependes on the purpose of your trip! I only gave it an average rate of 3 because the hotel was basic with no serious problems, and nothing special. Not gonna say I liked it, but for a bunch of teenagers traveling with not so much money, it was what we were looking for. Staff was polite and helpful (we were going to Brussels right after Paris, and they helped us booking our hotel), breakfast was simple but good. Nothing else. I do not like its location, but the price compensates it. Please, be aware of your trip purpose before booking this hotel. It may or may not be what you are used to or what you are seeking.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Little for a week and had no trouble at all. The staff was very nice and the rooms were clean and of course quite small but for Paris standard it was normal. When staying at this hotel you get excactly what you pay for; small rooms, not a great buffet for breakfast, the smallest elevator I have ever seen. But it is just as important to consider the good things; this hotel has a great location just by the place de la republique and extremely close to the metro, there is a great selection of flyers and booklets in the "foyer", and the street is quiet even though it isn't far from the heart of Paris. So if you intend to spend most of your stay in Paris about town, this is a fine place to stay :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonestar1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

First I must say this hotel typifies all bad tastes of Paris: Reception is cool and not willing to talk, kitchen is horrible: my aged Dad asked for another bread and refused terribly. Whats the point of advertising Bed and Breakfast? Rooms Dirt beyond imagination, we stayed 3 days, and only thing they did, emptied the waste bin once. If you looking for closer to city centre/tube, its alright but I would advise for good quality Dorms instead if budget is an issue.

Raj

Southampton, UK

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I would NEVER stay here again. Despite the cheap price, it is not worth it.
The staircase up to the rooms is horrible. Its small and the carpeting is stained. The rooms are decent though. They are in better shape than I expected but still in very poor quality. The bathroom in our room was okay as well. The tiles are falling apart and the plastered walls are cracking, but it was clean at least. The service here was terrible to say the least! The man who checked us in was watching porn at the front desk and the night desk was useless- I had to ask repeatedly for help with the internet, they kept giving me internet codes that were expired and no longer worked. It's only saving grace was its close location to the metro station that made it easier to leave this place.
Overall this stay here put a damper on my paris trip! There are so many better hotels you can find in this city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelabroadstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We wanted a cheap stay with a bed, a room only for sleeping. We spent 32 euros per person per night (incl. breakfast). Actually, we got more then we expected.

Service: There wasn't much service. More service would have been nice, but it was okay this way.
The owner is a typical Parisian man. Chauvisnist, doens't want to speak English, made me laugh because of this attitude. Young staff, friendly, no personal service.

Our room was renovated: new bathroom (aprox. 4 m2), small bed, little 'serre' with window looking out at innersquare, closet, table, 2 chairs, small flatscreen TV (which we didn't use), fohn, telephone.
BTW: The rooms of our neighbours weren't renovated, they were quite old and like lot of Paris hotelrooms.

Location is quite OK, metro and nightbus are around the corner. When the wetter is nice, you can walk from the hotel to lots of places. Boulevard Magenta isn't the nicest street from Paris, but it's OK to walk at night. The metrostation isn't quite usefull, you need to get to Republique or Gare de l'Est: for more connections.

Breakfast was included in our price. It is like in other Paris hotels, small choice: chocolatemilk, coffee or tea. Piece of baguette and a croissant. For that price it's good enough!

Good Points:
Location next to metro, renovated room, Marais around the corner.

Bad points:
1. No opening for nightlife: the hotel doors close at 2AM, they have no 24-hrs-service, though the night bus stops around the corner...
2. Luggage store isn't quite managed, you'd better go to Gare du Nord and stock it for 7 euros then leave it in the lobby.

Conclusion:
I stayed several times in Paris, the location was good and for a 2 star hotel it is okay. If you have huge expectations, think about it twice, but if you just want a cheap nice place to sleep and rest for your trip, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metropolitain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I would not recommend this hotel. Sure, its cheap but good value has its price. The bathroom was dirty, the tv useless and the service bad. The second night they phoned us at 23:30 because they couldn't find some reservationdetails from our reservation. When we complained about it they simply denied they'd called at that time.
Skip breakfast: its bad. 2 croissants, 2 pieces of bread and two cups with jam. Thats it.
The hotel is located near a metro station and I must admit; thats handy.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RauweBonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Des 3 Nations
Hotel Des 3 Nations
#1,391 of 1,804 in Paris
158 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
District Republique
District Republique
#641 of 1,804 in Paris
128 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1,327 of 1,804 in Paris
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Modern' Est
Modern' Est
#1,449 of 1,804 in Paris
107 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Kuntz
Hotel Kuntz
#1,417 of 1,804 in Paris
158 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#434 of 1,804 in Paris
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Little? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Little

Address: 3 rue Pierre Chausson | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,495 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $90 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Little 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Little reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing